We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“a little gem”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Eggleston, Barnard Castle, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
wrighty16...
Wales UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“a little gem”
Reviewed 19 December 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Myself ,hubby and little dog travelled a very long way to find this beautiful little gem of a holiday home.It was really clean,spacious and every thing you could require was at hand. If it wasn't (the lovely friendly but only seen if you needed them) owners would certainly of got it for you.I think we were blessed with the only week of fabulous weather last summer and most days we returned from our days out early afternoon to sit on our balcony and eat and drink in the sun, we could of been anywhere in the World. Its a fair distance to !!! To well any where, but that suited us, take your food with you to begin with ,but the beautiful country town of Barnard Castle is about 20 minutes away and sells everything , (it also has a Morrisons ). The cottage has loads of information about places to visit and has wifi . Advice to sat nav followers, it tried to take us up the wrong lane as we arrived, look across the road to the little cottage and you'll see Leadmill, it was so near but after a five hour journey we were too tired to find it funny. Would absolutely visit Leadmill cottage again if we revisit this part of the World

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everthing
Liked least: maybe the distance to nearest shops, pubs etc
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Dec 2015
Thank you ever so much for sharing this lovely feedback with us, we are so pleased that you had a nice holiday! We are so happy to hear that after such a long journey you found that the house had everything you needed - and sitting on the balcony in the sunshine sounds like bliss to us! We certainly hope that you visit again very soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaStore...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Wonderful stay!”
Reviewed 17 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

My partner and I had a lovely long weekend here! Was so comfortable and had everything you need! Lovely owners right next door but leave you to your stay! A lovely welcome pack is left of milk, eggs, biscuits, tea, coffee and wine! There is nothing around so lovely and quiet and lots of beautiful walks to go on! Would definitely recommend this lovely little cottage and would certainly go back!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Karen S
Hebburn, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect week”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Upon arrival we were met by the owner who showed us around the cottage & left us to enjoy our week with the knowledge they were available should we have the need.
Comfy furniture, large flat screen TV with Freeview, DVD player. Loads of leaflets if you're wanting to visit the many places nearby.

The cottage is fully equipped - we only took our food & made all our meals from scratch - great assortment of kitchen equipment. Large fridge with ice box. There was a lovely welcome pack which was a nice surprise.

Very well set out open plan living area with dinning table for two. Room is actually bigger than it looks on the photos. Bathroom was huge with a lovely big bath, a large shower cubicle and loads of great quality towels. The bed was very comfy & a set of drawers having plenty space for our weeks clothing.

Take a torch if you pop out late evening - no street lights here, but it was wonderful being able to see the stars.

We took our dog who had a great time - he settled straight away but did get rather excited when he saw the owners 5 hens ;)

We would definitely recommend this cottage & are planning to return - the week went far too quickly -

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sheila G
Buxton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“heaven”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

the owner's of this property are great, and their children are even better, we were welcomed, shown round and then left to enjoy ourself. this is a great place to stay with a dog. all the appliances in the property are of a high standard and decor great, very comfortable, cosy a very special place. sitting out on the little patio was just heaven. we will be going back lots of exploring still to do and can not think of a better place to stay, with john amanda and their boys. welcome pack great milk,tea, coffee, wine eggs,biscuits and any information you may need just ask.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouL86
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fantastic rural retreat”
Reviewed 9 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Booked this through a cottage rental site as a last minute long weekend break which allowed us to take our young puppy along with us. Price and allowing pets were the first things that attracted us to this property but when we looked more closely, the standard of the property and the location seemed to suit what we were looking for.

On arrival, the owners were friendly and helpful and once we'd been shown around the cottage, we were left to it (with the knowledge that they were just next door if needed) for the remainder of our stay. The welcome pack includes all the basics as well as a bottle of chilled rose wine. All the cooking/eating/drinking essentials are provided in the cottage.

The area is stunning with a river just across a small track and some grass and unbelievably beautiful woodland surrounding the property. The area surrounding the old lead mill (on both sides of the river) lend themselves to some fantastic walks with a deer being spotted running through the trees on one occasion! Just mind out for peat bogs, a rather soggy part of the countryside that I fell foul to!

The cottage itself is reasonably small and cosy but with all the conveniences of home (with the exception of a dishwasher and washing machine but to us that didn't really matter). The bathroom is fantastic, the bedroom is very neutral which led to some of the best sleep in recent months and the living/kitchen/dining room is very comfortable. The wifi was a nice touch, especially as the mobile signal was sketchy at best (non-existent was the norm unless you head into Barnard Castle - approximately 15 minute drive).

We look forward to coming back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet, rural escape
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing