We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Swinside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Swinside Inn
Certificate of Excellence
manchester
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

We booked a weekend stay through Groupon which included breakfast. The pub is cosy with a good selection of guest ales. The food portions are massive and reasonably priced and the service was great. The room had a great view of the mountains and it was clean and comfortable. It's a short drive to Keswick town and there is plenty of good walks nearby. For the price paid we were very happy.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank lukel_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    51
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
23
110
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

Very good location for hill walking and only 30 mins walk from Keswick yet you feel right in the country. Good breakfast and dinners, big portions and some interesting vegetarian options. 3 real ales were usually available and while these were well kept, they were always from large breweries which is a shame when so many great Lake District micro breweries are nearby. Our room was Barrow and had great views to the hills and a very large shower room.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inchcape44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

From start to finish this place was an excellent inn to stay at. The view is spectacular, the staff are so friendly, especially the chef and waitress. There are so many little details to the room that set this room above all other rooms I have stayed in. The food was delicious and massive servings! I cannot fault the Swinside Inn in anyway. Thank you very much for a fantastic stay, where we felt very welcomed and were sad to leave.

Room Tip: We stayed in the family room, but I am sure all the rooms are just as nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yolohj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
419 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 449 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

Five guys walking the Wainwright Memorial Walk. Took 3 rooms and all of us enjoyed our stay. Clean, comfortable beds, great views of the mountains, remote, quiet location and nice array of amenities.

We really enjoyed the pub portion of this property. Roaring fire, oldy worldy atmosphere, good selection of beers and a nice corner table set up so we could enjoy an evening of cards.

Excellent location for the start of our next day's walking. Enjoyed being in Keswick for the afternoon but I preferred our location for walking as it was closer to the trailhead, quiet and in peaceful surroundings.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BuccaneerDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

We stayed four nights whilst exploring the Lake District. The inn is in a remote location about 3 miles from Keswick with Great views of Cat Bells and Causey Pike. The food is excellent as is the choice of beer.
The staff were friendly and helpful and breakfasts were good. A great Inn for walkers- very popular and quite busy.

Room Tip: We were in Causey Pike. Great views but no chairs to sit on if you didn't want to stay in the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

My husband and I, and our spaniel, stayed here a few weeks ago, it was perfect for a quiet get away, as the other reviews say, it's not a 'chain store' style place, it is a lovely cosy inn in the middle of no where. The staff were so accommodating and the food was fantastic both in the evening and at breakfast. It was really nice to be able to take our dog and him be made to feel as welcome as we were. The room was lovely with amazing views, and a very nice shower, we will certainly be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sallyh2502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

Haven't even unpacked and needed to spread the word... if you are visiting the lakes then give Swinside a go. The chef is solely responsible for the extra poundage. Views and situ is amazing if you want off the beaten track. Its an old fashioned inn so don't expect luxury but good clean room and excellent staff.

Room Tip: Only issue were the other inconsiderately noisy travellers on one night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reviewer100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newlands Valley
2.9 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,009 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#3 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swinside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swinside Inn

Property: Swinside Inn
Address: Newlands Valley, Keswick CA12 5UE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Newlands Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Newlands Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional, over 300 year old, lakeland pub,with bed and breakfast rooms. We're a short walk from Derwentwater and the iconic Catbells. Traditional bar with open fire places. The location of this hotel is perfect if you want to explore the lake district, with mountain views from some rooms and all bars. We also have a six bedroom holiday let available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Swinside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swinside Inn Newlands Valley, Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing