We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, excellent hotel with soft blankets.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostellerie La Roseraie
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Montignac
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Charming, excellent hotel with soft blankets. A staf with natural charm. A charming atmosphere with time for the extra attention. Lovely garden, even in early spring. Good price/ quality. To use this hotel it is worth a detour.

Room Tip: River view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank enruit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2013

I was among a group of some two dozen Americans who stayed at the Hostellerie La Roseraie for three nights in mid October. I think I can speak for all of us when I say that our hosts, Katia and Thierry, could not have been more gracious and accommodating. It must have been a daunting task for them to take us on, all at once--greeting us on arrival and into our rooms, getting our baggage straight, feeding us (breakfast and dinner), and seeing us out the door and on to our bus at the end of our stay. But it went off without a hitch, with smiles all around from hosts and guests.

The inn, is, indeed, charming. The breakfst buffet was more than ample, and the set menu at dinner well prepared and bountiful. My room was spacious by French standards, the beds were comfortable, and the view of the Vezere river was lovely. I even grew to love the squeaky staircase! There's also a good bar on the ground floor with a pleasant area for drinking and chatting.

Montignac is a lovely little town that serves as a headquarters for area Paleolithic cave-art viewing, and La Roseraie couldn't be a better place to rest one's post-Neolithic body after a day of cave exploration.

P.S. If you crave a newspaper in the morning (as I do), go out the back door of La Roseraie early in the morning and head for town on foot. A three-minute walk will put you on the doorstep of a tobacconist shop that opens at 7 a.m. And, miraculously enough for that early in the morning, you'll find the New York Times International on sale!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peterportez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

This a review for the restaurant only. We happened upon this wonderful restaurant with outstanding food as we wandered through a square in pretty Montignac just as the sun was setting. Luckily we were fitted in amongst the reservations made by hotel guests. The restaurant is set within the hotel and had a great ambiance. The staff were knowledgeable, welcoming, friendly and efficient; the rosé wine selected was good and the food was absolutely exceptional. We chose the two course €29 menu of entrée+plat au plat+dessert. Three courses would currently be €39.
I ate a simply delicious entrée of prawns marinated in vanilla on a mango salad, my partner a wonderfully tasty velouté of seasonal vegetables with chestnuts and we both chose scallops and avocado fried vitelottes with hazelnuts as a main course. The scallops were cooked to perfection as were the prawns in my entrée.
Indeed each course was excellently prepared and presented with stylish simplicity. A wonderful culinary experience of exceptional flavours, perfectly married together in a restaurant with a lovely atmosphere in a very attractive setting. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank jamorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Like many reviews below said - not glitzy, but charming and comfortable hotel. Yes, the stairs creak when you go up to your room, but our room was spacious by French hotel standards and the common space / parlor on each floor is very nice. We stayed for two nights and ate dinner for one night at the hotel restaurant. The dinner was wonderful and so were the owners and the staff. The hotel is in the center of town and makes for a nice base when exploring nearby attractions, like Lascaux, as well as for night walks around the medieval town. If you are there on Wednesday, do not miss the local market in the central square - we were probably the only non-locals there on the day we went in early October.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Yanik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Stayed at this lovely hotel only for one night. We have stayed in Montignac many times, but never knew of this hotel. What a wonderful find. After travelling for a few days, it was nice just to relax by the pool and the wonderful gardens. Will come back again, probably next year for a week. The town of Montignac is lovely and we always feel at home when we go there.

Room Tip: All the rooms look good and individually named, ours was Esmeralda
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank clairju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This is a lovely old world small hotel with the feeling of a B &B. The restaurant is top notch.
If glitz is your thing, this is not the ticket, but if charm and warmth is what you want, you have that.
The stairs creak , but there is a lift if you prefer. Plenty of free parking and the location on the river is very peaceful. If the weather is warm, spent some time unwinding with a glass of wine in their beautiful garden.
We spent 3 nights there and I would return if in the area again.
The owners who manage and run the hotel work very hard to accommodate your every need.
Susan J.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the river for a romantic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susanellen26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Wow! You really want to stay here!!!

My wife and I have just returned from a cycling holiday with Headwater Holidays and this was our favourite hotel of the whole holiday.
We were warmly greeted by the owner who showed us to a perfect double aspect room on the second floor called Sweet Juliet.The room had one window overlooking the garden restaurant and the other overlooking the square.
The light in the room was fantastic.
Good aircon for the warm nights.
Great swimming pool in massive gardens.
The food was fabulous in both quality and quantity.
Nice affordable wine list with a few more expensive wines for those special occasions.
Thanks for a wonderful stay.
David and Joyce Higgins

Room Tip: Ask for Sweet Juliet. This is not a misprint of Suite Juliet but refers to the flowers painted on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saabfreak9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nourrisson, Propriétaire at Hostellerie La Roseraie, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Dear Mrs and Mr Higgins,
So thank you for your nice commentary. We were delighted to host your group so friendly. It is so nice to have guests who are happy to be on vacation. Your opinion comforts us because some disgruntled guests filing notices unpleasant. We look forward to seeing you again.
Sincerely
Katia and Thierry GUEDJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montignac
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Lascaux
Hotel Le Lascaux
#2 of 6 in Montignac
194 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le P'tit Monde
Le P'tit Monde
#5 of 6 in Montignac
57 reviews
3.4 mi away
Chateau de la Fleunie
Chateau de la Fleunie
#1 of 1 in Condat-sur-Vezere
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Bouilhac
Hotel de Bouilhac
#4 of 6 in Montignac
24 reviews
5.2 mi away
Manoir d'Hautegente
2.6 mi away
Le Moulin de Mitou
Le Moulin de Mitou
#1 of 1 in Auriac-du-Perigord
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie La Roseraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie La Roseraie

Address: Place d'Armes | 11, Place d'Armes, 24290, Montignac, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Montignac
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Montignac
Price Range: £64 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostellerie La Roseraie 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hostellerie La Roseraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostellerie La Roseraie Montignac, France - Dordogne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing