We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Ever, scenery, organization, food, and gracious hosts, 5 Stars!”
Review of Mahana Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mahana Lodge
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I could not wait to give Ann and John a 5 star rating. They have the Lodge B&B business down to finely honed art. The grounds are immaculate with mature plantings, set on beautiful Endeavour Inlet. The well appointed lodge for guests overlooks their charming 1800's homestead. Our sunny room with an ensuite faced the Inlet and had a private balcony complete with table and chairs for reading or enjoying the view. In the common room a cozy couch with several chairs faced a large window affording commanding views of the grounds and inlet. This was also the breakfast room where John and Ann supplied many choices for a bountiful feed in a well outfitted kitchen. We were warmly met by both hosts, and presented with a dinner menu from which to choose our mains. John regularly smokes his own salmon caught fresh in the Marlborough Sounds, Ann seems to make everything else from scratch, her ginger slice, muesli, muffins and pumpkin seed bread would be appreciated by NZ MasterChef. I doubt she would ever be sent home. Dinner was served promptly at 6:30 with all 8 guests dining together in their candle lit conservatory, complete with an abundant grape arbor hanging above us. These massive bunches were ripe for the picking, sweet and delicious. Our three course meal consisted of generous and tasty salads grown at Mahana, John's smoked salmon, and an orange almond cake for dessert. Presentation was restaurant quality. A well thought wine list was also available for glasses or bottles to be purchased. Our hosts were friendly, attentive and allowed us guests to enjoy our meal and conversations in a very relaxed way. The rooms were immaculate and nicely appointed. There was such thought to detail, chocolates, flashlight etc. We had the best night's sleep.. as if we were home. The next day John took our bag along the path to the water taxi and loaded it on himself. Many thanks for this lovely respite on our tramp along the Queen Charlotte Track.

Room Tip: we had the first room in the front off of the common room. Get there before the others!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silverfox227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

67 - 73 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

This is a beautiful place on the QCT. We loved everything. The dinner was incredible, and the conservatory venue perfect. Best were the packed lunches for the next day's tramp. Friendly, warm, accomodating... perfect.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichB89600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We spent one night at Mahana Lodge while walking the QCST. Our hosts John and Anne did everything to make us enjoy our stay. The ensuite rooms in the Lodge were very comfortable with wonderful views over Punga Cove. The organic food from John's garden made for a wonderful dinner and his home smoked salmon was exquisite. A delightful piece of paradise.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quicker5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We spent just one night here last week after the second day of our walk on the QCT. Lovely to relax in the comfy lounge overlooking the Bay and then to enjoy a memorable meal cooked and served by Ann and John in the beautiful Conservatory. Wonderful, friendly, helpful Hosts and truly comfortable accommodation.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Personal hosting, excellent food (including a cornucopia of salad greens from the hosts' garden), and comfortable rooms with private balconies all add up to a special place in an idyllic location. Mahana hosts John and Ann are attentive, but non-intrusive hosts who offer their guests (8 maximum) an opportunity to enjoy dinner together at a common table -- a welcome opportunity for interaction after the solitude of the trail. Ann's cooking deserves special mention. We'll be back!

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Travelover2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We spent 2 nights at Mahana during our walk of the Queen Charlotte track. Its a lovely spot in its own little cove with the lodges set back at the bush edge. Very comfy and excellent meals too, all served with warmth and care by John and Ann. Hosts don't come any warmer or more accommodating and their care makes a wonderful spot even better. My only caveat is to remember that the common room in the lodge shares walls with two of the bedrooms. Our first night there one woman was loud and boisterous quite late. Otherwise all was excellent.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SolanaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

My 3 generation family have just spent 3 days at Mahana Lodge to celebrate my 70th birthday. Words like amazing, perfect, terrific, fabulous etc kept being repeated. The location is special but even more special are hosts Ann and John. They couldn't have been more welcoming, friendly, helpful, caring, etc [I could go on!]. Ann's meals are top restaurant style [absolutely delicious] and John's waitering would put many a professional to shame. I am indebted to them both for being the icing on the cake of my celebrations.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LnMParemata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Endeavour Inlet
4.2 mi away
Bay of Many Coves
Bay of Many Coves
#1 of 1 in Arthurs Bay
340 reviews
10.6 mi away
Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre
7.8 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Punga Cove Resort
Punga Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Endeavour Inlet
369 reviews
16.4 mi away
Okiwa Bay Lodge
Okiwa Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Anakiwa
250 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Bluewater Lodge
The Bluewater Lodge
#2 of 2 in Endeavour Inlet
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mahana Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahana Lodge

Address: Marlborough Sounds | Queen Charlotte Sound, Endeavour Inlet 7250, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Endeavour Inlet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Endeavour Inlet
Price Range: £128 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mahana Lodge is a modern B&B on the beachfront in Endeavour Inlet. We offer accommodation and meals for people walking the Queen Charlotte Track and for people wanting a few nights of peace and tranquility in the Marlborough Sounds ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mahana Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mahana Homestead Hotel Picton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing