We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FRIENDLY AND RESTFUL HOTEL”
Review of The Rose & Crown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Rose & Crown
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Romaldkirk
Certificate of Excellence
South Yorks
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“FRIENDLY AND RESTFUL HOTEL”
Reviewed 18 May 2011

Spent three nights at the Rose and Crown to celebrate our Silver Wedding. We looked for somewhere "that extra bit special" and we certainly found it here. This hotel is in a lovely peaceful location great for visiting many local attractions and some wonderful walks. We stayed in the double suite in the main house, which consisted of large bedroom, separate sitting room and large bathroom, spacious and very comfortable. Staff are friendly and helpful. Meals in either the Restaurant or more informal Brasserie are beautifully prepared and presented, both menus offer a wide choice of dishes for all tastes. The separate Bar area was welcoming and always quiet. Highly recommended and we will certainly return.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Breakaway21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    70
    21
    7
    5
See reviews for
48
265
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Castle Douglas, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2011

We stayed for 3 days in May for a personal celebration. The service was personal, efficient and friendly. Our room was one of the most comfortable and peaceful I have stayed in anywhere, with a big bathroom. The whole place - bars, dining room, hallways and stairs glistens with polished wood and spells well cared for comfort. The food in the restaurant is of a very high standard (and the busy bar/brasserie suggested the same). It isn't cheap but it is reasonably priced for the quality. We loved it and will go back as soon as we an.

Room Tip: Choose a superior room in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidJC6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Kingshill UK
1 review
Reviewed 10 May 2011

Situated in a pleasant, quiet village with easy walking nearby ( a converted railway track ) the hotel offers excellent food and friendly service. It is a useful centre for walking and sightseeing in the area, close to Barnard Castle and not far from Richmond. You need a car to get around and some of the walking is for the energetic only. The less able-bodied should ask for a room in the annexe as there is no lift in the main building. The restaurant is very good but there is also a more informal bar area for meals. We have stayed several times over the years and have never been disappointed

Room Tip: If you need easy access, ask for the annexe
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennyhesketh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2011

Situated in the heart of Teesdale's green and pleasant landscape. The Rose and Crown at Romaldskirk is everything that you would wish to find in a traditional English Inn with a Gallic twist.
First impressions are of a warm welcome to an establishment, which gleams with good housekeeping.
Our room, in the courtyard was certainly equipped with everything we would have expected from a much higher rated establishment.We were particularly delighted by a poster of "Homme au Journal", a Lourmarin, showing a man reading "La Provence" newspaper.One of the local newspapers we have enjoyed reading at breakfast in the garden of the excellent Nice Garden Hotel.
Our evening meal was prepared from fine, mostly local, ingredients and we had a good range of wines to choose from, both by the bottle and glass. Service this evening and at breakfast the next morning was efficient and friendly.
This was our first visiit to The Rose and Crown, but undoubtedly it will not be our last.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pjfaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2011

One night away with my partner and her mother and everything was superb from the minute we arrived until the minute we left. The hotel looked so welcoming in the sun as we arrived, the rooms were lovely, the beds comfortable, the bar friendly and welcoming and the menu excellent. We all loved the dinner and the breakfast and we had some superb wine at reasonable prices. This is my fourth visit to eat but first to stay and I was not disappointed by anything. The staff are lovely and everything was immaculate. It is my sort of place and I look forward eagerly to my next visit.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alun M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2011

I grew up in this area in the 1960s and we would have a family trip out for Sunday lunch every few weeks. We regularly dined at a number of places within an easy drive of Barnard Castle and the R&C was always a favourite. In recent years, I have re-visited several of these old haunts and, sadly, have usually been disappointed with the comparison of my memory and the present day. However, in the case of the R&C I am happy to report that I think the present day exceeds even the rose tinted recollections of the past. It’s better than ever!
The service hits that spot between friendly/attentive and over-familiar/intrusive absolutely bang on - brilliant. The food is wonderful (a view shared by my vegetarian partner) and the wine list very appealing. The rooms are very comfortable, spotless and relaxing. The village itself is as pretty as any you'll find and the R&C is a focal point. The surrounding countryside is splendid with easy access to both the picturesque Dales and the wild, high moorlands. Name an award and this place has probably won it.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front overlook the green - lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianB2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2011

This was a return visit after 8 years and we found the hotel as we remembered it. The food was and still is wonderful, staff are very helpful and friendly - nothing is too much trouble. Our room in the courtyard was all one could wish for.

This small hotel is perfectly situated for visiting moors, dales and coast lines of the north of England not to mention the interesting towns and villages of that area.

The perfect place to stay for a short break.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EssexVista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Romaldkirk
11.7 mi away
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf
7.8 mi away
The Morritt Country House Hotel
3.7 mi away
Teesdale Hotel
Teesdale Hotel
#1 of 3 in Middleton in Teesdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
5.6 mi away
Jersey Farm
Jersey Farm
#1 of 1 in Barnard Castle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
19.6 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rose & Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rose & Crown

Property: The Rose & Crown
Address: Romaldkirk, Romaldkirk DL12 9EB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Romaldkirk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Romaldkirk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Rose & Crown 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful 18th century inn located in the picturesque dales village of Romaldkirk amidst unspoilt countryside. This award winning 3 AA red star hotel offers charm and character with a cosy bar, relaxing lounge and beautifully appointed bedrooms. Guest can dine in the 2AA rosette oak panelled restaurant or more informally in the bar. The service is professional yet friendly and the surrounding area offers excellent walking routes, attractions and market towns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your The Rose & Crown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rose & Crown Hotel Romaldkirk
The Rose And Crown
Rose Crown Barnard Castle
The Rose & Crown Romaldkirk, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing