We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Unforgettable - Hard As I Try”

Nonna's Woburn Sands
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Woburn Sands
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$28
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: An exciting new opportunity to indulge in the very best of Italian and Maltese cuisine. Fronted by the Delicatessen offering freshly baked bread and produce sourced from Italy and Malta. Additionally there will be regional dishes cooked on site by our Italian and Maltese chefs. The kitchen will offer authentic wood-oven baked Pizzas for takeaway or delivery. These Pizzas will also be available on the restaurant menu with pasta and mouth-watering daily specials.
Reviewed 7 August 2014

If you're looking for a local trattoria type atmosphere with a with a warm welcome, keep moving. We found the service abrupt and disinterested. The quality of the food was extremely disappointing (very chewy calamari and tasteless pasta). Champagne prices for flat beer food.
At no time did anyone ask if we were enjoying our meal or inquire if everything was OK when we had obviously left most of our meals.
Very cliquey with owner.staff chatting to what appeared to be regulars and not interested in other diners.
Wouldn't go back if it was the last restaurant in the county.
This is mild compared to the email I sent the restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ohidontknow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennaGeorge, Manager at Nonna's Woburn Sands, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

We were very disappointed to hear the comments within your view. We value ourselves on great food, and great service so please accept my apologies if neither of these were to your satisfaction. Of course, if we were made aware that you were not happy with the calamari and pasta we would of replaced these free of charge. The owner, Damien, takes a lot of time to speak to as many customers as possible in order to introduce himself and make sure things are running smoothly. We pride ourselves on giving a personal touch and we would love all customers to become 'regulars' so we are deeply sorry you felt that members of staff were cliquey. We have not received any email direct but please feel free to email enquiries@nonnaswoburnsands.co.uk if you wish to discuss anything further. We would hope that you would come back another time and hopefully enjoy your visit. Thanks for your feedback, Nonnas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (931)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

687 - 691 of 931 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

I have visited Nonna's twice with a relative. The first time, about three months ago, we had a lovely lunch, the food was good and the staff were lovely. We visited again this week and what a difference. We both had the Nonna's Antipasti Boards and my partner the Maltese Baked Risotto. Whilst my partner was very happy with his lunch, the Antipasti Boards were a disappointment. There was far too much olive oil on the board, which dripped off the edges and, consequently, through the slats on the table onto our clothes. The pot with the oil/balsamic was so full that when the bread was dipped in the oil overflowed and added to the puddle we already had. Such a shame as the food itself would have been wonderful if it wasn't for the abundance of oil. My relative was treating us and I know that they did recompense her, which was good, but the experience was spoiled by this issue.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Sheila-Phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennaGeorge, Manager at Nonna's Woburn Sands, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you were disappointed with your 2nd visit to Nonnas. We will pass on your comments about the olive oil and will make sure this does not happen in the future. We hope to see you again soon, thanks, Nonnas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Lovely Mediterranean food perfect. Just want to restaurant should be lovely atmosphere lovely service perfect food very reasonable price

Thank Peg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennaGeorge, Manager at Nonna's Woburn Sands, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We hope to see you again soon, Thanks, Nonnas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My husband and I went on a Friday evening, on a deal from a discount site (2 starters, 2 mains and a glass of wine each).The tables are close together, but it still felt intimate. The atmosphere was lively, with lots of chatter and background music. We were offered a glass of house wine (red, rose or white - we chose red) although the offer gave the impression there were several wines to choose from. In the event it did not matter as the house wine was delicious! Service was attentive without being intrusive, and the food was lovely. I am vegetarian and my only gripe is that one of the pasta dishes was labelled as vegetarian, but clearly ham was one of the main ingredients. At 9pm, the lights were dimmed and the waiting staff began to put candles on the tables - lovely! Would recommend this for a couple or a group - probably not a family, although lunch time might be different and they do cater for little ones as high chairs were in evidence. Definitely book, it appears very popular!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mumsybears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennaGeorge, Manager at Nonna's Woburn Sands, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you for leaving a lovely review. We are very glad you enjoyed your evening with us using your discount voucher. We apologise about the mistake on our menu with the Vegetarian dish. We will certainly get this updated as soon as we can. We hope to see you again soon, Thanks, Nonnas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Having enjoyed a lovely wedding reception at Nonna's in April, my husband and I decided to invite 30 of our friends to join us to celebrate a special birthday. We were able to offer our friends a very varied choice of dishes for a three course lunch and we had an excellent wine list to choose several wines from, which everyone enjoyed. As we were blessed with the weather we were able to have a pre-lunch reception outside with aperitifs and canapés. The staff were friendly, helpful and efficient and our guests all said how much they had enjoyed the lunch and the warm friendly atmosphere. Thank you Damien and your staff for making my birthday special.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennaGeorge, Manager at Nonna's Woburn Sands, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We were glad to be part of your special occasions and we hope to see you back at Nonnas again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nonna's Woburn Sands also viewed

Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
Newport Pagnell, Milton Keynes
 
Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to Nonna's Woburn Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing