We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A new pub for us.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fir Tree Inn

The Fir Tree Inn
Ranked #5 of 12 Restaurants in Woburn Sands
Price range: US$4 - US$16
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Description: The pub has recently had a refurbishment, including a lick of paint inside and out with new external signage, a bar and restaurant refurbishment making it a great place to socialise with friends or have dinner, choosing something from the delicious new menu that we have created for you. The pub now offers great quality home-made food, a full selection of beers and wines, including locally brewed Bedford Cask Ales, Eagle IPA, Bombardier and regularly changing guest ales. Book today for a lovely dining experience.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
343 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“A new pub for us.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We visited on Saturday evening with friends for a casual dinner. The restaurant is next to the bar and is simply furnished. The bar was relatively empty as most customers seemed to be sitting outside enjoying the summer weather.
The menu selection was simple and affordable, with the food turning up well presented and tasty. I had some very nice tempura prawns with a sweet chilli sauce from the starters followed by a green Thai chicken curry from the pub favourites section. We all declined desserts, but the dessert menu looked uncomfortably like pre-made items in a Chinese restaurant.
All in all the evening was good, the service was efficient and friendly, the beers were good and our intention is to come back again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TrevMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    27
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Level Contributor
256 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Excellent - service, wine and food! I had the New York chicken which was very tasty and good price. Local ales available (although not my thing!)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank SouthamptonLynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Came here with my family and though it was fairly basic, we went for an early lunch, the food was quick to arrive and very good value for money.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank danmctele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Basic rooms but clean and welcoming”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Wanted to avoid staying at the numerous budget hotels in the area so was specifically looking something smaller with more character. This pub is a lovely pub, with great staff and as a lone traveller I didn't feel awkward at all having a quiet drink at the bar.
Rooms are very basic- reminded me of student accommodation- but it was clean and I had a good night sleep. The pub has clearly had a recent refurb, and I think if the management out a little effort into the rooms they would have a nice little money earner there.
Breakfast I the morning was delicious. A choice of cereals, and a delicious full English that I couldn't fault.
I would come back here, and would recommend this lovely pub in a really attractive village.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maytraveller24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Really nice, friendly pub serving good food. We were staying in the area and the hotel food was a bit pricy so we found the Fir Tree. We had an evening meal there, good service and big portions! Then came back for breakfast two days in a row, £7 for a large breakfast including tea/coffee, everything nicely cooked. Would highly recommend if staying in the area.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Creamytdevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fir Tree Inn also viewed

Woburn Sands, Milton Keynes
Woburn Sands, Milton Keynes
 
Woburn Sands, Milton Keynes
Aspley Guise, Bedfordshire
 

Been to The Fir Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing