We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”

The Tavern at Strathkinness
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 7 September 2018 via mobile

During a recent holiday in Crail we visited the Tavern for dinner. Friendly welcome, excellent menus with great selection of dishes. We settled on haggis stuffed mushrooms and scallops with black pudding for starters followed by pork belly and caramel coated salmon. Each dish was delicious....sadly no room for desert this time.....but look forward to choosing one on our next visit! The welcoming warm cheese scones were a lovely intro to a perfect meal.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank MandJReid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (469)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 469 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2018 via mobile

Huge portions and nice flair, the view from outside the tavern is also nice.
The waiter was very nice and the food superb.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Flavio q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

Food was some of the best we have had in the United Kingdom. I paid twice as much for a steak in Edinburgh that was only half as good. A really nice Brie appetizer with a sweet, very tasty chutney. The steak and ale pie was superb and in a terrific gravy and a flaky topping that worked perfectly with the gravy. Our son had the blackened salmon which was generous and cooked well. Three delightful desserts and then we headed into the next room to play board games and listen to the local musicians playing and singing folk music that created a homey Scottish ambience. This is a great place to experience excellent food and feel like a Scott.

Date of visit: August 2018
2  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2018 via mobile

We ate at the Tavern this evening, three generations including two children 11 and 7.

The welcoming complimentary cheese scones were lovely. The menu was varied with no specific children’s menu but marked dishes which could be made smaller.

We had a variety of starters, coconut prawns, leek soup and haggis stuffed mushrooms followed by haddock and chips for the kids, belly pork with cider sauce, smoked haddock risotto -all of which were beautifully presented and very tasty.

Despite being stuffed we still managed desert, just. We shared brownie sundae, banoffee Eaton mess and panacotta with figs, all of which were fabulous.

Staff were attentive and chatty and the food was great, well worth seeking out if you are in the area.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank NorthernStar37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018

The tavern holds a commanding spot within the town of Strathkinness on the outskirts of St Andrews. Menu is extensive and appropriate for the location. The welcome is warm and the staff friendly and attentive. The tavern lay out is one of its many strengths. The decor is fresh and interesting. We visited with friends and we all enjoyed our selections. Little extras were well received and the Scottish presence on the menu was appreciated. We thoroughly enjoyed our first visit to the Tavern and we shall be back.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank richard b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Tavern at Strathkinness also viewed

 

Been to The Tavern at Strathkinness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing