We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply Lovely” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nonna's Woburn Sands

Nonna's Woburn Sands
Ranked #1 of 12 Restaurants in Woburn Sands
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: An exciting new opportunity to indulge in the very best of Italian and Maltese cuisine. Fronted by the Delicatessen offering freshly baked bread and produce sourced from Italy and Malta. Additionally there will be regional dishes cooked on site by our Italian and Maltese chefs. The kitchen will offer authentic wood-oven baked Pizzas for takeaway or delivery. These Pizzas will also be available on the restaurant menu with pasta and mouth-watering daily specials.
Woburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Simply Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

At last we got round to trying Nonna's and we are so glad we did. Whilst not the most exhaustive menu, there was no need for it to be. The choice was varied and interesting, and the wine list was very well thought out.

Our meal was excellent and the service matched the meal. Very attentive but not overbearing. A great choice of Scillian red wine help the evening to be just right.

Nonna's will definitely be our restaurant of choice in the village now. Relaxing bistro style with great food.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ianntaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennaGeorge, Manager at Nonna's Woburn Sands, responded to this review, 20 October 2014
What a lovely review! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your comments. We are so pleased to read you were impressed with the food and service. We hope you will be back to see us soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    482
    147
    71
    37
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penarth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely evening! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

ANOTHER fabulous evening at Nonna's! Best food, cocktails and service around! Already booked to come back in a couple of weeks!!

Helpful?
Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennaGeorge, Manager at Nonna's Woburn Sands, responded to this review, 20 October 2014
We are so pleased to hear you have eaten with us on more than one occasion and have been impressed. Thanks for taking the time to leave us your review. We hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely occasion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

My family and I decided to give Nonna's ago after all the positive feedback I'd heard. We had a lovely dinner accompanied with excellent service. All in all a great dinning experience for all of us. Will definitely be back!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Clemena3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennaGeorge, Manager at Nonna's Woburn Sands, responded to this review, 20 October 2014
Thanks for such a lovely review. We hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disappointing Lunch, not reccommended!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Trip Advisor reviews & a discount voucher led us to Nonnas. Sat in bar area. No real interest from two bar staff. Uncomfortable seating & had to prompt staff. Donnas platters were prepared behind the bar. Food was disappointing, meagre & not very enjoyable. The food was on display by the bar and not in the best of condition. Won't be back. Even worse we didn't redeem our voucher!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennaGeorge, Manager at Nonna's Woburn Sands, responded to this review, 20 October 2014
We are thoroughly disappointed to read your review. I'm so sorry that you did not enjoy the food. If we were aware of your dis-satisfaction on the night you were with us we would of done our absolute best to rectify this for you. We hope you will give us another try in the future and hopefully you will see what great food we have to offer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woburn Sands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lost for words as to how bad it was...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We went here today for lunch with my family and I could not be more disappointed....truly a terrible experience on all counts.

The service and food was shockingly bad from beginning to end...

- We were ignored for about five minutes when we arrived...there were three staff there...but they were too busy wrapping cutlery!
- When we managed to interrupt them we were abruptly told to go to the 'main entrance'...we were not however shown or told where it was!
- When at the 'main entrance' (which is in the centre of the building...which you reach by walking behind the counter - super obvious!!)...a number of staff just walked passed and continuously ignored us....without even an acknowledgment....someone seated the people in front of us...oh and then just left us there...
- I then asked someone to seat us...who did and then left
- The glasses on the table were dirty and chipped and the general area was dirty...
- After 10-15 minutes I got fed up waiting to ask for a drink so accosted someone again to request some sort of service....no apology or acknowledgment that they had not been over...but we got the drink...
- the rest of the party arrived...and then we all got to sit there and to wait half an hour to have our food order and drinks for the rest of the party....and as you can guess - we were only served when we asked to be...oh and of course there was no apology or acknowledgment!
- the person that did serve us for most of our visit was rude and I would go as far as saying had an attitude...if you are unhappy in your job - I don't expect to know about it or have to pay for knowing about it...
- the toilets were messy, with the cleaning log being signed once a day...rather than the industry standard one can hour
- the pump soap in the ladies wasn't soap...it was the bottle filled up with water
- you would have hoped that the food could have saved the visit...I guess I could say it was hot at least - dry, over cooked and no taste
- the bad service continued and all we have been left with is a bad taste in our mouths...

It was terrible, no excuse for the poor levels of service - and if it is to be implied that the staff were too busy or having a bad day...no good staff or management (if there) - would have delivered such shocking service or employed people that would deliver such bad service.

I would seriously recommend people not too go to nonnas...

I'm very disappointed and wish I had spent my time and money elsewhere.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank J92014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennaGeorge, Manager at Nonna's Woburn Sands, responded to this review, 20 October 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lengthy review. We are certainly very disappointed by the comments and we are very sorry you didn't enjoy your lunch with us.
There is absolutely no excuse for you to of been 'ignored' by any members of staff and this is not our standard practise or work ethic of the people we employ.

In regards to a few of your comments I feel I must set the record straight:
- the 'main' entrance to the restaurant are the double doors leading into the budiling from our car park. However, if customers come to the wrong entrance we do allow them to walk through the building as apposed to walking around
- we do not normally receive comments about dirty and chipped glasses. We spend a huge amount of money on ensuring we are fully stocked with quality table wear and all glasses are usually thoroughly cleaned and inspected by the owner
- the industry standards for full toilet cleaning - is once daily, hence the log being signed off for this. However, the toilets are inspected by a member of staff every hour to ensure they are in a presentable way. I apologise if you found the toilet area messy. It only takes one person to leave a hand towel on the floor for this to look like the case...

We are extremely disappointed you didn't enjoy your food. We have hired very experienced chefs and normally receive great reviews about the cooking and variety of dishes on offer.
In regards to the staffing issues - we have just employed some fantastic new members and are focusing on offering really great customer service.
We hope you do return one day and we can hopefully give you a much better dining experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nonna's Woburn Sands also viewed

Great Horwood, Milton Keynes
Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
 
Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to Nonna's Woburn Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing