We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Tuscan dream”
other traveller has booked this property
Twilight and 800 years of history comes to life
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Twilight and 800 years of history comes to life
Breakfast on the terrace whilst the Housemartins dance overhead . And the view ...
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
Twilight and 800 years of history comes to life
Breakfast on the terrace whilst the Housemartins dance overhead .
And the view ...
How we look from the other side of the valley
chapel from apse end
Lola escapes from Tuscan sun to the cool stone flags of our restored 13th century chapel.
Movies projected in the chapel
New doors for the chapel designed and made by the owners
upstairs in the chapel- library and seating
Once the cantina , now a professional kitchen
Breakfast inside.....
open fire cooking
Double ensuite with dawn views
double with pool view
family room or double
twin or king size
All rooms ensuite with bath or shower
Swi with the sun coming up
Pool yoga
To infinity and beyond .....
inspired? view from the ceramic workshop
Throw a pot in Tuscany
courses in glass casting
15th century Fabbriche di Vallico is a walk away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chateau -
8 Bedrooms, 9 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Province of Lucca, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
anna108cp...
Copenhagen Region, Denmark
1 review
“A Tuscan dream”
Reviewed 18 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had an unforgettable weekend at this exceptional place, located in the indisputably most beautiful part of Tuscany.
We enjoyed the peacefulness of the house, the stunning view, the alluring saltwater pool, and not least the unsurpassed company of the hosts and our fellow guests - over amazing dinners and breakfasts – everybody contributing with so much humor and wit, it feels like you brought your own favorite crowd with you.
Though the nearby town of Lucca is among the finest in Italy, and a must visit, it is hard to find motivation to leave the monastery once there - there is simply no place you’d rather be!
We will be back as soon and as much as possible!

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lucyrob20...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful holiday and wonderful hosts - i'll be back!”
Reviewed 15 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We all had a fantastic holiday at Romiti and can't wait to come back next year. Steven and Lindsay are the perfect hosts, and made the trip so special. They cooked us delicious dinners and gave us lots of advice on the area. It is a beautiful and relaxing place, with lovely big rooms and a stunning pool.
Even my 4 year old nice cried on the way home because she didn't want to leave!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeroenOud...
Oudewater, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Something to look forward and look back to.”
Reviewed 4 August 2015 for a stay in August 2014

First of all my apologies for this late review. We stayed with Stev and Lindsay in august 2014.

We found this place by accident on www and it turned out to be the suprise of that year. It contains of aold monistry with surrounding buildings in a whole different Tuscany we experienced up untill that time. Since it is northern Tuscany the surroundings contain mostly woods and beautiful mountains wher you can hike, fish or bike. The medival village of Fabbriche di Vallico is at 700 meter down hill, a nice hike with several shops and restaurants. The property itself is absolutely stunningly renovated, with nice and comfortable rooms. Breakfast and diner were homemade with lots of love.

Close to Lucca and Pisa. thanks so much Steve and Lindsay for a marvelous week and all the laughs at the kitchen table. Hope to see you next year in May!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The surroundings the company and the food
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A delightful recently opened hidden gem.”
Reviewed 20 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Artists, Glassblowers, and Potters Steven Newell and Lyndsey Henderson have lovingly renovated this amazing historic property, and are finding their feet as hosts and entertainers. We descended on Romiti, ill and in need of recuperation, planning to stay 5 days, and stayed 10. Great food round the enormous kitchen table, entertaining conversation, good wine and local produce. Relaxing by the pool, and walks to Fabriche Di Vallico. Stunning views, and cinema in the deconsecrated chapel in the evening, whilst admiring Steven and Lyndsey's recently installed glass windows. Potting, art and glassblowing are ever present. Let's just hope it retains it's enormous charm, as it catches on, as a great value place to relax.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitrios...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An amazing place!”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Me and my partner visited I Romiti del Torrente at the end of June-beginning of July. It is about 30 minutes drive from Lucca situated high up on a mountain in the Garfagnana region of Tuscany. The owners renovated this tiny dilapidated hamlet and have created an amazing space that blends in with the surroundings and keeps all the traditional features. Our room was tastefully decorated and was super comfortable, while all the communal areas are simply beautiful. In addition, the food was simply exceptional.

We love nature and the outdoors and that's why we chose to stay there. We were really happy with our choice as we had the opportunity to go for a few jogs, go for a couple of long half day hikes in the surrounding mountains, and most importantly enjoy the amazing outdoor pool with breathtaking views of the surrounding mountains.

There is a village 10-15 minutes walk down the mountain called Fabbriche di Vallico that has a couple of shops and a really good Italian restaurant that we had dinner there one night. We also managed to fit in a couple of half-day trips to Lucca which is absolutely beautiful.

All in all a fantastic place and a most relaxing holiday.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rainer B
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunningly beautiful and blissfully relaxing”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

The perfect get-away place in the beautiful mountains of Tuscany. This monastery has been lovingly restored to a high-end finish. Chilling by the pool with the only background sound being bird songs and the wind rustling in the trees, as it is some distance from a main street or other dwellings, being situated high up, offering sublime views across the valley.
The kitchen and dining room are spacious and equipped to satisfy any chef's desires and there even is an out-door pizza oven!
The restored church is grand and awe-inspiring with a library in the loft to chill out in, that overlooks the space. We watched the football on the big screen - projected onto the church's wall!
The host is incredibly friendly and easy-going. The food was delicious and of the highest quality. People in the small local village and its shops are also super friendly (around 15 minutes walk down the hill) and there is also a superb restaurant there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dora W
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful retreat”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We stayed here for one week and could've stayed for a month! The rooms were classic and spacious, and the place was very peaceful. The swimming pool was great and made it a bit hard to leave! Steven and Lindsey were lovely hosts and the food was amazing (especially the homemade pizza from the pizza oven). The local village is a short walk and there are also wonderful places to ear nearby. We'll definitely be back and would thoroughly recommend it.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing