We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Lol.travel
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (340)
Filter reviews
340 results
Traveller rating
248
67
14
5
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
248
67
14
5
6
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 340 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2019 via mobile

Stayed here as part of a multi city break to Romania with friends. The location is magical at Lake Balea in Sibiru, 6,000ft high in the Fagaras Mountains. The hotel is a sizeable ice structure, with a central spine decked out with Ice Tables and chairs; bedrooms peel off left and right of the spine. There is a well stocked bar for drinks and a music system too - very atmospheric !! The bedrooms are ice sculpted and the walls feature ice patterns and designs. Every bedroom has ice sculptures in the room - we had an armchair and small table !! We slept on an elevated ice platform, wooden slats, a mattress, deer skins, then an antartic sleeping bag , together with 4 extra thermal layers....... once settled in , cold was not a problem. A one off experience that was truly memorable.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank ChiantiSister
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 February 2019 via mobile

We stayed for one night in an igloo. It was a novel experience but not one I wish to repeat.

The hotel could be excellent, but currently it is poorly organised and it is abundantly clear that the staff are disinterested in guests. The whole experience felt gimmicky and money-centric.

The weather was poor when we visited so activities were limited and there really isn’t a great deal to do once you’re up there. I was surprised that guests of the hotel are required to pay for the cable car bearing in mind it is the only way to reach the hotel. Make sure to queue on the left hand side, which is the priority queue for hotel guests. The sign stating this is in Romanian and fairly subtle.

Payment by card was limited so I strongly suggest you take lots of cash with you. We paid €57 each for dinner at the ice restaurant, which absolutely wasn’t worth it. The food is made at the neighbouring chalet and, whilst nicely presented, it was lukewarm and fairly uninspiring.

Despite having paid for a room for 3 nights and arriving on day 2 due to a change of plans, we were still expected to leave our belongings in a shared room in the chalet. We never had any problems security-wise, but I felt uncomfortable entering the room to find another couple in their underwear. It also wasn’t made clear to us that access to the room would be unavailable after a certain time in the evening. If you stay in one of the ice hotel rooms or an igloo the only option you have for a toilet is to trek to the cable car station. The snow was knee-hip deep when we visited and we had to dig out the doorway to the cable car station. We were not provided with any light for use at night which would really have been helpful.

The rooms in the ice hotel are very small and separated from the bar/restaurant only by a thin curtain. There’s no chance of any sleep until all the revellers have retired for the evening. Similarly, there is one big igloo which contains four separate rooms. These are larger than the rooms in the ice hotel but, again, there isn’t a great deal of privacy.

This was not a luxurious experience but it could definitely be improved. I’m glad I did it but I’m not keen to return!

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Curly_Kale64
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 February 2019 via mobile

A superb experience. We spent one night here as part of a tour. We participated in all of the snow activities on offer: snow tubing, snow raft, snow banana and snowmobiling. All great fun and reasonably priced. Be prepared for a bit of a wait for the cable car up as just seeing the Ice Hotel is very popular with local people. The scenery is breathtaking and the Ice Hotel itself is fantastic. We did book a room in the nearby chalet which is well worth doing to store your luggage and have private shower facilities. We also had the meal at the Ice Hotel which is well worth doing, a great experience. Don't worry about getting cold at night, we were super warm all night and had a great sleep. Some practical tips: pack a small torch as there aren't many lights at night, don't drink too much in the evening as you'll have to walk in the dark if you need a toilet in the night and pack a snow snood as when the wind whips up, you often get a face full of snow!! We had a brilliant experience so don't hesitate to book!!

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank kpreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 January 2019 via mobile

We had a great time at the Balea Ice Hotel the people that work there where really friendly and helpful.
We stayed there for 2 nights we tried the snowmobile and snow rafting it was awesome.
It is definetly recomended to make a trip op the mountain to stay at the Ice Hotel.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank bjarturj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 January 2019 via mobile

First you must wake up early in the morning to get the cable car because otherwise you will wait some hours. The way up is realy beautiful during winter, you must do it! Arrived at the hotel you can pay a tax to visit the restaurant and the rooms, every room is personalized. I hotel is nice but since I am born in June I love to have it warm and there is very cold, so not for me.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank xelaandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews