We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent bed and breakfast, warm welcome”
Review of Spillers Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Spillers Farm
Ranked #1 of 4 Musbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chobham
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent bed and breakfast, warm welcome”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

An excellent location for exploring Lyme Regis, Seaton and Beer. Keith and Bridget were so helpful and kindly showed my niece their animals. One of the tastiest breakfasts I have had, sensible quantity. Would recommend The Harbour pub in Axmouth - very good children's menu there. Would also recommend River Cottage Canteen in Axminster, although the children's menu there is poor.

Room Tip: The twin room at the back is probably the quietest, although I found the mattress a bit hard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cakes284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    381
    23
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
90
230
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ferndown, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2013

WOW! Spillers Farm, Bridget & Keith and all the animals were wonderful. My girlfriend and I booked a very late weekend away to visit Lyme Regis and parts of the Devon region. The process was easy and Bridget was very helpful over the phone to confirm that all was booked fine (especially with someone as fussy as me!). We turned up quite late and in the wet and Bridget and Keith couldn't have been anymore helpful or welcoming. Our room was a delight; spacious, comfortable and clean, it all felt very cosy! We experienced the best full english breakfast we'd ever had on both our mornings (Keith's jams/preserves are out of this world!) and the cream tea was just as good (Bridget's scones should win awards!) with excellent warm service, again. Lots of great advice and tips of the local area as well. The farm looks amazing and we wanted to have a tour, see the animals and have a go on the rowboat but the weather halted this unfortunately but we will be back!

This is the perfect B&B, with perfect surroundings and perfect couple (and various creatures!) running it all.

We loved it and still talk about.
Shame about the weather but thats England!

We will be back.

Best wishes,

Sam & Serena

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank sammyt86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2013

A lovely B and B with very friendly and welcoming owners. We have two young boys who were made very welcome and they made us feel we could relax. We were allowed to walk around the farm looking at the animals and the lake. I would highly recommend for families and couples. Thanks for having us!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoandNathJaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Queensferry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

As ever a hugely warm welcome from Bridget and Keith. Spillers Farm is set in its own fantastic grounds (we all love the duckpond!) and is a short distance to River Cottage HQ (our usual destination). It also makes an ideal base to explore this part of the Dorset/Devon coast. The home cured bacon and hand made sausage a breakfast is always delicious as are the preserves. We shall most definitely be returning again next year!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DesertBeetle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2013

My sister came across Spillers Farm online when looking for somewhere to stay close to Lyme Regis, and it turned out to be a fantastic discovery. The room was spotlessly clean with all the amenities, a very comfy bed and nice bathroom. Breakfast was great (we particularly recommend the sausages!) and we enjoyed spending some of the morning walking through the grounds to see Keith and Bridget's animals. The bottle-fed lambs were the friendliest we've ever seen, and incredibly cute! Spillers Farm is perfect for an escape to the countryside for a few days, or if you're just looking for a quick night's break as we were. We will be back!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Victoria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We had a lovely few days away at Spillers Farm in beautiful hot weather and would recommend it to everyone. We particularly enjoyed the combination of staying in a farm/countryside location while having a beach holiday - we spent the days swimming at Beer and Branscombe, both superb beaches. Keith and Bridget are perfect B&B hosts and have a delightful set-up. The room is bright, airy and spacious. We felt very at home but with plenty of privacy. The lake and animals are a great bonus - I have never cuddled sheep before and fell in love with these ones, with their gorgeous distinctive faces.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rockybeachseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2013

What a treat my sister and I had, we were booked on a course at River Cottage and this was perfectly placed for that and more. Bridget and Keith were so welcoming and we felt relaxed and at home straight away. We were also welcomed on arrival by Merryck, a gorgeous retriever dog, and Silla the cat. The rooms are immaculate and breakfast delicious, especially the home-produced sausages and bacon, my sister is a vegetarian and Keith made something equally delicious for her. The B&B is a small-holding and we really enjoyed walking round, meeting the various animals, Marlene the pig who enjoyed a mud bath while we were there to keep cool. The lake is a perfect place to sit and relax but make sure you say hello to the lambs on the way.
The B&B is ideally placed for travelling round the region, close to Lyme Regis and the lovely village of Beer. Keith helped recommend local walks, tips for places to park and best places to eat.
Lots of little touches make this B&B a cut above the rest. But its the passion and enjoyment that Keith and Bridget obviously get from Spillers that was apparent from the start and it was a real treat to share in that for a long weekend.
We both said we would definitely be going back and we'll certainly be recommending the place to friends and family.
Anne and Sally

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Musbury
2.4 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
344 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kerrington House
Kerrington House
#1 of 1 in Axminster
156 reviews
4.3 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Monkton Wyld Court
Monkton Wyld Court
#2 of 7 in Charmouth
39 reviews
2.2 mi away
Wyke Farm Cottages and B&B
3.4 mi away
Lyme Tree House
Lyme Tree House
#2 of 2 in Raymonds Hill
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spillers Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spillers Farm

Property: Spillers Farm
Address: Spillers Farm Seaton Road | Axminster, Musbury EX13 8AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Musbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Musbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in some of East Devon’s most spectacular countryside, Spillers Farm B&B accommodation and holiday cottage is a haven of peace and tranquillity. Nestling in the beautiful village of Musbury, near Axminster, in the Axe Valley - an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty - Spillers Farm B&B is a working smallholding, ideal for those going to Hugh Fernley-Whittingstall's River Cottage HQ. A recommended bed and breakfast and accommodation provider for River Cottage HQ and The River Cottage Canteen in Axminster, Spillers Farm is one of the closest B&B's to each, being just a a five minute drive away from both. It is also ideal for those wishing to explore the East Devon countryside and the coast, being just a few miles from the Regency seaside town of Sidmouth and fossil-hunting on the Jurassic Coast at Lyme Regis where celebrity chef Mark Hix has recently opened Mark Hix's Oyster and Fish House. Spillers Farm offers the visitor numerous options for a relaxing break. Stay for one or two nights' B&B in our comfy bedrooms, or for a week in Cassie's Cottage, the spacious, self-contained Devon self-catering holiday cottage. All our own produce in our breakfasts - home-reared rare breed sausages and hand-cured bacon, free range eggs, organically-grown tomatoes. We also sell the best quality pork, sausages, bacon and ham from our own rare breed pigs, succulent roasts from our own lambs and fresh eggs from our free range hens or ducks, so why not take some home with you?Working smallholding on the Devon and Dorset border. Five minutes from River Cottage HQ and 10 minutes from Lyme Regis. Gorgeous unspoilt views, private lake. Farm Shop and Tea Rooms on site using and selling own produce. Also self-catering cottage sleeping six. Guests are welcome to row round or picnic by the lake or help out feeding the animals(hand-bottle feed our lambs in the spring), or just relax in the comfy en-suite rooms. Dog friendly in cottage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Spillers Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spillers Farm Musbury, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing