We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful friendly hotel”
Review of The Rose & Crown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Rose & Crown
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Romaldkirk
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delightful friendly hotel”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I booked a night here before walking along High Force and the Pennine Way. We arrived around 7.30 and found there was plenty of space in the car park behind the main building.

The staff were friendly and because we were a little later than expected the lady allowed us to delay our reservation to give us time to freshen up.

We stayed in one of the courtyard rooms. Lovely room, nice and tidy. The welcome guide for guests has thought of every question you could possibly think of and is written in a really friendly style and caters for walkers particularly well.

Before eating we enjoyed an apertif in the quiet backroom which has various games to keep you entertained if you wish. While we were there, there was a nice couple playing scrabble and there was a lovely relaxed atmosphere.

When we went through to the restaurant we were sat quite close to the door and I think if I was to return I'd ask to be seated a bit further into the main restaurant room for a better ambiance.

The food was the main reason for choosing the Rose & Crown and it didn't disappoint. I had the crab and prawn bon bons which which were lovely, followed by the pigeon from the chef's special which came with very tasty game crisps. For desert I had the treacle tart with hazelnut praline which was gorgeous.

The wine list is also very good and reasonable and we had to hold back from having a 2nd bottle, not wanting to ruin the walk the next day!

We slept really well although it should be noted that if you're staying in a courtyard room you might hear the sounds of people coming and going in the morning. I didn't mind it at all but if some people are wanting a lie in it might be something to bear in mind.

Breakfast in the morning was served in the restaurant and was also good.

All in all we had a lovely time here and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TGJR, Owner at The Rose & Crown, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Teesdale is a fabulous place for walking and I am delighted that we provided you with an enjoyable overnight stay during your trip. I hope that the walk went well and it was clear enough to enjoy the beautiful scenery. Thank you for your kind comments which are much appreciated by the whole team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    71
    21
    7
    5
See reviews for
48
266
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

I met up with family and friends for a big long Sunday lunch which was amazing! A separate room was arranged and it was very well organised.the staff were extremely polite and helpful and nothing was too much trouble! The beverages and food were superb !

If your in the area it's well worth a visit! Highly recommended well done

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nebraska97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TGJR, Owner at The Rose & Crown, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Delighted to read that you enjoyed your Sunday lunch experience and your kind feedback regarding the food and service is much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North York Moors National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Just returned from a delightful stay at the Rose and Crown. The accommodation is superb, the staff are a delight. Very friendly and know how to make a customer welcome. The food was stunning. Wish my stay could have been a little longer. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouHall1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TGJR, Owner at The Rose & Crown, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments and it is great to hear that you enjoyed what we offer and will be coming back. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Attracted by its two AA rosettes for cuisine, my wife and I booked a night at the Rose & Crown as a break on our journey north. On arrival, we had an excellent welcome from the charming receptionist, greatly helped by the news that we had been upgraded to a suite. This accommodation is quite superb in a quirky way and exceeded expectations. The rooms in our suite were all well-sized and equipped with everything which might be required. And everything worked!

With dinner booked in the restaurant (the main point of the visit) we were seated in the bar for pre-dinner drinks and the dinner menus and wine-list arrived promptly. Service at the Rose and Crown is excellent and continued thus throughout our stay.

In good time we were shown through to the characterful dining room which eventually was about 80% full. Starters and pre-ordered wine arrived as requested. Sadly, at this point, standards began to slip and the kitchen was not performing to two rosette standard. A number of irritations crept in; a crab soufflé was served roasting hot and singed on top - it sat on a totally singed base and had clearly been carelessly treated while heating. The soufflé was flavoursome but a lot less than perfect. Slow roasted pork belly, which should have been unctuous and moist was dry and must have been kept hot for a long time prior to serving. It's fair to say that the desserts were a triumph and up to the standard expected. Service was excellent throughout - efficient and friendly.

So why only three stars? This is a hotel which claims excellent cuisine on the basis of its two AA rosettes for food. On our visit, on a Tuesday evening, the kitchen was not performing to this standard.

We did comment on this disappointment to reception on leaving and it was promised that the criticism would be passed on to the kitchen. I hope it has the effect of encouraging higher standards in what could be an excellent dining experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gorbscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TGJR, Owner at The Rose & Crown, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Glad to read that you enjoyed the accommodation and service but sorry that you did not think that the food met expectations. The food normally is and always should be a highlight of a visit to the R&C and as you had already made us aware at check-out this has been addressed and was hopefully just a one-off glitch for which we apologise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Stayed for three nights at the end of August with some trepidation thanks to previous stay in another Hotel in the North York Moors and were relieved to find that the website didn't lie!

The room was spacious and wanted for nothing, food first class, staff friendly and helpful.

Location beautiful and relaxing - Good to see that "locals" are still catered for in the bar.

Thanks for a good stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poole47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TGJR, Owner at The Rose & Crown, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Your kind review is much appreciated and I am delighted that you enjoyed your break in Romaldkirk, as well as meeting some of our friendly locals! Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyneside
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

24.9.13 travelled from Tyneside on a dreay overcast dull day for lunch following recommendation. It was worth the journey. Beautiful surroundings, good choice of options on menu and of drinks. The four of us in our party couldn't fault the quality and the levels of service. Would return and look forward to seeing the results of proposed plans to open up the small bar and bistro area to enhance the the dining area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobetrotterTyneside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TGJR, Owner at The Rose & Crown, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Thank you for making the journey to visit us and am I happy to hear that we lived up to expectations. You could always stay overnight next time to make the trip even more worthwhile!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Just arrived home after a 2 night break at the R&C and couldn't recommend it highly enough! Food faultless, staff were so accommodating and friendly, nothing was too much trouble for them. The room was beautiful with everything you could ask for. We have been here a couple of times previously but only to dine, so our first stay certainly won't be the last! Thanks for making our short break away so perfect and relaxing, we will certainly recommend to others and look forward to returning soon!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharonBAberdeenshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TGJR, Owner at The Rose & Crown, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Delighted to hear that you had such a nice stay at the R&C and your kind feedback is much appreciated by the whole team. Please do come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Romaldkirk
11.7 mi away
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf
7.8 mi away
The Morritt Country House Hotel
3.7 mi away
Teesdale Hotel
Teesdale Hotel
#1 of 3 in Middleton in Teesdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
5.6 mi away
Jersey Farm
Jersey Farm
#1 of 1 in Barnard Castle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
19.6 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rose & Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rose & Crown

Property: The Rose & Crown
Address: Romaldkirk, Romaldkirk DL12 9EB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Romaldkirk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Romaldkirk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Rose & Crown 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful 18th century inn located in the picturesque dales village of Romaldkirk amidst unspoilt countryside. This award winning 3 AA red star hotel offers charm and character with a cosy bar, relaxing lounge and beautifully appointed bedrooms. Guest can dine in the 2AA rosette oak panelled restaurant or more informally in the bar. The service is professional yet friendly and the surrounding area offers excellent walking routes, attractions and market towns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Rose & Crown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rose & Crown Hotel Romaldkirk
The Rose And Crown
Rose Crown Barnard Castle
The Rose & Crown Romaldkirk, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing