We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, contemporary and friendly Hotel near Cambridge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Cambridge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bar Hill
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Nice location and 20 minutes by bus to Cambridge city centre. Return fair was £7.40 for two which was reasonable. Buses run every 20 mins right outside the Hotel.
We got a two night package from booking.com which was £144.00. This was for 2 nights BB with one evening meal. I thought this was a great discount. The hotel was very clean. Staff were friendly. Facilities excellent. The dining was fine. Food really good.
Bedroom was large and well equipped. Bathroom was very small.
The room was cleaned to a high standard.
Overall a good stay

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for a larger bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,543)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,101 - 1,107 of 1,543 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2013

I stayed here one night on business.It is a convenient location, next to the A14 and saved a drive into town. Got a very good rate. I didn't eat in the restaurant or use the spa facilities.
The room itself had been refurbished - comfortable bed, decent pillows, good selection of tv channels. It was also very clean. My main gripe was that although the bedroom had been refurbished, the bathroom had not. It was small, grubby and not at all inviting.
The staff were very helpful and friendly, free and good wifi a definite added bonus, breakfast was Ok, usual self service buffet

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisasplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Turned and was able to get a great price for to nights stay with breakfast and dinner. The room was on the ground floor and had just been refurbished. Great room and bathroom. THE BREAKFAST WAS GREAT BUT THE RESTAURANT IN THE EVENING WAS NOT GOOD. The biggest problem was that you had one English speaking head waiter and the rest of the staff where all foreign which made things difficult. I hope that they hire people in the future who actually have an understanding of the English language and understand how to take orders from a guest and bring out the right thing rather than guess!!

Room Tip: Grab a room on the ground floor that has been refurbished
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

We needed to stay in Cambridge and we noted the Menzies Hotel that was situated just outside Cambridge on one of the major roads that was just to the south of the city.

The hotel was very welcoming, the check in was quick and we were soon in our room, the room was clean and well aired, the bedding was bery clean and there was enough pillows for both of us, the bed was very comformtable but that is always personal preference.

The spa is very good, a little small but we found it to be very clean and the pool temperature was on the warm side but again, personal preference there

We ate in therestaurant and we were please with the service and the food we had, we both opted for the Cajun Chicken and our choice proved to be very well cooked and tasty.

We finished the night in the bar and this proved to be a friendly place

We will stay again, very good value for money for a mid week evening break

Andy

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

We booked this hotel for February 25th through lastminute.com as a quick and relaxing get away from our busy lives nearby. On arrival there had been an error between lastminute and the hotel with out booking date, this was prompty and professionally sorted by the very friendly receptionist. We found the hotel and room to be very well kept both with the decor and cleanliness.

Shortly after booking in we went to the Waves health & leisure club for which the use was included in the booking. Unfortunately we were informed that the spa treatments were unavailable due to staff being at a trade fair, however we accepted that due to our last minute booking that this was just unfortunate on our part as this is usually something that requires advance booking in most places. We decided to use the swimming pool and jacuzzi anyway as this was one of the the main reasons for booking this hotel. The pool was clean, warm and not too crowded however we found ourselves unable to make use of the jacuzzi because as soon as the aerator came on the chemicals started burning our throat and eyes making it impossible to stay in. Regular users of the facility had expressed that they had notified the management of this and been told that it was due to chemical transferrance from the pool due to people not showering between areas. I'm no expert but I would say that we have never experienced this problem anywhere else and in any case surely there is no excuse for leaving the problem unresolved.

After changing we went to the restaurant for the dinner reservation we made earlier.
The restaurant had only two other occupied tables so was in no way busy but both the service and food were abysmal. The hostess was very friendly and helpful but unfortunately was also unattentive and forgetful when it came to service. The main issue however was the standard of food which was not fit for a local pub let alone a 4 star hotel. We were given a bread roll that was litterally solid which was replaced by a slice of cold stale bread. This was followed by our mussels to start, which had been over cooked to the point where they had a mushy sawdust like texture, we could not eat them so just asked for the mains (they did offer to cook fresh for us). But the worst point was my main, a ribeye steak which I had ordered blue at a cost of approx £19 without vegtables which were another £2.95. What I got was a well cooked thin (flash fry) rump steak riddled with gristle with a side of very strange sliced roasted veg. This was quite enough and we decided having been presented with nothing edible to leave.

With work the next day and the break being ruined by both the lack of use of the jacuzzi and the terrible restaurant, we decided it not worth staying in the hotel for the night. The duty manager came to speak to us and was very good. He tried at our request to find somewhere else local for us to eat so we could stay but unfortunately due to the day and time had no success. He agreed a full refund with us which was organised a couple of days later with lastminute.com.

I would like to say that whilst this sounds negative and indeed we did not have a good experience that both the hotel itself and the staff as a whole were very nice and helpful but were sadly let down by a few things that can and hopefully will soon be fixed.

Room Tip: We were booked into room 120 which is right next to the spa on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaun V, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

Lucy P, thank you for leaving us your review and I know we did speak with you personally at the time you were here to discuss these points. I am sorry you did not choose to stay in the hotel following your meal experience and checked out early, I know we did not charge you for the time spent here or the meal.

I am aware of the Jacuzzi feedback and it is correct that the chloramines do increase in number if users do not shower first before use – this causes your eyes to sting, but is perfectly safe. Our chemical levels are checked every 3 hours and we empty and clean the Jacuzzi daily, on reviewing the records for last week I can see that each day they were within the recommended parameters, but will of course continue to monitor this closely.

I am sorry you did not enjoy your dining experience. We have just introduced a new menu which is being settled in, however your feedback has been shared with the team and I have to reassure you that the steak was the cut you requested, but we have raised the issue with our butcher over the quality. Ribeye as a cut is generally flatter as wider than a rump or sirloin, the flavour is usually richer and we do choose a British aged beef which the quality should be very good. I assure you we are working hard to iron out any teething problems.

If I can be of any assistance in the future, please don’t hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Regards

Shaun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I stayed for two nights as event manager for a recent conference. The conference staff were excellent, organising the room and facilities exactly to our requirements. Refreshments, lunch and evening meal were good, if not spectacular...although the individual cheese board would have served two easily! The bar is a bit 1970s, but the bar staff are friendly and efficient. Reception team are excellent, helpful, courteous and welcoming. Bar Hill is right on the A14 as you near Cambridge, yet my satnav refused to recognise the postcode, and when I arrived at the hotel, insisted I still had miles to go. Don't we all! Bedrooms fine for the price, health spa available to guests, nice people working there...no complaints!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DurhamUKStuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We stayed here Thursday 21st Feb. We had a lovely meal Third evening. We were not expecting such choices from our inclusive package. All courses were fantastic, service good ( there were about 5staff & 5 tables eating )
Our room faced the swimming pool. There was no road noise which we were expecting after arriving realizing the busy A14 was so close.
The next night we ate in the bar. There were just two others tables eating but it was a very relaxing atmosphere. The food & service were good. Once again two staff three tables of customers.
All in all, lovely hotel, nice friendly staff. Would defiantly go again.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy30essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bar Hill
4.9 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,416 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
#11 of 36 in Cambridge
1,068 reviews
8.5 mi away
Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel
3.5 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#9 of 36 in Cambridge
1,214 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Cambridge

Address: Bar Hill CB23 8EU, England (Formerly Cambridgeshire Moat House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Bar Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bar Hill
Price Range: £70 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Cambridge 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hallmark Hotel Cambriddge is Located right on the A14, just a mile from the M11 and 5 miles northeast from the heart of Cambridge. The hotel has ample parking, a beautiful golf course, 136 comfy bedrooms, flexible meeting rooms and a lovely health club - it has absolutely everything you need for a successful business trip or relaxing short break in Cambridge. A hotel that has it all Free WiFi throughout. Located just 5 miles from Cambridge city centre Plenty of parking - complimentary when booking your stay direct with the hotel. £10 over night charge otherwise. 136 bedrooms including family bedrooms for up to 5 Brasserie, lounge and bar The Cambridgeshire Golf Course - 18-hole 2 tennis courts, indoor swimming pool, fitness suite and treatment rooms Sauna, steam-room, spa bath Ideal wedding venue for up to 180 guests 10 versatile meeting rooms for up to 200 delegates Sky Sports and BT Sport now available in the bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies Cambridge Hotel And Golf Club
Menzies Hotel Cambridge
Hallmark Hotel Cambridge Bar Hill, Cambridgeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing