We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Strathkinness
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mansedale House B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Stayed at the Mansdale House with my new wife. Doug and Elaine are the sweetest people. They made the visit special. They didn't have to, but they spent there time making our short stay a special one. If you are going to stay in St. Andrews, then stay with Doug and Elaine!

Room Tip: The room was great. Ask for the Doocot, but I bet the other two options are great too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 280 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2012

My new husband & I stayed in the Doocot room during our stay & it was better than perfect! Our room was clean with all new appliances and B&B location was great. But the best part was the hospitality of Elaine & Doug...they made delicious breakfasts, recommended places for sightseeing, and were overall cheery & so kind! This was possibly our favorite place that we stayed while on our honeymoon in the UK! If we ever make it back to St. Andrews there is no other place we would stay. Thank you again Elaine & Doug!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maderrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Our stay at Mansedale House was superb. We used it as a base for four nights and it enhanced our trip immensely. A colleague and I were on a golfing trip and were seeking two ensuite rooms. We were warnly welcomed, despite a very late arrival, and the rooms are fresh and immaculate. Knowing that we are golfers, the host already had our tvs tuned on to the last hour of the Masters. The rooms are spacious, quiet, and have every convenience. Breakfast is excellent, done to order, and timed at our convenience. The Gilberts - Douglas and Elaine - were eager to provide any advice we sought on things to see.
We give our highest recommendation to this B&B. A wonderful experience.

Room Tip: we only saw the rooms in the carriage house, which have been beautifully renovated. the rooms are fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pdawson53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Spent a night in the Mansedale on a cycling trip en-route to Edinburgh and enjoyed the stay - Very nice accommodation, the proprietors were very friendly, and the breakfast was second to none.

Will be back for sure

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElginMadBiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Our trip to St. Andrews was made the lovelier for our stay at the Mansedale House B&B. Elaine and Douglas were the perfect hosts and helpful beyond the call of duty with regards to my requirements as a person with disability. Our room was the Neuk, which was situated in the cottage, beautiful, bright with attention to detail and style. A lovely selection of breakfast foods ranging from fresh fruits, to smoked salmon and traditional Full Scottish Breakfast was very delicious. We will return hopefully sooner than later.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlasgowMissHoneyBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

I stayed in Mansedale House for the second time last month.Its a breath of fresh air.
I slept in the Neuk room in the cottage,it is tastefully decorated,fresh and bright.
The en suite is beautifull and really has the best shower i have ever had in a B & B let alone a hotel...
Breakfast is lovely with a large variety of choice & The Eggs benidict is a must.
I would highly recommend this B & B to anyone.
I will definately be back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grant s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Totally agree with what others have said about the warmth of the welcome, quality of food and standard of the accomodation. Elaine and Dougie are great hosts, with a wealth of suggestions of what to do for both golfers and the rest of us(!).

Wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank mike t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strathkinness
20.4 mi away
34 Argyle Street Guesthouse
34 Argyle Street Guesthouse
#1 of 73 in St Andrews
274 reviews
17.3 mi away
Knockhill Farm Bed & Breakfast
Knockhill Farm Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 6 in Strathkinness
122 reviews
20.6 mi away
Fairways of St Andrews
Fairways of St Andrews
#7 of 73 in St Andrews
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa
18.5 mi away
Eden Mansion
Eden Mansion
#4 of 73 in St Andrews
118 reviews
20.8 mi away
No12 Bed & Breakfast
No12 Bed & Breakfast
#8 of 73 in St Andrews
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansedale House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansedale House B&B

Address: 35 Main Street, Strathkinness, St Andrews KY16 9RY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews > Strathkinness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Strathkinness
Price Range: £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Mansedale House B&B Strathkinness, St Andrews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing