We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Swinside Inn
Nearby Hotels
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel(Grange-in-Borrowdale)
US$248
US$240
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lodore Falls Hotel(Borrowdale)
US$323
US$313
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$224
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$357
US$252
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$231
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$258
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (184)
Filter reviews
184 results
Traveller rating
101
62
17
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
101
62
17
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubcausey pikeopen firefamily roomevening mealexcellent foodboth morningsstayed for nightscomfortable roomfull english breakfastexcellent staybaconrange of beersdog friendly pubblack puddingstunning viewssunday lunch
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
139 - 144 of 184 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed at the Swinside Inn for a long weekend. First impressions are that the place could do with a tidy up. But we could not fault the place. The food is not fine dining but reasonably priced with a good selection and good sized portions. The rooms are basic and as others have posted not all rooms have views of the fells. We were in Dalehead which is a family room but is very spacious. It is ideally placed to explore the surrounding fells. With a number of walks from the door. The staff were friendly, the bars cosy and warmed by open fires / log burner. Would definitely stay again. Whilst there heard that the people who are running the nearby Farmers pub are going to be running the Swinside in the near future.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freddie4B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Great weekend in a lovely place. Room immaculate roomy and breathtaking views. Breakfasts okay for what you pay for. Friendly staff. Nice bar and our daughter loved playing pool! Would defo stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whales1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I found a good deal for two people for a two nghts stay at the Swinside Inn. Having been for food before i knew what it was like downstairs. Our room, Barrow, was lovely & clean, the bed was comfortable & the shower was hot & had great views of Causey Pike & Barrow. I agree with a previous reviewer, i think there should have been some kind of menu or just a leaflet to say what was on the breakfast menu. The brekfast was hot & ample but i'm sorry to say that the sausage was awful. The black pudding was very thin & cooked a bit too long for my liking. The second morning, both of us opted just for cereal & toast. The staff were very pleasant. I would stay again but wouldn't have the cooked breakfast

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view. It may cost a bit more but well worth it.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nettyjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I first stayed at this inn 18 years ago and stopped staying several years ago after several bad changes in management ruined a wonderful venue.

My husband and I stayed at The Swinside over the New Year holiday and were delighted to find it has been restored to its former glory.

Clean,warm,friendly,great food, good beer and positioned in an outstanding area of natural beauty.

We stayed in what has always been our favourite room, Catbells room, but book early as everyone wants it due to the fantastic views from the panoramic windows.

We aren't animal lovers,however this appears to be a dog friendly pub as well as being popular with walkers and due to the family rooms available it's great for those school holidays.

Just a 15 minute drive into busy Keswick and lots of low level as well as the favourite higher level walks close bye.

A gem!! Thank you to the current managers who have done an excellent job restoring it to such high standards in the current financial state of the country. Well done.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Scousegrannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

lovely place to stay have a fire place, selection of food and drinks and a snooker table. Helpful and friendly staff Good service overall. Very clean and cosy. Great place for summer. Nice views outside the hotel.

Room Tip: Using the Robinson room not a very good room if you want a room with a view. Other than that lovely place to stay have a fire place, food n drinks n a snooker table. Good service overall.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Attehea A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews