We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“an overnight recharge of our batteries”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Rose & Crown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Rose & Crown
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Romaldkirk
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“an overnight recharge of our batteries”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

this was our second visit to this lovely old hotel. we stayed in a superior room (11) which has a lovely comfy bed and an outlook over the village. It is quiet and peaceful. the bathroom however is small and tires. the shower is dated and if you were tall you would have trouble as it is over the bath. Also we could hear people walking around in the room above us and their footsteps reverberated through the chairs as we sat in the quiet afternoon. However this did not affect our sleep we stayed in room 10 previously which had a large spacious and much well appointed bathroom with an entrance areas and a larger bedroom.
However the evening meal made up for it. the staff were super, attentive and efficient. the food was lovely, we had goat's chesee souffle which was mouthwatering sirlion steak(very tender) and trio of lemon and salty chocolate tart. the amuse bouche and fresh bread added to our experiences. the wine list was good and reasonably priced. We would go again but ensure which room we had. My advice would be to consult the pictures on the website.

Room Tip: 10 was lovely again consult the website. Don't know what the courtyard rooms are like. we like t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janet c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    68
    21
    7
    5
See reviews for
49
259
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

We took my sister and her husband for a belated 50 th birthday celebration and we had a lovely time. The meal was excellent as was the service, we had champagne in the lounge and we stayed in the lodges at the back of the hotel which were lovely and well appointed. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was very good. The hotel is very traditional and quaint, the lounge area is very pleasant and relaxing and sleep quality is good as it is a very quiet and picturesque location. I would highly recommend this hotel for either a meal or a relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank judy062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

We stayed for 2 nights over the May bank holiday weekend on the spring awakening offer, Dinner, Bed and Breakfast. The room and its facilities were of a very high standard for the price of the room. Nice touch to have clasical music playing as you go into the room. The shower was old but very powerful and hot. Every detail thought of in the room including tea and cofee making facilities. The food on both nights was good quality and well cooked with classics such as steak or fish and chips to more imaginative dishes of fish, duck and chicken. The panelled dining room is a delight despite being a little warm for us. Breakfast very good and included plenty of hot and cold options the smoked haddock and poached eggs especially good. The service in the restaurant was excellent even on a very busy Saturday night. Plenty of choice on the wine list and some good bottles at reasonable prices starting at £20. There is lots to see in the area, the surrounding countryside is beautiful and there is loads of walking and places to visit. Definately worh a try. Look for the special offers on the website.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sevy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed at the R&C last week for two nights on their spring break dinner bed and breakfast terms.The accommodation is first class as are the friendly staff. The food is also excellent and evening meals can be taken in the refined timber panelled restaurant or the cosy and more informal bar area.
We visited with our dog and stayed in a courtyard room with our own access which was excellent if travelling with your pet.The hotel is generally very pet friendly allowing the well behaved pet to be with you in your room overnight and also in the bar area of the hotel.
The attractive village of Romaldkirk provides an excellent setting for the hotel. The surrounding Teesdale countryside with its abundance of good walks, waterfalls and many other natural attractions is perfect for a short break.
All in all difficult to fault it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GEOFF R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Stayed at the rose and crown for three nights over Easter with my partner and dog Esme...everything about the rose and crown was great..lovely rooms,staff couldn't do enough and food was fantastic would highly recommend this hotel
Elaine and Eric from rossendale

Room Tip: We stayed in a courtyard room which was a lovely spacious room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
160 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

There was good and bad about the Rose and Crown.
Many of the furnishings are of very good quality, curtains, duvets, towels, toiletries and there are nice touches such as the little Easter eggs left on our pillow!
The bed was a small double and very soft which was not good for my back!
However, the room we had (No 9) was quite dark with only 1 small window overlooking the bins. There is no air conditioning and at 2 in the morning difficult to see how the secondary glazed windows opened!
The en-suite was very small with toilet, washbasin and shower all in a space around 4 foot wide and 10 foot long.
Free wifi is available, although struggled with signal in our room.
Breakfast was very nice with choice of cereals and cooked menu.
Dinner, however, is overpriced for what it was. As a result, although we were staying for 2 nights we decided to eat out for the second night!
Fish and chips for £14 and soup of the day was £5 for a small portion and not served with any bread either!
All in all, I wanted to say. It was good, very good even, but I can't. I think it will appeal to those of a certain age, and although I probably fit into that bracket, I was disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johnboy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night and loved it. Very friendly. We had the sleepy Sunday package. This included a cream tea and dinner, bed and breakfast which was all very good. Top marks for the jam with the cream tea.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank AmandaS_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Romaldkirk
11.7 mi away
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf
7.8 mi away
The Morritt Country House Hotel
3.7 mi away
Teesdale Hotel
Teesdale Hotel
#1 of 3 in Middleton in Teesdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
5.6 mi away
Jersey Farm
Jersey Farm
#1 of 1 in Barnard Castle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
19.6 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rose & Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rose & Crown

Property: The Rose & Crown
Address: Romaldkirk, Romaldkirk DL12 9EB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Romaldkirk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Romaldkirk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Rose & Crown 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful 18th century inn located in the picturesque dales village of Romaldkirk amidst unspoilt countryside. This award winning 3 AA red star hotel offers charm and character with a cosy bar, relaxing lounge and beautifully appointed bedrooms. Guest can dine in the 2AA rosette oak panelled restaurant or more informally in the bar. The service is professional yet friendly and the surrounding area offers excellent walking routes, attractions and market towns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Rose & Crown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rose And Crown
The Rose & Crown Hotel Romaldkirk
Rose Crown Barnard Castle
The Rose & Crown Romaldkirk, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing