We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
146 results
Traveller rating
125
18
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
125
18
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the roadexcellent breakfastthe pubwithin walking distancelittle gemhomemade biscuitscrummock watershort drivenice atmosphereslept really wellan evening mealexcellent accommodationhighly recommend this b bfriendly ownersthree nightspeaceful locationbed was comfortable
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 146 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2018 via mobile

I have just returned from a two night stay with my daughter which we enjoyed immensely. The host Jo was very friendly and the most helpful and attentative host i have encountered at any B&B i have stayed at. We were in room 3 which was a twin bedroom. Everything was immaculately clean and the decor was light an airy. Even the tea tray was a notch above your average. No generic, wrapped biscuits here, but instead there was a jar with homemade shortbread in, very nice. As well as tea and coffee there were sachets of drinking chocolate and Cappuccino and also fruit and peppermint tea. My only gripe here would be it would have been nice to have a decaf option. Breakfast was fantastic and very filling to set you up for a days walking. The location and views were fantastic also and was one of the reasons i chose this area to stay. Jo offered to book us a table to eat at the nearby Swinside Inn, but i declined as i didn't want to commit as i wasn't sure where we would be, however in hindsight, it would have been wise to take her up on this offer as we did return on the Friday evening early enough to eat, but found it was very busy with a one hour wait for food at 9pm, so we ended up just having snacks. I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone. It may be in a quiet and remote area, but is just a short drive to Keswick. Thanks Jo for a fabulous welcome.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018

Excellent B&B. Friendly and obliging proprietor, very well appointed, superb quality cooked breakfast, beautiful and quiet location in the Newlands Valley. Swinside Inn across the road for reasonable bar meals and good range of beers.

Stayed: June 2018
Thank dwh284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018

Excellent place to stay. Jo was very helpful offering to book a table at the pub over the road which was very thoughtful of her.
Lots of little extras in the room which gives a really nice welcome. The biscuits were lovely. The breakfast was really good and high quality food.
Would recommend it and will be back again in the future.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank le0nieshield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018 via mobile

Jo was very welcoming. The farmhouse is full of character and very well appointed. The rooms are clean and comfy and the breakfasts are top quality with all the best ingredients. Great walks from the door and the lake is a short walk. All in all highly recommended.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
Thank CliveKW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018

We arrived to be greeted by a very friendly host, Jo. We were shown to our room which was really spacious, a small seating area and ample size bed. It was very well decorated and spotlessly clean. Everything was really well thought of, from toiletries to delicious shortbread biscuits to have with the tea and coffee facilities.
There was a great choice for breakfast which was delicious and large portions, I had to reduce my breakfast for the second day they were so filling !
Jo was on hand to give you any information or to see if you needed anything else, there was nothing needed, it had all been thought of. I can highly recommend the Swinside Farmhouse and we will be back again.
An added bonus was the pub across the road which served delicious meals at reasonable prices.

Room Tip: Room 1 was a great size
Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank sharronfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews