We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic, look forward to going back” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spillers Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Spillers Farm
Ranked #1 of 4 Musbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic, look forward to going back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

My sister and I stayed here on a last minute break for a night. We were incredibly happy with the clean, well equipped, comfortable twin room with all the facilities you could possible want. Very comfy beds and we both slept really well! The bathroom is also very nice.

The owners, Keith and Bridget, are fantastically friendly and helpful, going out of their way to make sure we had the perfect stay. They can recommend different local places that are nice for a visit and welcome you to walk round to see their animals and expanse of lush land. (The bottle fed lambs were so cute and friendly!)

Breakfast was great, home grown produce and tasty sausages. There's also lovely home made jams.

The setting is idyllic and the whole stay was excellent, I would not hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    372
    22
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
87
224
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

A friendly welcome to a very good bed& breakfast Room A1 very clean nothing too much trouble,This farm is set in beautiful countryside a few minutes to Axemouth and seaton,my trip was purely work and booked last minute so it was a bit pot luck on where to stay but what an Ace i pulled.Looking forward to returning with my family,would recomend to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank womble260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

We booked Spillers for location and nothing else. I didn't do any research so wasn't sure what to expect.
What an amazing place! Keith and Bridget were so welcoming that we felt at home straight away. The rooms are bright and clean and the beds super comfy, I slept really well. The breakfast was great and cooked to order and nothing was too much trouble for our fantastic hosts. As a big animal lover I was delighted to find that the animals at spillers are happy to meet and greet the guests too! Keith took time out to introduce us to the newly hatched chicks and the lovely Marlene, I've never seen such a contented pig. The sheep round by the lake enjoy a scratch behind the ear and will tell you off if you stop before they're ready! Merryck is such a friendly dog and likes to play and sila the cat is happy to sleep.

We are planning to head back early September- it was that good!

Keith and Bridget are great people and you have to admire and respect their integrity, I would highly recommend Spillers Farm to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki_louise78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

We had three absolutely lovely days staying with Keith & Bridget. We came for a River Cottage course and booked Spillers farm without realising the idyllic place it is. Keith and Bridget took great care of us, and we really felt at home. We had the "Kingsize" room, and it was very comfortable. A bright airy room with an enormous kingsize bed, and a fridge( including fresh milk and filter coffee, something you'd never find in a hotel chain)
Breakfast came from Keith's own reared animals, and we just had to take some of the bacon and sausages home they were so good.
The farm was open to stroll around, and we loved it so much we decided to sit by the lake and enjoy a beer and a glass of wine on our last night, rather than out for dinner.
They provided a comprehensive list of places to eat, which was really helpful, and their knowledge of local towns, walks, shopping, and places of interest made our visit a rich experience. Keith even showed us how to get the best from our Aga with a few tips and tricks whilst cooking on his.
Without any doubt we will go back soon. We came away feeling we had made new friends.
A great place!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tennant A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

What a fantastic choice
We decided to stay an extra night so googled Spillers Farm so glad we did .
Keith & Bridget were amazing hosts and Breakfast was a proper English Breakfast from the Farm Yummy
the Farm is a great place to walk around and a visit to the lake worth the trip along with meeting all the animals especial Merrick the Dog .
Room was really spacious and decorated to a high standard home from home
also look at the cottage for rent and will defo stay there with friends this year .
Local pub down the road the Harbour a must food and hospitality was great and a warm welcome .
very quite location recommend a stay there if you want to use as a base to visit areas
look forward to coming back .
Norma & Kevin

Room Tip: choose the double room with a shower or above amazing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

We're just back from our fourth visit to Spillers Farm and our first time in Cassie's Cottage; the self catering property behind the B&B. We love love love Spillers. Bridget and Keith (and Merryck of course) are the perfect hosts; always welcoming and friendly. The cottage was amazing. It was comfortable, pretty, well provisioned (with all you need from a self-catering place) and very spacious. It feels more like a cottage for ten than for six, and there were only two of us so we were very pleased! We especially love the little patio area with sun-trap table and chairs where we enjoyed the view over the surrounding countryside. We brought some Spillers-own sausages, bacon and eggs for our breakfasts which were, as ever, delicious. The thing that makes Spillers so special is being able to wander around the smallholding and say hello to the pigs, chickens, sheep and ducks. We also spent several hours floating around on the lake in the boat. I can't praise Spillers highly enough. It's perfect. Don't bother staying anywhere else. Thanks Bridget and Keith for another lovely stay - see you soon! Philippa and James x

Room Tip: The cottage is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philippa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

Our second visit, and a warm welcome from Bridget and Merryck ( the dog) and Sils (the cat).
A great room - the kingsize one- and no worries with the traffic noise others have mentioned.
The quality of the breakfast is second to none- especially with Keith's own sausages and bacon. Loved the home made jams and thanks to Keith for the recipe for the rhubarb and ginger jam!
We're looking to move down here, and Bridget and Keith were really helpful with their local knowledge of the towns and villages in the area. They also have a great list of restaurants cafés walks and places to visit, but a good short walk is the one around the farm, meeting the ducks, geese, sheep pigs and chickens...
Thanks for a great time and all your help - we will be back soon!!!

Room Tip: Get the kingsize one
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Musbury
2.4 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kerrington House
Kerrington House
#1 of 1 in Axminster
5.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
2.2 mi away
Wyke Farm Bed & Breakfast
Wyke Farm Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 7 in Axminster
5.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Netherleigh Bed and Breakfast
Netherleigh Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Raymonds Hill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
3.4 mi away
Prestoller House
Prestoller House
#1 of 12 in Axminster
5.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
4.3 mi away
Dorset House
Dorset House
#1 of 47 in Lyme Regis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spillers Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spillers Farm

Property: Spillers Farm
Address: Spillers Farm Seaton Road | Axminster, Musbury EX13 8AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Musbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Musbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in some of East Devon’s most spectacular countryside, Spillers Farm B&B accommodation and holiday cottage is a haven of peace and tranquillity. Nestling in the beautiful village of Musbury, near Axminster, in the Axe Valley - an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty - Spillers Farm B&B is a working smallholding, ideal for those going to Hugh Fernley-Whittingstall's River Cottage HQ. A recommended bed and breakfast and accommodation provider for River Cottage HQ and The River Cottage Canteen in Axminster, Spillers Farm is one of the closest B&B's to each, being just a a five minute drive away from both. It is also ideal for those wishing to explore the East Devon countryside and the coast, being just a few miles from the Regency seaside town of Sidmouth and fossil-hunting on the Jurassic Coast at Lyme Regis where celebrity chef Mark Hix has recently opened Mark Hix's Oyster and Fish House. Spillers Farm offers the visitor numerous options for a relaxing break. Stay for one or two nights' B&B in our comfy bedrooms, or for a week in Cassie's Cottage, the spacious, self-contained Devon self-catering holiday cottage. All our own produce in our breakfasts - home-reared rare breed sausages and hand-cured bacon, free range eggs, organically-grown tomatoes. We also sell the best quality pork, sausages, bacon and ham from our own rare breed pigs, succulent roasts from our own lambs and fresh eggs from our free range hens or ducks, so why not take some home with you?Working smallholding on the Devon and Dorset border. Five minutes from River Cottage HQ and 10 minutes from Lyme Regis. Gorgeous unspoilt views, private lake. Farm Shop and Tea Rooms on site using and selling own produce. Also self-catering cottage sleeping six. Guests are welcome to row round or picnic by the lake or help out feeding the animals(hand-bottle feed our lambs in the spring), or just relax in the comfy en-suite rooms. Dog friendly in cottage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Spillers Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spillers Farm Musbury, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing