We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Homely”
Review of Hawthorne House

Hawthorne House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Strathkinness
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hawthorne House
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Homely”
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights to attend a wedding. Very welcoming owners (Ann and Roy) and Ann very kindly delivered us to wedding venue. Room had everything we needed and being at the back of the house was very quiet so good sleep was had! Breakfast was very good apart from 'leathery' bacon (maybe just an off day). A short drive takes you into St Andrews and a drive then a stroll along the sands is a must. Good selection of shops and attractions. For our evening meal we went to the 'local' Tavern. The food was excellent. No hesitation in recommending this B & B.

Room Tip: Twin room at back........very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    11
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
32
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Stayed at Hawthorne House for four nights on business. It is a delightful small B & B in a very attractive location with private off-road parking. My room was ensuite and it was very comfortable with a TV, free wi-fi, tea & coffee making facilities and immaculately clean.
Roy and Anne are excellent hosts - nothing is too much trouble and the breakfasts are fantastic.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Hawthorne House during our visit to St. Andrews on 17th Aug.'12.It was the first time we stayed at a B&B, so we were a little apprehensive, but all of us enjoyed our short stay and wanted to stay a few more days there. The rooms were very comfortable and every little detail was taken care of. Very clean and well appointed bathrooms, lovely breakfast and above all our wonderful host and hostess, Roy and Anne!Would love to stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jhumpa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Stayed in Hawthorne house Friday 3rd august with my partner and his brother the rooms were excellent and the owners Anne and Roy were brilliant the breakfast was excellent would book to stay there again in a heartbeat it was brilliant thanks again for wonderful stay Home from Home thanks again

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerrimall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

stayed for one night a party of three for a wedding the owners anne and roy were really lovely people the rooms were lovely and bed was very comfy the breakfast in the morning was first class wish i had booked for another night it was that good it is the best bed and breakfast ive stayed in .

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkcaldy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Hawthorne House is very homely with friendly, welcoming hosts. We were attending a wedding nearby and our hostess, Ann, very kindly drove us to the venue. allowing us to leave our car. Our room was very comfortable and the breakfast was excellent. It is in an ideal location for exploring St Andrews and the East Neuk of Fife.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricky022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

I stayed 5 nights in Hawthorn House and was made very welcome and comfortable by both Ann and Roy, who allowed me to use their fridge for all my diabetic kit. Breakfasts are excellent and rooms very good. There is private parking round the back or you can park on the road. Apart from The Tavern, there isn't anywhere to eat in Strathkinness but St Andrews is only 5 - 7 minutes drive away. Its a good place from where to explore the whole of Fife.

Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Robert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strathkinness
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#5 of 17 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
3.0 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#11 of 17 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 17 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#6 of 17 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
1.2 mi away
Knockhill Farm Bed & Breakfast
Knockhill Farm Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 6 in Strathkinness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
3.6 mi away
No12 Bed & Breakfast, St Andrews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorne House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorne House

Property: Hawthorne House
Address: 33 Main Street, Strathkinness, St Andrews KY16 9RY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews > Strathkinness
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Strathkinness
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawthorne House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Hawthorne House Strathkinness, St Andrews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing