We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A tranquil cottage with stunning views and...”

Review of Pian di Luca

Unbeatable view - swim in the mountains!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Unbeatable view - swim in the mountains!
Just relax! Wood oven - make your own pizza or ask the owner to come and do it for you!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Unbeatable view - swim in the mountains!
Just relax!
Wood oven - make your own pizza or ask the owner to come and do it for you!
Extensive gardens - great for children as gated
Fantastic backdrop!
Dine al fresco in the shade
'Pian di Luca'
Romantic stone cottage viewed from pool area
Infinity style private pool
Pool with relaxing area
Swim in the reflection of the mountains...
Kitchen diner - traditional Tuscan, but well equipped
Dining area
Living/kitchen/diner with fireplace and beamed ceilings
Double bedroom
Shower room
Shower room
Local town of Careggine
Pania della Croce
The Fortress of Mont Alfonso
Market town of Castelnuovo di Garfagnana
Local festas during the summer season
Hill top town of Barga
Visit the stunning Marble Quarries
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Province of Lucca, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
truantone
Torphins, United Kingdom
1 review
“A tranquil cottage with stunning views and beautiful surroundings in the Apuan Alps”
Reviewed 21 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

My son (aged 4 and a half) and I spent two very happy weeks in Pian di Luca in July 2016. From the warm welcome from our hosts (including a gift of some of their own wine) to the 3.45am departure for Pisa, we were able to relax and enjoy this very untouristy corner of Tuscany.
The cottage is excellent; comfortable and easy to manage; the gardens extensive and fenced all round. The swimming pool is the obvious feature and it is even better than the photographs in the ads showed!
The property is off the beaten track at around 900m - about 300m above the Serchio valley and Castelnuovo the nearest town, yet only around 1.5 hours from Pisa airport. It is set in a magnificent location however, surrounded by chestnut forests, with very quiet roads, ideal for an evening stroll. My son was delighted to find wild strawberries growing on the roadside and this discovery gave him a further incentive to walk.
There are many interesting and varied places to visit and explore within easy reach; all very laid-back and relaxed. Lucca is within easy reach so a must for fans and disciples of Puccini. Mostly everything is in Italian, very welcoming and, as I mentioned already, this not a 'tourist' area. But wherever you travel, you are aware of the Apuan Alps; every day they are different and everyday they are stunningly beautiful.
Perhaps not for everybody but if you welcome and relish being somewhat off the beaten track, if you are seeking tranquillity in stunning surroundings (with a swimming pool!) and a cottage in Garfagnana that is comfortable and homely, well cared for by welcoming hosts, then this could be the one for you.
My son and I would certainly and absolutely recommend it without a second's hesitation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and tranquility
Liked least: The notice board in the garden with local info. Would be improved if removed.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2016
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. We are glad to hear you love this wonderful place as much as we do! it is very popular for all the reasons you have detailed. Fantastic that you enjoyed the countryside together! Best wishes Lorraine at Tuscan-retreats.co.uk and Benito at housesintuscany.net
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2015 for a stay in September 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The remote location and the views
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 11 September 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
18 Sep 2015
Thank you for your review. We are glad you loved this special place! The owners would love to have you again...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
60paul47
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“the pictures say it all its beautiful”
Reviewed 17 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

this place is amazing from the brilliantly presented farm house to the infinity pool and the mountain views,
the place was lovely and clean and we were presented with some local wines on arrival
all the pictures show this place as it is perfect peaceful and relaxing
the owner is a lovely man who gave up an evening to make us pizzas and then showed us how to make our own
his daughter was also very helpful with a few queries passed to her by text
the whole experience has chilled us out immensely and we are looking to rebook very soon

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudsons05
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful house in an amazing setting”
Reviewed 17 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

I have just come back from a week here with my husband and our friends. The house really does look like the pictures. We had a fabulous stay,very picturesque and peaceful. Spent our days either exploring the mountains or sunning ourselves around the pool and the evenings star gazing while drinking the local wine. We had an evening with the owner Paolo who cooked us the most delicious pizzas.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing