We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great campsite”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Strathkinness
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nydie Caravan & Camping Site
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great campsite”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is the second time I have stayed at Nydie. My boys love wild camping as they can have a campfire. I like the amenities of a campsite but they don't let you have campfires. Nydie is perfect as they hire out fire pits for a couple of pounds so a great compromise for my boys. My first visit was marred by neighbours from hell who pitched up next to us. I would have stayed another night if it wasn't for them. When the owner found out she couldn't have been more apologetic and offered to move us/them as well as having a word with the offenders.

No such problems this year. Lovely quiet pitch (we were offered a choice of all the available ones). Owners are very helpful and will open their wee shop out with the opening hours if you speak nicely! Facilities are always clean and the owner told me they're pitting in a new toilet/shower block for next year. The location is excellent and just a short drive/cycle into St Andrews which is such a lovely place to wander around.

Room Tip: The electric pitches tend to be busy so a bit noisy when trying to get to sleep. The lower pitches b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    27
    12
    5
    3
See reviews for
42
11
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dalgety Bay, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Spent a night at this camp site with family to try our new tent . The camp site is very clean , good shower / wash facilities . Little shop selling essentials . Good , safe area for kids to play and in full view from tent . Great views over the bay .

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Muir43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This is a great campsite with fantastic views. All the facilities needed for a family as our little one was only 2 and a half at the time of visiting. The swings, shoot and football pitch provided ample space activity to keep the kids entertained in a safe environment. Toilets and wash facilities were clean and the site in general was very well maintained. The pitches are close together but are large enough for a family tent and a couple of cars. A great couple of nights were had and there is plenty around and about. I would definitely recommend some fish and chips from the Anstruther Fish Bar.

Steve - Aberdeen

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve_Christie1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leven, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

this was a good campsite but tents were close together so expect some noise. the tent pitches have small windbreaks if you book a pitch they look onto a football park that the kids can play till there hearts content. the toilet blocks are clean along with the washing area for your dishes. The only fault i had was there was no good walks unless you used the car to get to them. The road that leads from the campsite is small but cars speed up and down there is a small freindly pub at the bottom of the road so all is not bad. all in all a good campsite

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david2508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a super night at Nydie, stayed in a woodwam. Great space and a beautiful view over St Andrews. Woodwam had everything we needed - fridge, DVD player so we could watch a film. Family who owned site were very helpful - will definitively return and highly recommend!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 2015Sarahsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Earl Shilton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We just stayed at Nydie for the one night and wished we could of stayed longer. Lovely campsite near to st Andrews. The pitches are arranged around a large open play area which was brilliant for the kids. You could see them at all times from the tent. Electric hook-ups are available. large pitches available for supersized tents. clean toilet and shower blocks, free hairdryers. nice area to wash up dishes and washer/dryer available. Best of all you can hire a fire pit and have a camp fire, bags of logs can be bought on site. this alone made it great; as I think camping is all about the fire and marshmallows!!! all in all everything you need and want at a campsite!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We hired two woodwams for the weekend. They were amazing! Each woodwam was perfect for a family of four. Really clean and perfectly situated with a great view over the bay (a couple of miles away). A nice, well kept and relatively small site with all the facilities you need for a short break. About 1 mile from Strathkinness and 3 to St Andrews, this is a great spot for a holiday in the area. We rented a fire pit and really enjoyed sitting round it in the evening. A magic weekend & we'd definitely go back.

Room Tip: A woodwam or "bring your own"
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CliffMann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strathkinness
5.4 mi away
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Drumoig Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumoig
209 reviews
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#6 of 17 in St Andrews
340 reviews
6.6 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St Andrews
3,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#1 of 17 in St Andrews
1,127 reviews
3.5 mi away
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa
3.0 mi away
David Russell Apartments
David Russell Apartments
#11 of 17 in St Andrews
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nydie Caravan & Camping Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nydie Caravan & Camping Site

Property: Nydie Caravan & Camping Site
Address: Knockhill of Nydie, Strathkinness, St Andrews KY16 9SL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews > Strathkinness
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Strathkinness
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Nydie Caravan & Camping Site Strathkinness, St Andrews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing