We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Spillers Farm
Nearby Hotels
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kerrington House(Axminster)
US$175
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mariners Hotel(Lyme Regis)
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$356
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fernhill Hotel(Charmouth)
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Home Farm Hotel(Wilmington)
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Masons Arms(Branscombe)
US$195
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hensleigh House(Charmouth)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (425)
Filter reviews
425 results
Traveller rating
394
26
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
394
26
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsriver cottagesmall holdinglyme regisduck eggself catering cottagewarm welcomechickens and ducksperfect hostsfresh milkjurassic coastking sizelovely lakefriendly hostsdevon dorsetholiday cottagehome from homebiscuits
Filter
Updating list...
142 - 147 of 425 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Spillers farm for 3 nights which incorporated the
River cottage canteen deal.
Which included a 3 course meal at the River cottage canteen in Axminster.
We had the king size en suite room which was huge!! The bed was super king sized and super comfy and dressed nicely with throw, scatter cushions and fresh smelling clean crisp white bed linen. There was a little tray of sweets/chocolates on the bed side, which was replenished once scoffed!!The bathroom was a nice size with fresh towels, large shower and unexpected little extras such as hand wash, shower gel, body moisturiser, make up remover wipes and cottonwool. The breakfast was one of the best we've had, including homemade muesli and Keith own sausages and bacon and jams, delicious!!
We also enjoyed a cream tea with Bridget's homemade scones equally delicious :-)
The atmosphere is homely, friendly and relaxed with stunning countryside views and farm animals, not forgetting the gorgeous dog merrick( who greeted us on arrival!!) and Sila the cat! It's a perfect place for a base to visit the surrounding attractions and beautiful coastal villages, which Keith and Bridget are more than happy to advise on and give directions and local knowledge. Keith and Bridget are two of the nicest, warmest people we have met, nothing is
too much trouble and we genuinely felt like we'd made new friends :-) we can't wait to return to Spillers Farm in the near future :-)
Zena & Steve

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abish73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridget T, Owner at Spillers Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2013

Thank you Zena and Steve for this lovely review. We were so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and that you enjoyed the meal at River Cottage Canteen. Thank you particularly for mentioning all the little extras we supply in the room. We try to make our guests' visits as much like home as possible. We hope to see you at Spillers again in the not-too-distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Staying at Spillers Farm, hosted by Bridget and Keith complemented our two day visit to River Cottage perfectly. Our two rooms were kitted out with everything we needed and maintained to the highest level. Breakfast supplied with own cured bacon, homemade sausages and a choice of the farm's own duck or hen's eggs was second to none. Sundowners at the lake and a welcoming service by Meryck the Golden Retriever are two lasting highlights. Helpful advice enabled us to visit the best parts of Lyme Regis and Sidmouth. A top notch B & B, certainly one for us to revisit.
Paul, Julie & Gill

Room Tip: All rooms are superbly maintained.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridget T, Owner at Spillers Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2013

Thank you Paul, Julie and Gill for this lovely review and in particular for mentioning our proximity to River Cottage, as we are one of the closest B&B's to River Cottage and - like them - have our own livestock, so feel it is the perfect place to stay for the real River Cottage/smallholding experience. We are so pleased you enjoyed watching the sunset from our lake. It's a peaceful place to end the day. We hope to see you at Spillers again in the not-too-distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We recently stayed in Cassie's Cottage for a week with our two grandchildren and had the perfect family holiday. Keith and Bridget are very welcoming and we immediately felt 'at home'. The cottage is far bigger than we anticipated and is extremely well equipped. With it's own garden and barbecue and the freedom to wander round and look at the animals or play with Merryck, it was perfect for the children. Keith even, thoughtfully, came and fetched the children when some of his eggs were about to hatch so they could experience the arrival of baby chicks. Rowing on the lake (accompanied by Nan) was also a favourite with the children. We can't wait to hear that Marlene has been safely delivered of her piglets and how many!
The location of Spillers Farm is ideal as we were able to visit places along the coast of East Devon as well as Lyme Regis, Charmouth and Bridport in Dorset. Bridget and Keith work extremely hard to provide a positive holiday experience for everyone without being intrusive. Well done and keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avril J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridget T, Owner at Spillers Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Thank you Avril for your lovely review of Cassie's Cottage, the self-catering cottage at Spillers Farm. We are pleased that you enjoyed your week with us and in particular thank you for mentioning that the cottage is large, something that you can't always see from photos. We were really pleased that your visit co-incided with the hatchlings - it is a great thing for kids to see new life emerging into the world. Marlene's piglets aren't here yet - keep looking at the website or our Facebook page for a blog which I'll be writing as soon as they're born!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed at Spillers with Keith and Bridget for a second time for 2 nights and had the family room which was huge!! The accommodation was very well equipped and, as always, Keith and Bridget were fantastic hosts. They provide a clean, comfortable place to stay and make you feel very welcome and at home! Nothing was too much trouble at all, they invited me to help myself to their utilities in their kitchen so that i could freeze the baby's meals and heat his milk and food. The breakfasts are second to none with fresh meat from their very own outdoor bred pigs and fresh hens eggs from the garden! It feels like we have known Keith and Bridget forever, they are so friendly!!
Thank you so much for another lovely stay at your B and B, we really enjoyed ourselves and appreciate the service you provided for us!
Hope to return again soon! Lisa, Luke and Eli x

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

An excellent location for exploring Lyme Regis, Seaton and Beer. Keith and Bridget were so helpful and kindly showed my niece their animals. One of the tastiest breakfasts I have had, sensible quantity. Would recommend The Harbour pub in Axmouth - very good children's menu there. Would also recommend River Cottage Canteen in Axminster, although the children's menu there is poor.

Room Tip: The twin room at the back is probably the quietest, although I found the mattress a bit hard.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cakes284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews