We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“perfect cottage hidden amongst the catbells”
other travellers have booked this property
Skelgill Farm
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Skelgill Farm
Views of Newlands Valley Reception room with open fire
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
Skelgill Farm
Views of Newlands Valley
Reception room with open fire
Lakeland kitchen with Aga
Open fire in the sitting room
Cottage driveway
The single rooms
Single rooms
Double room
Aga
Landing hallway
Sitting room
Single room
Single room
Double room
Room with a bunk bed
Kitchen table that sits 10
Super king size bed with bathroom next door
Double bedroom with en-suite
Stairway
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Newlands Valley, Keswick, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
kezzles07
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“perfect cottage hidden amongst the catbells”
Reviewed 1 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This house was amazing with everything you need for a large group of friends or family holiday. The gardens are beautiful with secret little steps leading up through the garden to your own little wooded area and small rope swing. It then opens up to the beautiful surrounding views of the catbells which is a great walk from your doorstep. Everything you need is there for you including a welcome pack and it is lovely and clean. Bedrooms are all lovely and the view from the bathroom is the best. Only little thing to improve would to have some outdoor furniture as it was a lovely sunny weekend so we just sat on the grass. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Lovely old pub also just a 15 min walk and does great food. The Newlands activity centre was great fun and also tried out the water sports at nearby marina. Will definitely return. Thanks for an unforgettable holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: surrounding views
Liked least: no outdoor furniture
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 May 2016
Thanks for all your comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl_An...
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Lakeland Farmhouse in scenic location”
Reviewed 9 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Lovely large farmhouse with character and period features.
Large farmhouse kitchen, lounge, bedrooms, dining room with great views.
Ideal for walks starting at the house.
Local Swinside Inn good for pub food and beer garden.
Great for large/extended families or groups. Keswick only ~10mins drive away or pleasant walk .
We'll definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Large period rooms and overall character & location
Liked least: nothing of note
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 May 2016
Thanks for the review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maib1122
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A gorgeous house in a beautiful location.”
Reviewed 27 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We had a lovely few days in this house. The house and location were superb, the house was beautiful with huge rooms and excellent facilities. We would definitely return.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 May 2016
Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie P
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful, peaceful rural farmhouse. Perfect for the family”
Reviewed 16 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Just returned for a 4 night stay at Skelgill farm, staying with 7 family members. I was a little nervous before we arrived as there were no previous reviews. However as soon as we arrived I felt instantly relieved.

The house is a beautiful classic old farmhouse, at the end of a single track country road. The rooms are all a good size, especially the kitchen and the log fire in the main living room was a real highlight.

The house is advertised as 6 bedrooms but it is worth noting that the 6th room is actually only accessed through the 5th room.

The only disappointment about the trip and the reason I did not give 5, was the lack of contact from the owner. I emailed 3 weeks before asking for details, such as arrival and departure times and what we needed to bring. I didn't hear back and so a week before we arrived I emailed again. This time I did get a nice response from Ben saying we needed to bring towels and to pick the key up from the Skellgill Inn, same postcode as the house. When we arrived at the house we needed to call the Inn to get separate directions, which really should have been provided before. Inside the house there is a basic welcome folder, which has no information on using the appliances or any departure information. It would have just been nice to have been told a bit more!

The house is at the base of Cats bells and has so many beautiful walks all around, for all levels of fitness.

The nearest shops are 3 miles away in Keswick so do bring plenty with you and there is little phone reception and no wifi, which was actually perfect for us, a real family get away!

All in all the house is wonderful value and I would 100% recommend it to friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The open log fire
Liked least: The lack of communication from owner
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Feb 2015
Thanks for you review. All comments will be used to improve the service
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing