We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best B&B in the world!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ohope
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
OceanSpray Homestay
Ranked #3 of 9 Ohope B&B and Inns
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“The best B&B in the world!”
Reviewed 7 January 2013

If you are seeking all the comforts of home plus more, then Oceanspray is the holiday spot for you! What with amazing hospitality, friends for life, direct access to the beach, comfortable beds, superior linen, chocolates, wine, home made goodies, well stocked pantry, flat screen TV's, DVD's, books, magazines, games, brazier for those marshmellows, kayaks & much much more - Oceanspray definitely exceeds all expectations & has to be the best B&B in the world! We have been visiting this very special spot for 10 years & it never fails to please. All B&B's / self contained places should pay a visit & take a leaf out of Fran's book on how to satisfy the customer. Thanks yet again to Frances & John for another memorable holiday - we will be back!
Our only disappointment is that we couldn't stay longer as work beckoned!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranOhope, Owner at OceanSpray Homestay, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
These guests( friends now!) have been coming here for 10 years, and we immensely enjoy their company, especially around the brazier on New Year's Eve with marshmellows and liqueurs. They are a pleasure to have in our homestay, they appreciate all the extra touches we provide. They enjoy the benefits of "their holiday home" without having to do maintenance, lawns etc. We look forward to their return each year, wtih providing great hospitality with a weekly BBQ together, and lots of evenings - drinks in hand - watching the sun go down over "our slice of paradise" here at Ohope Beach. We appreciate their wonderful comments about our Homestay. We love hosting and having return guests.
Fran & John - Business Owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South London
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

I returned after visiting with my mother last September 2011 during the Rugby World Cup. This time I brought my wife and two adult children before going tramping at Lake Waikaremoana. Once again excellent, with great accommodation, superb food, and wonderful hosting from Frances and John.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi_Colin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranOhope, Owner at OceanSpray Homestay, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
It was such a pleasure having these guests again, and to meet the rest of the family so they too could enjoy our slice of paradise and our hospitality. We really enjoyed their company and wished they could have stayed longer. We hope they will return again. Frances, B&B Owner, Oceanspray Homestay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2012

We have enjoyed staying at Oceanspray twice and would love to return. Who wouldn't???? Especially when you are given such a welcome with homemade Brownie, a quiche and a bacon & egg pie with a salad for dinner; plus a fully stocked fridge with everything imaginable! Home preserved fruit for breakfast along with an array of cereals, yoghurt, etc as well as a huge choice of croissants and breads, wonderful coffee, not to mention bacon & eggs, cheese, pate, the list is endless. The first time we stayed, Pete helped John bring in the longline. Very shortly afterwards, John arrived with a plate of beautifully filleted fish for our dinner! Oceanspray has everything to make your stay pleasant with endless books, DVDs & games. Frances & John are wonderful hosts and YES, we'll certainly return for more. Beautifully clean and comfortable with high quality linen. A fully equipped kitchen helps make life easy for your beach holiday.

Room Tip: Our room had an ensuite, but our friends also had their own large bathroom just along the hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uliveto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranOhope, Owner at OceanSpray Homestay, responded to this review, 6 December 2012
Thank you for writing such positive comments about our Homestay. It is wonderful to have such sociable friendly guests that makes us enjoy hosting and we love providing great service and hospitality to guests that appreciate our home by the sea. We really enjoyed having these people and their friends to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

In our experience of accommodation we have found all sorts of people with varying motivations for doing what they do. Frances is one of those rare gems who considers others before herself. She has hospitality pulsing through her veins. Kindness is offered over fiscal considerations. A point John, her husband, has tried to enlighten her to but which seems to have fallen on deaf ears.

My wife and I stayed with our eight year old daughter for three nights in September. The ground floor of their home is at your entire disposal and is offered fully equipped. Fully equipped really doesn’t articulate it well enough. There is nothing, and I mean nothing, you will need to bring if you stay here. Other reviews have mentioned what is on offer. I would add it is just like being at your own home the day after you have been to the supermarket and Nana has visited and dropped off the Tupperware bursting full of baking!

One of the things we worry about when staying away is the quality of the bed. Even this concern was allayed by the, I assume, pocket sprung bed. My wife and I slept like babies with no aches and pains the next day. If you have the misfortune of a rain interrupted stay, I couldn’t think of a better place to be. You will be tucked up warm and cosy with plenty of space in the lounge area and a plethora of entertainment at your disposal. Our daughter loved the cupboard full of games, books and DVDs etc. She also loved having her own TV in her room to watch movies and kids TV. Great for those parents who want a sleep in!

Don’t hesitate to book with Frances and John you won’t be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwistallion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranOhope, Owner at OceanSpray Homestay, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
It was such a pleasure to have this fun loving family here to stay at Our Homestay. We love having families here and to be able be able to provide for children with the books, toys, DVDs, etc. It is our aim to provide qualilty accommodation and warm hospitality and give the guests a unique experience of our "slice of paradise', and who enjoy our home and are enthusiastic about our spot here at Ohope Beach. It is great to see guests really relaxing and we really appreciate their great feedback about our homestay. We look forward very much to this family coming back for more.
Frances - the Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We have been enjoying the wonderful hospitality offered by Frances and John for about 10 years. We come for a long weekend break and our children now grown, still love it. The quality of the accomodation has been consistently high. The living area is spacious and comfortable, a lovely place for the family to relax when not enjoying the beach, harbour or the garden. The homebaking, fridge packed with tasty food, the soups and quiches, home made preserves and jams...this may be why we always come back here.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cecily N Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranOhope, Owner at OceanSpray Homestay, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
This family have returned many times to our home, and it has been wonderful to see the children grow up - and now as adults, they still love the home baking! Such a warm positve enthusiastic family that love our beachside retreat. We enjoy their company and ensuring that each stay they have been here, still continues to provide a "home away from home" experience for them.
Frances
The Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NH
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

While our stay was only one night, it was one of the most memorable experiences of our trip.
When we arrived, we were shown into a beautiful large living room which we thought was the owners' residence. Imagine our surprise when we were told that it was our accommodation!
We can't sing the praises of Frances highly enough. Because we arrived late after a long drive around the East Cape, she had left a large pot of warm soup on the stove top along with a freshly made quiche. Both were outstanding. There was also wine and a fully stocked fridge (much better than we have at home!).
Besides the huge living/kitchen/dining area, the apartment consisted of three bedrooms and two bathrooms. All were spotless and comfortable. The beach was a very short walk over the sand dunes. We couldn't believe how deserted it was - if it were in the US, it would have been mobbed!
In a very short time, Frances made us feel like very good friends. She was generous, informative and kind - and an incredible chef.
On our next trip to NZ, we will definitely make Oceanspray Homestay our home for several days!
Thank you very much for opening your home to us, Frances,
Marian, Courtney and Chuck

Room Tip: Loved the 3 bedroom apartment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranOhope, Owner at OceanSpray Homestay, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Thank you to these guests for writing such a positive review abour our Homestay. Their stay was brief, one night, but with our aim of providing quality accommodation, warm hospitality, and good food, we are glad they enjoyed their experience here at our spot beside the ocean. We do hope they return, to experience more hospitality, maybe some fresh fish from the ocean, onto the BBQ and to also enjoy what the Bay of Plenty has to offer - sunshine, peace, and relaxation.
Frances
The Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

My husband and I stayed here in 2004 and LOVED it. We stayed in the cottage in the garden and were overwhelmed at the choice in the fridge. I recall we had smoked salmon and scrambled eggs! Dinner was gorgeous. Highlight had to be wallowing in the sea till about 7pm and it being so warm and perfect.
We took a trip to White Island while there and that was amazing as well.

Room Tip: We stayed in the cottage and that was so much room for 2 of us!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chab186220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ohope hotels
1.4 mi away
Moanarua Beach Cottage B&B
0.5 mi away
Seaview Bed and Breakfast
2.8 mi away
Ohope Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Ohope Beach Resort
Ohope Beach Resort
#3 of 4 in Ohope
76 reviews
1.7 mi away
Beachpoint Apartments
2.0 mi away
Driftsand Boutique Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OceanSpray Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OceanSpray Homestay

Property: OceanSpray Homestay
Address: 283a Pohutukawa Avenue, Ohope 3121, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Ohope
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ohope
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our slice of paradise at our Beachside Homestay. Within our two level home, downstairs - is a 3 bedroom self contained apartment with kitchen/lounge, two bathrooms (one is an ensuite). Modern decor, quality furnishings, and 3 TVs, DVDs. Comprehensive breakfast foods are supplied into the apartment for self help. Come upstairs to our living space and enjoy the wonderful sea views from our decks and our warm hospitality/home baking & complimentary wine. Families warmly welcomed, with toys,books,beach gear, two kayaks. A peaceful beachside retreat. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing