We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great autumn short break”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Punga Cove Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Punga Cove Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Endeavour Inlet
North Canterbury
1 review
“Great autumn short break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2008

We spent two nights at Punga Cove - it was May so slightly out of season.

However, weather was lovely and we were upgraded from A frame chalet to larger chalet. All chalets (inc some of the backpackers accommodation - we checked!) have fantastic views. Backpackers rooms were clean and fresh, bunk beds and plug socket.

Despite reading previous reviews and being a little apprehensive I was very pleasantly surprised by quality of accommodation. The chalet was clean, had a great deck and good new decor. The kitchen area had a microwave, fridge, toaster, kettle and kitchen utensils, plates, mugs, glasses etc. There is a air con/heater unit but the heater was not very effective in the cold evenings we thought. However, there is an electric blanket on the bed.

Although there was no tv or phone we found this made for a complete break. Internet is available from reception and there is a small shop. Cabins are surrounded by native planting and Punga trees - lovely. Fantastic birds and sounds of bird amazing.

There is a walk to restaurant, cafe, reception - and it is via a fairly steep footpath so probably not best for people with mobility problems. However there is a handrail and luggage (and guests!) transported up to accommodation in golf cart.

We arrived by water taxi from Picton although you can drive around to the resort. Easy access onto the Queen Charlotte track - there are also a couple of shorter walks too which we took.

We appreciated the isolation - guess it could get pretty busy in the summer months.

A couple of times we spotted litter on the floor/in the planted areas which was still there the following day. We felt that this could make the place look unkempt for if this was a continuing problem.

Overall a great location and good accommodation.

  • Liked — Location, accommodation
  • Disliked — poor heating in cabin
Helpful?
Thank Kiwilocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    96
    50
    27
    34
See reviews for
52
140
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
111 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2008

Stayed here 1 night while hiking the Queen Charlotte Track. Nice little place! Details...

GOOD:
--Location is beautiful, scenery and views are great
--Nice little cafe on the dock to chill out
--Restaurant is excellent
--Small but nice pool, hot tub, and lots else to do
--We stayed in shared accomodation, which wasn't spectacular, but was nice enough for the price point
--Staff were friendly and accomodating

BAD:
--The beach is pleasant, but be aware, its a pebble beach, not a sand one - you will need flip flops or shoes of some kind most likely, if you plan to go wading.

OTHER:
--Just be aware that the resort is built up along a steep hill, so, expect to do some steep walking!

Overall quite good, especially for a place that has no roads to/from. Definitely recommended - a good choice along the QC track.

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Migizi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2008

After a 2 hour windey trip to get to Punga Cove, I found the place was run down, shabby and dirty. The A frame huts for $175.00 per night are a disgrace; with only a double bed; there were hairs left on the fridge floor and coffee cups with left over residue in them.
Upon asking the elderly female owner how I go about booking a trip out into the sounds for a lunch trip to “Bay of Many Coves” the next day, I was told to contact them myself, as this is not what they do for their customers. As there is no cell phone coverage, their 1 and only guest phone was out of order, she told me to stand down at the bottom of the wharf until the boat came along and I could ask them about it. She never offered for me to use their phone.
The place does not reflect the website at all; the pool is shabby, surrounding areas dirty and BBQ was out of order!
After staying only one night, yet had booked for 2 decided to leave, with nearly having to pay for both.
I feel the place no longer should be called a resort but a backpacker’s hostel!
The owners need to retire gracefully, as its obvious they are over dealing with customers.
I feel sorry for the staff who seem to have no training at all.
All in all I felt like a nuisance being there! And it’s the worst place I have stayed at in all my years of travel, and the room rate does not reflect the low quality of the place.
Lisa

  • Liked — getting out of there
  • Disliked — size of bed
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lulunelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Endeavour Inlet hotels

Wairarapa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2008

We walked the QCT over xmas 2007, and had xmas night at Punga. I was so looking forward to the xmas dinner that we had booked months in advanced, and asked for a window seat months in advance which we did not get on the evening. The xmas meal was $50 per person and not worth $5 per person. The menu looked lovely but reality was not! there was not enough food, people were asking for basic things like 'is there more potatoes coming?' they decided to bring out some dirty looking boiled beef towards the end (the kitchen staff must have realised that there was not enough food) the desert was terrible, cold steamed xmas pudding???? how can somewhere like this get such a basic meal so wrong when they had all year to prepare for it?? really really disapointing, we arranged to meet my parents at Punga for xmas dinner, good old mum insisted on paying for xmas dinner - so there was four of us, mum and dad are close to retirement and i just felt so bad for them paying $200 (4 x$50 per person) for a meal like that! if u are going to stay there don't expect much!

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank MollydogWairarapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2007

It was meant to be a relaxing break from our tiring Honeymoon travels. And it turned out to be such a disaster.

The chalet was a good 10 min walk from the restaurant n reception, w/ no phone in the room.

The room was cold thru out the nite.

It was a tiny place w/ a good view and awful resort.

Not worth the drive!!

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dusty_travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2007

Unfortunately, we didn't read these reviews before we went. Punga Cove is dirty, overpriced and in dire need of refurbishment. I would not swim in the pool and the water in the spa was yellow! Every aspect is sorely lacking. One of our worst experiences. We checked out after one night. At the checkout we had the proprietor shouting at us and demanding payment for the two nights we had booked. Luckily, a lawyer standing behind me (also checking out early) read them the riot act and they backed down and only charged the one night. A total nightmare. We travelled hundreds of miles expecting utopia and I came away in tears. Just don't go near the place.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank macduffquine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Brisbane
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2007

We walked the Queen charlotte Track in November and stayed at Punga Cove.
We stayed in one of the Weka lodges, which were not much more expensive than the basic accommodation.
It was one of the loveliest places we have stayed at. Our room was superb with views to die for. The staff were friendly and helpful.
Can't wait to return in the future and would definitely recommend this resort to all our friends. Hope to come back soon.

Helen and Bruce Hinton

Brisbane Australia

  • Liked — The stunning views and relaxed atmosphere where staff were like old friends
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bhinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Endeavour Inlet
7.7 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
4.4 mi away
Bay of Many Coves
Bay of Many Coves
#1 of 1 in Arthurs Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
10.6 mi away
Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
3.1 mi away
Furneaux Lodge
Furneaux Lodge
#20 of 82 in Marlborough Region
3.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
11.2 mi away
Te Mahia Bay Resort
Te Mahia Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Te Mahia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punga Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punga Cove Resort

Property: Punga Cove Resort
Address: Queen Charlotte Sound | Marlborough Sounds, Endeavour Inlet, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Endeavour Inlet
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Endeavour Inlet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Punga Cove Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Punga Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punga Cove Hotel South Island
Hotel Punga Cove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing