We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful site”
Review of Punga Cove Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Punga Cove Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Endeavour Inlet
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Accommodation in Punga Cove lodge is perched precariously up the side of a steep hill - tired legs might be a bit daunted at the climb to the restaurant so be prepared. Our family room was large but simple. Views were beautiful and the hot tub was welcome, though not hot enough.

Whilst the hotel as a whole was fine, and more than you'd expect in such a remote location, the restaurant struggled to serve just three tables of guests, even though it was a set menu! Tired ourselves and with even tireder kids, it would have been nice to have gotten the meals quicker.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onthemoveagain2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (354)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 354 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2013

Bev and Ralph were delightful hosts. They went the extra mile to make our stay comfortable and make us feel welcome. Ralph's local knowledge and helpful suggestions resulted in us changing our plans to climb Mount Stokes (not for the unfit or faint hearted!), which was probably the highlight of my husbands visit to Queen Charlotte Sound.
We stayed in a Kiwi Chalet, which was spacious, well appointed, clean and comfortable, with really beautiful views.
Because we wanted an early start, Bev prepared us a "breakfast in a basket" which was really fabulous.
Punga Cove is located in a really beautiful little bay. We enjoyed our night here.

Room Tip: Kiwi Chalet was clean, spacious and had great views. Only down side was slightly low water pressure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichelleF325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

came in by boat with bunch of blokes after day fishing and impressed as always by this home away from home
thanks Ralph and Bev for making us feel so at home yet again, the cold beer and good steak was much appreciated also

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gavin1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed here on a very wet stormy night in June - we were supposed to be walking the QCT however the weather put paid to those plans. No matter, we had a fabulous night in a very clean and comfortable room, with amazing views. The spa was just what was needed followed by a fantastic dinner after a lovely glass of wine by the fire with our hosts. We will return, hopefully to walk the track as well, but this is a perfect place for a quiet winter break. thank you.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simba47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Owners Bev and Ralph welcomed us to the restaurant suggesting we join them in a glass of wine in front of the fire the night we arrived. An unexpected and lovely way to begin the evening on our second day on the Queen Charlotte Track.

The food (vegetarian option arranged for myself), was wonderful. And the view of the Sound from our room (I think it was 12), was one I paused at and enjoyed slowly.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusaninMadison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Spent night as part of QCT walk. Arrived tired, mum had sore leg- retired hurt. Left very refreshed, well fed, welcomed. Will return. Was late autumn so track was quiet. Resort was well maintained and inviting, as were the hosts. Nothing seemed a problem and our every need was quickly accomodated. We both felt at home. Stayed in a hillside room. Warm, very comfortable. Views

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We stopped here for our first night after biking from Ship Cove in torrential rain, so we were happy to have somewhere warm and dry to stay for the night!
Our room was one of the 'basecamp' rooms and was simple but comfortable - just a double bed with shared facilities (bit of a pain that you have to go outside to get to the bathrooms but not too bad). The walls were pretty thin, luckily we knew the people next door, but if you didn't it could get a bit weird! The kitchen was good and had everything except a microwave, there were a few comfy couches to sit in and play cards etc.
The restaurant was lovely - a bit expensive ($34-$40ish for a main) but it was worth it as there was definately a lot of effort in each plate and they tasted amazing. The little cafe by the water was great too - nice to have a hot chocolate when we arrived.
There was also a drying room (which was packed) - so that was a very useful facility for us when we stayed.
The one problem is that the resort is set on a giant hill - with the backpacker rooms right up the top of the hill, so everytime I went to reception, or to the drying room etc I had to climb back up a giant hill (which wasn't great after a day of biking!) - there is also a MASSIVE hill to climb up to start the track again, but I think you have to do this if you are staying or not!
Very comfortable and would recommend to anyone doing the track.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Endeavour Inlet
4.4 mi away
Bay of Many Coves
Bay of Many Coves
#1 of 1 in Arthurs Bay
335 reviews
10.6 mi away
Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre
7.7 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
3.1 mi away
Furneaux Lodge
Furneaux Lodge
#18 of 86 in Marlborough Region
281 reviews
11.2 mi away
Te Mahia Bay Resort
Te Mahia Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Te Mahia
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punga Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punga Cove Resort

Address: Queen Charlotte Sound | Marlborough Sounds, Endeavour Inlet, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Endeavour Inlet
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Endeavour Inlet
Price Range: £47 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Punga Cove Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Punga Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punga Cove Hotel South Island
Hotel Punga Cove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing