We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Hosts” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mansedale House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Strathkinness
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mansedale House B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Dumfries, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Stayed at Mansedale House B&B on a number of ocasions and never been disapointed. The acommadation is excellent situated of the main house leading onto a beautiful garden with gazebo.Breakfast was all you could wish for with a superb choice with cooked and continental options.Hosts Doug and Elaine go that extra mile to make your stay perfect.Located just a short drive from St Andrews ideal for anyone visiting the area.I would definitely recommend a stay at Mansedale House.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alistair m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
53
118
5
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed at Mansedale House for one night in early August 2013 at the end of our trip to Scotland. What a nice way to end our trip, in a beautiful B&B with wonderful hosts, a great room, and delicious food only 5 minutes for fabulous St. Andrews. If you don't mind being a few miles outside of downtown this is the place to stay. It was a very quick and easy ride into town and we had no trouble finding parking. We stayed in the Laroch room and it was wonderful as many others have reviewed. I would definitely recommend the Mansedale House!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ptaconrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

What can I say...this b&b is an exceptional beauty. We stayed in the Laroch room which was stunning. Very high spec finishings, separate building from the main house and had French doors which led out to the beautifully manicured gardens where we sat and drank wine in the heated gazebo. Breakfast was beautiful excellent choices but you really can't stop eating the cooked breakfast as the ingredients are so good. Without a doubt this b&b is the best I've stayed in and within 5 minutes drive into St Andrews it's a must! Don't hesitate you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reidlynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed Elaine and Douglas' Hospitality for two nights while visiting the St. Andrews area. The accomodations were immaculate and the breakfast was divine. Our hosts were also very helpful with local suggestions. Would absolutely visit again should the opportunity arise!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank winetourgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

We spent five delightful nights in Strathkinness during Saint Andrew's graduation week (end of June - book NOW for next year). There are plenty of posts regarding all the delightful aspects of this B&B to which we concur wholeheartedly (notably: the excellent hospitality of Doug and Elaine, the 5* breakfasts (start with the fruit salad … yum!), fantastic shower, lovely towel warmer, convenient parking, umbrellas, plenty of water bottles, …). What made our visit extra special was that there are several B&Bs in Strathkinness (all a short walk from each other, all highly rated). We were 4 couples, including ourselves, and almost every evening, we assembled in the gazebo right outside our room (the Laroch) - sometimes to enjoy a takeaway meal, other times just for a nightcap. The local pub, the Tavern, is everything you could ask for in a local pub – we booked a table for our graduation dinner and the evening (and meal) did not disappoint us ☺
Strathkinness is a lovely village with easy access to St Andrews as well as easy access to the whole of Fife - by car, bus, or taxi.
Thanks, Doug & Elaine!

Room Tip: The Laroch in the small cottage has a lovely garden view and direct access to the gazebo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FotosVeritas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

This is the second time that I have stayed at the Mansdale house B&B and can only repeat what other people who have stayed there have said. This B&B is probably the best I have ever stayed in during the many golfing trips that I have made over a number of years. Although not in St Andrews the huge advantage here is that there is free parking which can be a major problem in St Andrews especially during the tourist season, Also after a good days golf it is especially nice to be able to return to Mansdale house and relax in the beautiful garden with a cold beer and if there is enough energy left have a walk up to the pub in the village which serves excellent food. The owners of the B&B Dougy and Elaine are the perfect hosts and nothing is too much trouble for them and the breakfast that they serve up could not be beaten in a 5* hotel with a wide range of freshly prepared food. Having stayed in two different rooms I can say that both were exceptionally well appointed and very clean and due to its village location very quite. Certainly anyone looking to stay in this region of Scotland should give Mansdale House a try as I am sure you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stuartandmargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

I would not normally stay at a b&b let alone give a review, but after my stay in Strathkinness I thought I would give fellow travellers my opinion of the Mansdedale House.
This B&B was recommended to me by a friend who had used it before on a golf trip.
This was a first class establishment, far better than most hotels I have stayed in. Rooms were lovely and well equipped (showers were fantastic).
Very nice people who made us all very welcome and gave good advice on where to eat etc. Pity the proprietor could not help with my golf.
I will be back next year and will recommend all my friends to stay there while in Scotland.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank golfer1605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strathkinness
1.4 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#1 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#3 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,217 reviews
5.7 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,932 reviews
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#11 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansedale House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansedale House B&B

Property: Mansedale House B&B
Address: 35 Main Street, Strathkinness, St Andrews KY16 9RY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews > Strathkinness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Strathkinness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Mansedale House B&B Strathkinness, St Andrews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing