We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic week spent in a beautiful cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Toby Hill Cottage and Garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Toby Hill Cottage and Garden
Enjoy the view with a glass of wine! Enjoy the view from the Cottage patio!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Toby Hill Cottage and Garden
Enjoy the view with a glass of wine!
Enjoy the view from the Cottage patio!
Lounge with Wood Burning Stove
Wood burner in lounge near patio doors
King Bedroom/Ensuite bathroom
Twin Bedroom
Twin bedroom
Lovely window seats in bedrooms!
Quality Oak Kitchen/Open Plan Living Area
Dishwasher in kitchen!
Tea and scones in front of the stove!
Stairs!
Sample of welcome basket!
Open Plan Living
Dining Table & Welcome Scones & Cake!
The path to the cottage!
Ready for a ride home!
Henry the Bull
Teesdale Bluebells in Spring
Hello there!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Eggleston, Barnard Castle, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JET181976
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic week spent in a beautiful cottage”
Reviewed 29 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

What a beautiful place to stay. Toby Hill Farm Cottage is a very comfortable self catering cottage, set in gorgeous countryside. The cottage is really well equipped and spotlessly clean. Everything is of such a high standard, it felt like we were the first to stay in it! There's plenty to see and do in the area with children and for all weathers (we had a mixture of drizzle and blazing sunshine in August!) Great walks straight from the doorstep and nice local pubs for meals. Sheila and Neil Tarn are great hosts and very welcoming too. All in all we would highly recommend this cottage for couple, friends, families of all ages, it ticks every box!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2016
Thank you so much for a lovely review. It was a pleasure to have such a lovely family to stay! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay in our cottage finding it well equipped for your holiday! Hope we can welcome you back again in the future!
Thanks again & Best wishes
Sheila & Neil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel T
Stalham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect! ”
Reviewed 31 March 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We booked this cottage for a long weekend away with out children as a surprise. I can honestly say there is nothing we can fault about this cottage. Friendly and helpful owners, well equipped, beautiful location. The list could go on. The extras provided and attention to detail are commendable. After a long journey the warm welcome and food hamper were much appreciated. It is an area we regularly visit and this is the only cottage out of many that we would return to. Thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Apr 2016
Hi Rachel
Thank you so much for leaving such a lovely review! It is very much appreciated. It was lovely to meet you and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us! We are delighted that you found our cottage to be well equipped and that you you will hopefully return to visit us again sometime! Thank you!. Best Wishes, Sheila
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBMCUMBRI...
Cumbria
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A welcome return visit”
Reviewed 3 August 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Having enjoyed a lovely stay there at the end of 2013 we returned for a short 4 day visit.
It remains a real haven of peace and quiet and all the facilities one could need .The cottage is spotlessly clean, a thoughtful welcome pack and within easy access of great countryside and super little towns. We discovered on this visit for the first time the little fish and chip shop in Middleton which was very good. The cottage is now a little cosier with the addition of one or two pictures in the lounge.

We enjoyed so much that we are planning a third visit this autumn.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2015
Dear JBMCumbria
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It is wonderful to receive such great feedback and to let us know we are doing a great job of making our guests feel welcome and helping them to enjoy their stay in our lovely cottage. We will look forward to your return visit soon!
Thank you again
Sheila & Neil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vic L
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“OLDE WORLD CHARM WITH MODERN FACILITIES IN A FABULOUS SETTING”
Reviewed 13 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A scrumptious Welcome Pack awaits as you first enter this holiday cottage but that is only the start. It has recently been refurbished to a extremely high standard and the facilities are very modern. Downstairs is an open plan fitted kitchen, dining area and lounge all with wonderful views over open countryside. Upstairs are 2 really well appointed bedrooms both with superb En Suite facilities. Again both bedrooms have wonderful views.
The cottage is very peaceful being well off the quiet country road and adjacent to the owners property.
The owners family were extremely friendly and helpful without being intrusive.
Another nice surprise was the very quick WIFI that could be easily accessed in the property.
The delightful Barnard Castle and Middleton in Teesdale are only a couple of miles away and many of the local villages have some nice pubs for eating out.
A holiday in this property is the best STRESS BUSTER you could wish for an opinion shared by favourable comments in the "Visitors book" from previous guests.
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Facilities and Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2015
Dear Vic L
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Toby Hill Farm Cottage! It was lovely to meet you both and we hope you will return to visit us again in the future. Your review is very much appreciated! Thank you again!
Kind Regards
Sheila & Neil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie F
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
“A holiday cottage worth staying in”
Reviewed 2 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

A beautiful cottage renovated to a very high standard with views from all windows of the open countryside.
A very warm welcome greeted us from the owners, Neil and Sheila. As we entered the cottage, the roaring log burner, selection of fresh baking and basket of delightful goodies made a fantastic start to a most enjoyable stay.
The open plan living area and the two en suite bedrooms were very spacious and impeccably clean.
Staying on a working farm also added to our wonderful experience. However wet and windy it looked outside the warmth of the inside made you feel very cosy.
Great area for walking and the local pubs were both welcoming and friendly, serving good beers and food.
Definitely worth a visit and we plan to stay again soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBMCUMBRI...
Cumbria
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“An excellent cottage with great views and peace and quiet.”
Reviewed 12 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Have just returned from a weeks holiday at Toby Hill.
One of the best cottages we have ever stayed in with friendly and helpful owners just next door.
This conversion is only about 2 years old so there is a look and feeling of newness everywhere.Downstairs the kitchen,dining room and lounge are open plan making one long room.Upstairs two very spacious en-suites bedrooms were very comfortable,spotlessly clean and with great views out over the farm and surrounding countryside.There is an additional toilet downstairs. There was only two of us but plenty of room for 6 people provided 2 were happy to sleep downstairs on a sofa-bed.Large patio outside with good patio furniture etc. Full central heating works well as did the wood burning stove. It is part of a working farm but is clean and well run and the various animals just add to the enjoyment.
Situated in a great scenic area so great for walking (has drying room) and places of interest in the area.Barnard Castle is just a few miles away with many small shops and restaurants.
We loved this cottage in every way but would just make the suggestion that the lounge area is brightened up a little - needs a picture or two or some flowers to make that area a little more cosy and homely .But overall BRILLIANT -thank you Sheila and Neil.

Just one other comment -their website does not do justice to the cottage or surrounds.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: En-suite bedrooms
Liked least: Coming Home !!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacqmoerm...
Oostburg, The Netherlands
1 review
“We'll be back!”
Reviewed 30 August 2013 for a stay in March 2013

a warm welcome in a winterparadise.
Very comfortable Cottage.
Helpful owners
Wonderfull walks to Low and High Force

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing