We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Years dinner”
Review of Swinside Inn

Swinside Inn
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: We are a dog friendly, family run pub, in a fantastic setting, serving traditional pub food for hungry walkers.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“New Years dinner”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

3 course new years evening meal for £20!
The food was lovely, very flavoursome and just enough without being too much.
Good service and lovely atmosphere.
Thank you SI

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    71
    12
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Lovely location ..... Shame about quality of food and staff manners!”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

A fabulous location ..... And therefore an opportunity lost. Pre booked a table but left to sit wherever. No one told us that you had to pick a menu up at entrance, or order direct at bar. Lighting very low, too low to read menu clearly! People at adjoining table noted to send food back as it was cold. Some choices were not available - it was barely seven o clock. But red cheddar to top a dried up lasagne? I suspect most of the food was brought in and just heated up in microwave rather than cooked from scratch on site? A harsh critique, but really nothing to redeem the visit. Staff were of a ' please yourself' genre and it was so disappointing. But it COULD have been so different, with very little effort. We stay in Portinscale regularly, but in future will be going to the Farmers.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eunice h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, SC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great pub food and real ales”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

The Swinside Inn is a classic country pub with great views, a warm fire, hearty food, and cask conditioned real ales brewed in Cumbria. The staff was very friendly and easily accomodated a couple of special requests. The food portions were generous and and delicious. One daughter had the veggie lasagna and especially liked the inclusion of goat cheese. Another had the lamb pie and my wife had the steak pie - both were highly praised. I had the Cumberland sausage and Yorkshire pudding, which was really good. If you like pubs and pub food, the Swinside Inn is a great choice!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank igotajones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dogs Dinner at the Swinside Inn”
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Worst meal I have ever been presented with. Lamb roast what a joke, it was so poor that even my dog turned her nose up at the meat.Complained and after much shrugging of shoulders got a full refund. The Swinside used to lovely not anymore.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

This is the third time i have visited the Swinside inn. First time that i have eaten here though. There were 4 of us staying locally & decided to go for our tea. Two of us had the lasagne which was hot, very tasty & plenty of it. One of us had the Thai fish cakes which were gorgeous and the other one had the Beef & Ale pie which was hot, tasty & the meat was so tender. All in all we were very satisfied with our meals and the prices weren't bad either. The staff are friendly & pleasant, the fire was very welcoming and the beer was good. I am returning to stay at the Swinside in January for a couple of days with my husband. We will be having all of our meals there. Well done & keep up the good work

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nettyjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Swinside Inn also viewed

 
Keswick, Lake District
Braithwaite, Keswick
 

Been to Swinside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing