We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable.affordable chocolate box cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Le Petit Galminou

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Montignac, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
smiler195...
Jersey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable.affordable chocolate box cottage”
Reviewed 28 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Very pleasant owners, very approachable offering lots of advice on places to visit and the area, without being "in your face". The cottage is so cute but perfectly big enough for a couple and the swimming pool was clean although bearing in mind the time of year we only took 1 swim. Everything was cleaned and maintained to a good standard. We did have trouble finding the property by the coordinates given but not really sure if it was our sat nav not working properly or not, but the owner did say that other people have not had any problems, so thank you for waiting up for us, lovely area, beautiful views from the property. Price wise very competitively priced and clean bedding/towels provided weekly The only thing to be aware of is that the lawn area which you need to walk up to the cottage is on a slight slope and if you have severe walking difficulties you may find this a problem. I do have SLIGHT problems walking due to continued problems from a broken ankle several years ago, having said this I managed fine. .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: all of it !
Liked least: nothing really
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cher W
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic break away in a stunning town”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We had a fantastic two week break in Montingnac.
Gite was perfect size for the two of us and was clean and tidy having everything in it you needed. Owner was also welcoming and helpful suggesting places to visit whilst we were there.

Would definitely recommend a visit as Montingnac is a beautiful little town with lots of places you can go and visit near by.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
corinne f
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delightful little gite, fantastic location.”
Reviewed 9 June 2014 for a stay in November 2013

Excellent accommodation, amazing location, plenty of places to eat nearby, Montignac is a beautiful town with lots of other attractions nearby! Have the owner nearby was a plus, she was more than happy to help recommend local attractions.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christine...
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning View”
Reviewed 16 November 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We stayed for one week at Le Petit Galminou and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The gite has a stunning view across the valley where we watched a thunderstorm by night. We found the gite ideal for a couple and had all the amenities you could wish for. Diana was there to welcome us when we arrived and was friendly and helpful. We spent the week cycling around the local area and found some great towns and villages especially Sarlat . The gite was well situated for this but be prepared for the climb at the end of a long days ride.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark-JB12...
Lewes, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic gite - really welcoming hosts”
Reviewed 11 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Spent 2 weeks in the gite in September and found the whole experience wonderful. We drove down from the UK having been provided with exact coordinates for the gite that took us to the front door which meant no fretting about finding it.

Both Chris & Di were the perfect hosts, were there when we arrived and made sure we were completely comfortable throughout our stay. The gite is perfect for a couple or small group who are looking for a relaxing time with good weather, good food, good wine and with a beautiful backdrop.

The town of Montignac has a good range of restaurants in picturesque surroundings across the Vezare river so a great place to get away from it all.

Extremely highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The welcome and care of the hosts
Liked least: Nothing springs to mind
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris C
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful Gite!”
Reviewed 30 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our journey from Bergerac airport to the gite and our hosts welcomed us with a complimentary bottle of wine and had set the wood burner ready to make a fire (it was a cool evening) which was a very nice touch. Fortunately the weather improved and we enjoyed the garden area for sunbathing and admiring the fantastic views. Nice walk along winding road to Montignac (20 mins) - uphill on return. The gite was better than we expected and was very good value for money. Our hosts were very helpful and accommodating, recommending places to visit and local walks & restaurants. Good kitchen facilities and lovely comfy bed! We walked to Lascaux II from the gite on our 2nd day which was a wonderful way to admire the area on foot and chill out. We also visited Maison du Reignac which was amazing, Font de Gaume cave (queue from about 0730 to buy an English tour!), Rocamadour, Castlenord (best castle ever) and St Leon sur Vezere for a wonderful afternoon canoeing on the river. Fantastic holiday and we hope to return next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fantastic location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 7 April 2012 for a stay in March 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly owner and great location.
Liked least: Road access and intermittent wifi
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing