We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Class Dining”
Review of Punga Cove Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Punga Cove Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Endeavour Inlet
Reviewed 27 February 2014

While we did not stay at the resort, we dined at the restaurant during a yacht charter holiday, We were a table of 5 and each selected a different choice from the menu. The food was stunning - in particular the duck breast -superbly cooked and presented. The venison, pork and beef were all equally all delicious. Another big tick for warm plates! The service was friendly, efficient and inobtrusive and we enjoyed the humour of our Irish waitress. Highly recommended, and we will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank Kerei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (328)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 328 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2014

This resort is set in a very sheltered bay with beautiful views and overall the resort is attractive and well maintained. Staff were generally pleasant and helpful. Cafe on the jetty is a great setting & drinks priced well. The accommodation however was **poor for the price**. Chalet had a very dated décor, the shower was not clean, we had 4 towels for 5 people & although cooking facilities were included, they were minimal (no salad bowl & salt empty). There was a note about not cooking any seafood or we could be charged for cleaning drapes & bedding! I have never seen this before after visiting over 30 countries! We were also told they couldn't supply a gas BBQ due to the fire risk. They have their own BBQ's and DOC camp ground allows gas BBQ's so we reckon this was a way to encourage guests to use their restaurant and café. We tried the coffee in the restaurant-4 of us thought it was the worst ever! Muffins at the café looked delicious but were stale (maybe had been frozen) and dry and we were offered no butter-the $5 each muffins went to your chooks. We were so relieved we had enough food so we didn't have to rely on eating here.
We were also not aware there was an apartment above us.The guests arrived up there for a wedding & we got a bit fed up after over 2 hours of constant walking around (moving wine boxes in?) with creaky floors etc Lucky they were quiet later on and we had ear plugs.
The pleasant surprise was the spa pool-overlooking the gorgeous bay-we didn't know this was included-website needs a lot of updating and needs to be way more specific.
Rating would be higher if the tariff was not so high-we have stayed in campgrounds to 5 star+ and would rate this 3 star at best. If the accommodation was redecorated and some of the issues above addressed rating would be 5 star. We would possibly return here to a different unit but as there is plenty of other accommodation available in the area would look elsewhere first.

Room Tip: Don't stay below the "Penthouse"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Punga Cove is a wonderful resort, offering a range of accommodation in a stunningly beautiful setting with an excellent restaurant . One of the most romantic places in the world.. We visited whitest walking the Queen Charlotte track ( for the sixth time) but stayed two nights because we love the place.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martinscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

This is a nice little resort with very friendly staff in a great setting. Staff went out of their way to assist my mother who as some difficulty walking. Food in the restaurant was fine, during the meal staff alerted us to a few orcas cruising the bay. Several spas on the property are great given its location on the Queen Charlotte Track. Fantastic views from our balcony over the inlet.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gortstep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Punga Cove Resort is very basic and run-down.
Rooms are basic but OK.
Public toilets, pool, spa, restaurant etc are very tired and in need of maintenance/rebuilding. They smell!

We walked from Furneaux Lodge (a wonderful property) to Punga Cove on NYE and chose the NYE Bar-B-Q dinner at the Boatshed Cafe. Terrible quality food for $40/head.

Next 2 nights were at Peppers Portage which was excellent, making the comparison even more stark.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We arrived as a group of 8 after a long and muddy days walking to find that our booking of over 3 months had been reduced from 3 rooms to 2 rooms + backpacker accommodation as the room we had booked was "structurally unsound" and no longer available. There was no apology for this rather an attitude of "what are you going to do about it". None of our party were happy with backpacker accommodation after a long walk (with some sickness and injury) When pressed and told that this wasn't acceptable the owner of the hotel finally said (again with no apology) "well we will move the staff out of the room then and you can stay there"! So not unfit for habitation - just being used as staff quarters. The room did indeed have an extremely sloped and disorientating floor and a booking should never have been taken for it!
The unfriendly and unhelpful attitude continued with each encounter with the front desk staff and the owner and we did overhear that 2 other couples also turned up to find that there was no room for them either. Completely inexcusable for a lodge in the middle of nowhere in the middle of a long walk. I believe one couple was magically found a room and the other couple was forced to stay in bunk beds.
Thankfully, they didn't charge us for the room ( they had only cleared out one room for us...) but what would have been better than a free room is a room that we didn't have to argue about to get.
The food was great, the restaurant staff helpful and friendly - the chef cooked for the kids to order. However, I would seriously advise staying away from this place. The owner was unfriendly, rude, dishonest and really put a dampener on what was - apart from this - a fabulous holiday.

Room Tip: Two of the rooms were lovely but the other room we were given after arguing with the manager was ext...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phemepheme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PungaCove, Owner at Punga Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Without a doubt, not providing accommodation to meet guest expectations is a reflection on management. However, we absolutely believe that apologies were given. Perhaps, on reflection, we should not have accepted this booking for a peak season date even three months out, when accommodation was at a premium. Because of this the owners' accommodation was allocated. We do not like utilising this building as it was affected in the earthquakes - the owners have no problem using it as it is in a lovely location. You are absolutely correct in that you were not charged for this accommodation.

You write about overheard parts of conversations with the implications of several accommodation difficulties. This proves how information gathered in this way can be misconstrued. The fact is that one couple left very happy - after a misunderstanding of language. So many of our guests do not have English as their first language.

In conclusion, the enormous damage caused in the public domain proves that making an extra effort of providing free of charge accommodation does nothing to alleviate a guest's dissatisfaction. Clearly, the message is that we should not try to accommodate all guests when accommodation is at a premium. To create customer satisfaction, we have often sought accommodation from local homes to help people out. We will no longer do this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Our stay at Punga Cove was good apart from one small aspect which tarnished our initial impression somewhat. Arriving after a very cold and wet 3 hour tramp from Furneaux Lodge, we were soaked to the bone and looking forward to a nice hot shower, and warm, dry clothes. However, our bags had not arrived with the transfer of packs from Furneaux Lodge so one of the owners called Beachcomber Cruises and Furneaux Lodge for us to try and track them down. However, after the initial phone call and being told that both the boat company and the lodge would have a look around for them and call her back, she proceeded to leave the reception to show some other guests to their room, leaving us freezing cold and dripping in the reception area to wait for God knows how long. While she was out, we heard the phone ringing and almost picked it up ourselves as we assumed it would be someone calling about our bags! We told her the phone had been ringing when she finally came back 10 minutes later but she said she'd give them some time to call again and would we like to "go and sit somewhere" while we waited!?! We were really cold and pretty annoyed by this point - despite it not being Punga Cove's fault that our bags hadn't turned up, they weren't exactly going out of their way to help us locate them and it really didn't seem to be a priority for them. I resorted to having a shower in our room (thankfully it was ready for us by the time we checked in) and wrapping myself up in a blanket to keep warm, as I couldn't get back into my soaking wet clothes. Half an hour later, my husband went back to the reception to follow up on the search for our bags and the other owner was there and with a quick phone call to Furneaux Lodge, our bags were located and it was arranged for them to be transferred asap. Again, it wasn't Punga Cove's fault but I'm sure the whole debacle could have been resolved much quicker in the first instance.

We stayed in a tui chalet which was nice and cosy, with a spacious bathroom and extremely comfortable bed. The shower was a bit on the small side and the A frame design of the chalet did make it feel like there wasn't a lot of space in the room overall. Would have been nice to use the sundeck on our chalet if the weather had been nicer. We also noted there were lovely deckchairs at the beach as well as kayaks and there was a nice pool and spa pool as well. The drying room was much appreciated too, and was full up on the day we were there due to the terrible weather.

The whole resort is built on a hill and it's quite a hike up to the restaurant at the top. We had a nice meal for dinner but the service was very, very slow. And it seemed even slower at breakfast time, when we waited 45 minutes for 2 cooked breakfasts to be ready.

Overall it wasn't a bad experience but not quite the level of service and quality you might expect for the price you pay there.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rin007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Endeavour Inlet
4.4 mi away
Bay of Many Coves
Bay of Many Coves
#1 of 1 in Arthurs Bay
322 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
10.6 mi away
Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
13.4 mi away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
13.4 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punga Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punga Cove Resort

Address: Queen Charlotte Sound | Marlborough Sounds, Endeavour Inlet, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Endeavour Inlet
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Endeavour Inlet
Price Range: £67 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Punga Cove Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Punga Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punga Cove Hotel South Island
Hotel Punga Cove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing