We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Evening meal review”

The Tavern at Strathkinness
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

My husband and I are on holiday at St Andrews and had the Tavern recommended. It did not disappoint.
On arrival the bar area was quirky and I had a lovely read of the entertaining and humours plaques on the wall. The tavern was clean, staff were friendly and the bar was well stocked:
The gentleman at the bar gave us a warm friendly welcome. We had a drink in the bar and then went through to the back area for dinner.
Tables were clean, the lady that served us (possibly owner) was very efficient and professional.
The meals were delicious. Food was beautifully cooked, it was hot and generous portions. Well done to the chef!
Waiting staff were pleasant, chatty and approachable.i would recommend to anyone looking for good food and a warm welcome.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Emma Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (469)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 469 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2018 via mobile

Enjoyed dinner with friends on a visit to St Andrews. Great selection of specials as well as the standard menu. Food well prepared and tasty. Good choice of drinks including malt of the week. Will be back on next visit to the area.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018


We went for dinner here, a bit outside of St. Andrews.

Food: A- Everything served was delicious and well made.

Ambience: B+ Part of the building looks like a pub, the other part like a nice casual restaurant. Comfortable.

Service: A The service was quick and friendly.

Cleanliness: Very clean

I will eat here again. Make reservations, not a huge place.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Maria35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

We had a lovely meal at the Tavern at Strathkinness. The food was hot and very big portions. I like the that the food is cooked to order. It has a nice view on a clear night.We will be back.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank anstuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

Very good food in a nice environment and gentle owners. We had to make a reservation, but it is worth the effort

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank federico p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Tavern at Strathkinness also viewed

 

Been to The Tavern at Strathkinness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing