We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In need of some TLC” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hallmark Hotel Cambridge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Cambridge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bar Hill
chocdot
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“In need of some TLC”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Having stayed in a number of Menzies hotels in recent years (most recently the Derby hotel - excellent) I recommended the chain to friends for a weekend get-together near Cambridge. We booked our rooms in advance (not cheap) and arrived to find the baths in 2 of the 3 rooms badly chipped. A request to move rooms was dealt with promptly and professionally. One of the group had a further problem with the bath mechanism (falling apart). We ate only 1 meal at the hotel which was ok. Generally the hotel is 'tired' and in need of refreshing. It is in a good position for travelling into Cambridge, but, in our view, overpriced.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chocdot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    380
    423
    327
    149
    100
See reviews for
176
505
39
303
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 459 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

I stay here quite often with work, the rooms are always large and very comfy beds
Would recommend eating down stairs rather than the bar up stairs, far more relaxed and better service
The enormous choice at breakfast is great (no good if on a diet) the staff are always friendly and helpfull
The room rate including the choice of meals for £22 is great (i think the chef must have changed) as the food now seems much better
would recommend this hotel as very near the M11 and other road links and great if going to the war museum
A1 place to stay

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

we were 5 couples having a break away to Cambridge with the guys having a round of golf. We had an executive room which was a good size, reasonable bathroom and did not have any excessive road noise.
There was a meal included on the first night which was generally good if not a little small, especially the melon starter !!. Always hard to please 10 guests, keep away from the cheese tarts as the pastry could have been used as a discus!
We found all of the staff very friendly and helpfull including the ones at the golf club. If visiting Cambridge use the bus from outside the hotel, fast, efficient and cheap.

Room Tip: Ground floor executive room facing the entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheBear378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

We returned to the Menzies Cambridge (Bar Hill) after a few years playing at other similar Hotel/Golf course combo's. The Hotel has a great set up and is intrinsically linked to what is a very popular and well supported Golf Club. Fairly large hotel, but service and friendliness of the staff is more akin to a smaller operation, which was nice. Breakfast and Evening Meals were good and had a varied selection. Special thanks to Tina and her Breakfast team especially. Also the main Bar team were courtious and always took a keen interest in how we were enjoying our stay.
The course itself was in fantastic condition all weekend, despite the torrential downpour on the Saturday morning.

Thanks for a great weekend.

The Smilers Golf Society.

Room Tip: Try to get a room not facing the A14
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyndon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaun V, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Cambridge, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Lyndon S, thanks for taking the time to leave us your review following your golfing break with us. Glad to read that you had a great time with us and I will share your comments with the team.

We do hope to welcome you back again in the future...

Regards

Shaun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Had a relaxing weekend in Menzies Cambridge. Prices are very good if you are an early bird!
The only problem is the hotel is by the highway, didn't disturb me though.
If you are after a weekend break, either a city break in Cambridge, would recommend this hotel.
Ohh one more thing, if you plan to have your dinner in the hotel, would recommend you to book it early! Alternatively you can pop into the pub which is located within a short walking distance.(if you are quite shy for asking the direction you can chase the people as there is probably one local pub in Bar Hill:) )

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynn_Russl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

I have just returned from cambridge after celebrating a hen gathering.

Hotel was perfect for our weekend. There was 13 of us in total (including a new born baby!!) and our rooms were all close together on the ground floor. I had so many chops and changes to my name list and the hotel was more than happy to rework what we had already booked.

Rooms are clean and so spacious, which was perfect for 3 girls to share a triple room. Beds are comfy and clean and there were plenty of towels and dressing gowns. more than enough shampoo samples also.

The hotel has a contract with a great taxi service which is set price at £12 into the town centre (which takes about 15 minutes) and with a 6 seater car it was only £2 into town for dinner and drinks! There is also a bus service which is £4 for an all day bus ticket.

Breakfast was exactly what a Sunday morning needed and we had a table that fit all of us on which was great to catch up over in the morning. Large selection of English and continental buffet, I'm vergetarian, so the perfectly poached eggs were ideal.

The spa is a perfect way to wake up, jaccuzzi, sauna and a steam room, plus a large pool and toddler depth pool also. We were lucky to have the sun with us and just outside the spa is a garden we sat out on and caught some rays in our bikinis and gowns. The gym is very equipped too.

Overall I had a perfect weekend, hotel was hassle free, staff are really helpful, breakfast is delicious, and the spa is perfect for some recovery time!

Strongly recommend for your mature hen party, family gathering, or girls weekend away. Cambridge is also gorgeous, and the nightlife is friendly with lots to offer in terms of whether your looking for a wine bar or a nightclub.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nettestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N Yorkshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

good in parts. I stayed one night - the room was fine - everything that you'd expect. Free wi-fi, but had to keep signing in - I don't think the hotel has any control over that.

The staff were very welcoming and helpful, especially when they had not received the reservation from my employer! Luckily, it wasn't fully booked.

My dinner was very good - but other people complained that the food was cold and some sent it back to the kitchen. Breakfast was the usual buffet and couldn't be faulted.

I didn't use the Spa but did take a look - and it seems very pleasant. The Golf Club is attached and was well supported.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 67Sweetpea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaun V, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Cambridge, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear 67Sweetpea, thanks for leaving us your review which in general didn't necessarily meet the title of your review?

I'm pleased you found the accommodation to be good and enjoyed your meals. I have shared your comments with the team.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards

Shaun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bar Hill
5.0 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,184 reviews
8.5 mi away
Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection
4.6 mi away
The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
#14 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
5.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Cambridge

Property: Hallmark Hotel Cambridge
Address: | Cambridge, Bar Hill CB23 8EU, England (Formerly Cambridgeshire Moat House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Bar Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bar Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Cambridge 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HALLMARK HOTEL CAMBRIDGE Location Located right on the A14, just a mile from the M11 and 5 miles northeast from the heart of Cambridge, the Hallmark Hotel Cambridge has ample parking, a beautiful golf course, 136 comfy bedrooms, flexible meeting rooms and a lovely health club - it has absolutely everything you need for a successful business trip or relaxing short break in Cambridge. A hotel that has it all Free WiFi throughout. Located just 5 miles from Cambridge city centre Plenty of parking - complimentary when booking your stay direct with the hotel. £10 over night charge otherwise. 136 bedrooms including family bedrooms for up to 5 Brasserie, lounge and bar The Cambridgeshire Golf Course - 18-hole 2 tennis courts, indoor swimming pool, fitness suite and treatment rooms Sauna, steam-room, spa bath Ideal wedding venue for up to 180 guests 10 versatile meeting rooms for up to 200 delegates Sky Sports and BT Sport now available in the bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Superbreak UK so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies Cambridge Hotel And Golf Club
Menzies Hotel Cambridge
Hallmark Hotel Cambridge Bar Hill, Cambridgeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing