We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Swinside Farmhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Swinside Farmhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
74 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Very good breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

Nice people, small rooms, very good breakfast with a lot of fresh fruit. A bit noisy with small children playing in the house. Beautiful location outside a village but with a pub on the other side of the road.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BartMarleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    18
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
31
60
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Stunning location. Excellent accommodation, in small but perfectly formed rooms, beds comfy, very clean. The best breakfast, very attentive service from Joanne. It will help the owners if this is booked directly with them, then no booking charge.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dingdongs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hickling, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

Had three day stay 13/14/15th June Jo made us feel at home the accomodation is absolutely immaculate, quality of breakfast could not be bettered anywhere, this is the best b&b we have ever stayed in.We have visited now over 10 yrs and has been a perfect stay on every occasion.

Room Tip: Quiet location overall all rooms are sized as expected for a Cumbrian farmhouse
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

Just back from our last holiday with Jo and Rob. The best place to stay in the Lake District. We have stayed at Jo and Robs farmhouse on our visits to the Lakes for the last 10 plus years. They are fantastic and friendly hosts and nothing is too much trouble for them to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. Lovely spotlessly clean farmhouse which has been constantly modernised and well maintained over the years with comfortable cosy beds ensuring a great nights sleep. Breakfasts are wonderful - fresh fruit, cereals, choice of cooked breakfast, all excellent quality and guaranteed to set you up for a days walk on the fells or around beautiful Derwent Water, all within walking distance - just leave the car in the car park! The Swinside Inn is a 30 second walk away for an evening meal but the Farmers Arms in Portinscale, just a short drive away, gives a 10% discount on food for Farmhouse guests .Keswick is also just a short drive away if you need shops. We will be back soon Jo!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 258SueReid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Anglia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

Booked after very little research for a weekend trip to walk up Scafell Pike and we definitely lucked in. This is a lovely little B&B just off the A66, tucked down the West side of Derwent Water. Close to Keswick, 20 mins from Seathwaite (for the Scafell walk). Nice, clean, little room with en suite. Excellent breakfast. And definitely a good point: the pub is 30 seconds walk away. Very welcome after a long drive on Friday and a long day's walking on Saturday. We would certainly recommend and return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaspode74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northallerton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

Stayed here for one night when in the Lakes to meet friends and could not fault this B & B. Lovely spacious double room with modern ensuite. Everywhere appeared newly decorated and was absolutely spotless. Hearty, well cooked breakfast with a good choice. Jo made us feel very welcome. We will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
86 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

Had booked this place after doing some research on the best areas to stay in the lakes- location of the place is excellent - 10 min walk to derwentwater lake... In the heart of newlands valley , right on the edge of catbells walk. Jo was a very good host and made excellent breakfast. In fact my 6 year old had a great time playing with her kids in their room - in fact she longed to reach "Jo aunty's house" as early as possible after hanging around the lakes for the day
When we informed Jo that the room was not warm enough the first night she provided an additional portable heater for the 2nd night. That was really sweet of her
Overall a wonderful stay and would live to go back

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vedpu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newlands Valley
2.2 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,007 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
2.1 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#3 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swinside Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swinside Farmhouse

Property: Swinside Farmhouse
Address: Newlands Valley, Keswick CA12 5UE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Newlands Valley
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Newlands Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Swinside Farmhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swiniside Farmhouse is in the Newlands Valley. It has three letting bedrooms all of which are en-suite and tastefully decorated. It is in the ideal location with some fantastic walking and cycling. The views are breathtaking all around, especially on the top of Catbells and Derwentwater is just a stone throw away. The market town of Keswick is just 3 miles awaywith all amenities. There is an Inn across the road that do bar meals and also more eating placea in Portinscale and Braithwaite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Swinside Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swinside Farmhouse Newlands Valley, Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing