We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would highly recommend this B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Strathkinness
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mansedale House B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Tain, United Kingdom
1 review
“Would highly recommend this B&B”
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We have stayed in many B&B's over recent years and Mansedale House would be one of the best. It was spacious, comfortable, elegant, relaxing and very friendly without being intrusive. Thank you Dougie and Elaine! We would certainly stay there again and be happy to recommend it to others.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeatriceW889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
57
123
5
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland,UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Just returned from an overnight in Mansedale House where we were made so welcome by Elaine and her husband. They kindly accommodated us by allowing us to enter a little earlier to change for a wedding. The rooms were very comfortable, clean and tastefully decorated. Lots of space, delicious breakfast , would certainly return and good value. Thank you.

Room Tip: The small cottage has two rooms which is self contained and ideal for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemfinding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Review is slightly overdue but worth mentioning that this place offers a warm welcome and the self-contained unit was perfect for our family during the Christmas break.
Clean and comfortable with quality fittings, it was our first experience of staying in a B&B but if other providers raise their game then these type of establishments deserve to do well.
It's not cheap but quality comes at a price and we're sure to return when visiting family again in the future. Good breakfast with probably the best fruit salad - ever!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAndrews
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Mansedale B & B from the 3rd to 5th of January 2013. There is very little i can add that has not already been said. But all i can add is try it for yourselves.

The B & B is luxury & we have stayed is some of the best hotels all over the world. The room would not be amiss in a 5***** hotel. Rooms are very modern with lots of nice little touches.

The owners Douglas & Elaine are wonderful hosts who go out of their way to help anyone. Breakfast is a must, with a huge range to choose from. All cooked freshly for you.

On recommendation from Douglas & Elaine we dined at the Strathkinness Tavern which is a 5 minute walk up the hill.

We both had a lovely meal (the cajun salmon) is to die for. And again a very nice & friendly experience.

I am originally from the area & frequently visit St Andrews for family visits, golf etc. I will certainly be using the Mansedale again if available. Especially in the summer as the garden looks fantastic, with areas to sit out in.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank william62StAndrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 December 2012

Everything is wonderful. Elaine and Douglas have very warm and good hospitality.
We have three people staying in Doocot Room, where is so big and so comfortable. The bath room is so modern and the garden is so delightful.

Mansedale House offers much more value than the price.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haihong C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Excellent B&B.

Cosy, modern and warm. Adequate off-street parking. Good food, cooked to order. Easy striking distant from St Andrews and a wonderful pub/restaurant with in walking distance.

What more could you want?

Room Tip: We stayed in the Doocot which is slightly larger room, although up a flight of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oscar007Bradford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hatfield, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Elaine and Douglas, wonderful hosts. We stayed in the Laroch. It was a delightful room with french doors leading to the garden with an amazing gazebo. The gardens were delightful. The bathroom decor was amazing. The bed was super comfortable and the breakfasts were fabulous. We'd been in Scotland a week already and Elaine had our laundry picked up, washed, folded and delivered back to our room while we were touring Edinburgh Castle. How can you beat that? Am amazing hostess.

Room Tip: Any room here will be a great room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Himself13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strathkinness
3.0 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#13 of 17 in St Andrews
676 reviews
5.7 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St Andrews
3,197 reviews
3.3 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#3 of 17 in St Andrews
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Knockhill Farm Bed & Breakfast
Knockhill Farm Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 6 in Strathkinness
110 reviews
2.1 mi away
Eden Mansion
Eden Mansion
#4 of 72 in St Andrews
105 reviews
3.6 mi away
No12 Bed & Breakfast, St Andrews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansedale House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansedale House B&B

Property: Mansedale House B&B
Address: 35 Main Street, Strathkinness, St Andrews KY16 9RY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews > Strathkinness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Strathkinness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Mansedale House B&B Strathkinness, St Andrews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing