We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smarter than your average B&B”
Review of The Old Stables

The Old Stables
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Old Stables
Ranked #1 of 1 Woburn Sands B&B and Inns
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
109 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Smarter than your average B&B”
Reviewed 30 April 2013

The bottom line of any accommodation is that you get a comfortable bed, plenty of hot water and a decent breakfast. And this you get at The Old Stables - then much more.

This is as much like a hotel as you are likely to get whilst remaining a B&B. Julie is a very friendly host and has equipped her accommodation to a standard you might expect only in a good quality hotel than in a lowly B&B. For a lowly B&B this is not.

A very friendly greeting came with a good personal recommendation for where to have dinner that evening. We were shown the small kitchen with fridge, microwave, crockery and cutlery and so on and the visitor's lounge. Then to our room with a tea and coffee tray which would shame many more expensive hotels, and lots of little touches that aren't strictly necessary but lovely to have. Such as cotton buds and balls in the bathroom, soap in both a dispenser and bar form, a small bottle of complimentary mineral water, pack of cookies, multichannel TV not just the basics and so on; it all adds up to that bit of extra comfort.

The room was spotless, the bed was comfortable and the electric shower one of the best I've ever used of that type.

There were a couple of oddities. The biggest surprise was the plain glass in the bathroom windows. We were on the ground floor which meant you had to lower the window blind day and night and put on the light or folk passing outside your room would have been able to wave to you when you maybe least wanted to be on public view. And the other, also bathroom based, was the rather noisy plumbing - only water rushing through the pipes but a little strange until you got used to it.

But both of these quirks could be dismissed when you saw the spread available for breakfast. Only available until 8.30am (so no lie in in the mornings!) but an impressive variety of cereals, fresh fruit and yoghurt but an impressive help-yourself full English with all the trimmings (except black pudding!), real coffee, oceans of milk and seemingly unlimited brown and white toast. Very impressive and a good start to the day.

Not only have I no qualms about recommending you to stay there - we will be doing so again next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    14
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
8
2
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buxton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Really enjoyed staying at the Old stables while traveling to MK on business and stayed over a 6 month period. Julie is a friendly and flexible host. The rooms are clean and nicely decorated - I particularly liked being able to make my own tea in the breakfast kitchen and eat at a proper table in front of the telly!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally-Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

I booked this B&B at the last minute, needing to stay away with work. It is located about 10-15 mins drive from the centre of MK, but as such, it is in a very quiet location - take care not to miss the signs as you drive down the main road. The B&B itself is set some way back from this road, so it is very quiet and a good night's sleep is assured. The building is quite large, and the room I stayed in was a good size, with a shower room and a good standard of fittings. Cleanliness was also good. The welcome in the evening (9pm) was warm and efficient, and breakfast was served in the large dining room with a buffet-style service, including both hot and cold items. It was a pleasing stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickleics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

My company booked me in to The Old Stables while I was working in the area. First impressions were that it was quiet and very clean. Julie who could not have been a better host met me and showed me around and said she was on hand should I need anything. As The Old Stables is a bed and breakfast Julie was happy for me to bring food back, and eat it either in the restaurant area or in my room. (Cutlery, plates and trays are all provided for this reason.) The very comfortable bed and decent size room was all I could ask for. The breakfast which was a buffet style, was much better than expected and delicious with all the condiments you could require and I am sure that if you have any diary requirements Julie would be very happy to oblige.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobbieTD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
faversham
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Julie runs an excellent bed & breakfast on a farm near MK. It's tricky to find at night and there is a long, unlit driveway. But the Old Stables, is modern, well appointed and comfortable. Eight rooms with contemporary interiors. All basic comforts supplied ~ and well. Breakfast, in a dedicated room, was superb. Sensible prices. Paid by card. Julie is an excellent and charming hostess. She clearly cares about the place and her guests and, for that reason, I give her top marks.

Room Tip: you may prefer to specify downstairs rooms for access
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mightybighands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We had the pleasure of staying here whilst on a short break to visit the Xscape complex in Milton Keynes. Julie was an excellent host and the place was very clean. Breakfast was very nice with excellent choice. Will definitely stay here again should the occasion arises. The only down side is the fact that as a family of 4 we did have to have 2 rooms as the family rooms only sleep 3.
This was my 1st visit to Milton Keynes and I was very impressed, only saw 2 sets of traffic lights and 1 of those were switched off.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pearcey48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

The old stables is a small guest house just outside Milton Keynes

The rooms are large and clean.

I had a double room and it was more than adequate. There is a microwave and fridge provided in the lobby to make dinner if required.

There is not a bar or dinner available which is its only downside.. that said there is a harvester restaurant about 12 mins drive away so I got a take away from there including a few pints!!!

All in all what more can you need..

Breakfast is provided.

wifi is free
freeview tv
hair dryer
radio alarm
wide range of tea/coffee

For a top bonus I stayed in march when we have great 21 degree weather so I sat in the garden on provided furniture overlooking perfect countryside

Room Tip: I stayed in Basil Room which was ground floor and it was very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honeywell-Trev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woburn Sands
2.9 mi away
Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel (was Mercure Parkside House)
2.4 mi away
The Woburn Hotel
The Woburn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Woburn
559 reviews
3.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Best Western Moore Place Hotel
2.3 mi away
Longs Inn Hotel
Longs Inn Hotel
#2 of 3 in Woburn
224 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Stables

Property: The Old Stables
Address: Woodleys Farm Bow Brickhill Road, Woburn Sands, Milton Keynes MK17 8DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Milton Keynes > Woburn Sands
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Woburn Sands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Stables 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Old Stables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing