We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A week ( with old and new friends ) in Montignac”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostellerie La Roseraie
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Montignac
Certificate of Excellence
Bilambil Heights
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A week ( with old and new friends ) in Montignac”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Thank you Thierry and Katia for a wonderful week . Your warm welcome and generous hospitality enhanced our week . La Roseraie is a beautiful place, in a beautiful village , in a beautiful part of your beautiful country. Some of us were old friends, some new.... all of us felt at home, and were sad to leave . One of us at least, hopes to return someday.

Room Tip: Some rooms do not have an overhead shower .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandynoakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    68
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
45
114
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We spent a wonderful week at La Roseraie in Montignac in June 2014. This old and charming hotel sits on the bank of the Vezere River. The proprietors, Katia and Thierry, are excellent hosts and did everything to make us feel welcome. the hotel grounds are beautiful with roses everywhere. There is a large in ground swimming pool that is crystal clear and inviting. Our room was clean and comfortable. Although we did not have a car, there is ample parking in front and behind the hotel. The breakfast was more than ample. There is an inviting patio where wine, beer, and aperitifs are served. We recommend without reservation La Roseraire as a base for exploring the Perigord.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob50226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
133 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The Hostellerie La Roseraie is a small hotel operated by the Guedj family, of whom we met three generations while there. Situated on the banks of the Vezere River in the small town of Montignac the hotel radiates charm. Our room was spacious and extremely comfortable with modern fixtures despite the building's 19th century's origins. In addition to a lovely patio with comfortable chairs and tables, there is a large attached rose garden. Our group was fortunate to take both breakfast and dinner in the hotel. The meals were wonderful and the wine selection very nice indeed. Every evening an hour or so before dinner I took a glass of a very hearty local red recommended to me by our host. It was a fine time to discuss our day's activities and just relax before dinner. Katia and Thierry Guedj were perfect hosts and indulged my poor French with great encouragement and friendliness. It was a lovely place to stay with delightful hosts.

Room Tip: Our room was at the opposite end of the first floor from the rose garden. Those of our group near t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dallasbirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nourrisson, Propriétaire at Hostellerie La Roseraie, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Guest from Dallas
We were delighted to host your group so friendly. It was a real pleasure to have you here and to share fun times with you.
Our job is not always easy, but your comments are a real joy and a real engine to continue to improve our services. You've got it in mind that we want to give the Rose Garden. Thank you a thousand times.
Katia et Thierry GUEDJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
533 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

A really old fashioned traditional Hotel managed by a very friendly and able French duo. No restaurant but they serve a traditional plank of cheeses and meats, Foie Gras in the evening which is plentiful but a little pricey at 20 Euro a plate. Nice wines and well priced with English sub titles.Nice Garden setting lovely to eat breakfast under the trees and a very nice breakfast supplied.
The rooms are traditional albeit a little tired and a couple of things not working, toilet packed up and the safe did not work.Air cond went off during the night but the hosts attended to everything very efficiently next morning.

Room Tip: Front river facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spithead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montignac
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

What a pleasure to find this wonderful hotel after a tiring day in the car! Lovely garden, spacious light rooms, excellent bed and a very warm welcome by our hosts. You can see and feel that everything is selected and done with loving care. And the breakfast is great! Very positive atmosphere and we hope to come back in lovely Montignac and stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Margarita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nourrisson, Propriétaire at Hostellerie La Roseraie, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
What a pleasure to read your review at the beginning of our season
It's always nice to see that our guests have spend a good stay with us.
We sincerely hope to welcome you again.
Katia and Thierry GUEDJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
265 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Charming, excellent hotel with soft blankets. A staf with natural charm. A charming atmosphere with time for the extra attention. Lovely garden, even in early spring. Good price/ quality. To use this hotel it is worth a detour.

Room Tip: River view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank enruit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, MD
Level Contributor
135 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I was among a group of some two dozen Americans who stayed at the Hostellerie La Roseraie for three nights in mid October. I think I can speak for all of us when I say that our hosts, Katia and Thierry, could not have been more gracious and accommodating. It must have been a daunting task for them to take us on, all at once--greeting us on arrival and into our rooms, getting our baggage straight, feeding us (breakfast and dinner), and seeing us out the door and on to our bus at the end of our stay. But it went off without a hitch, with smiles all around from hosts and guests.

The inn, is, indeed, charming. The breakfst buffet was more than ample, and the set menu at dinner well prepared and bountiful. My room was spacious by French standards, the beds were comfortable, and the view of the Vezere river was lovely. I even grew to love the squeaky staircase! There's also a good bar on the ground floor with a pleasant area for drinking and chatting.

Montignac is a lovely little town that serves as a headquarters for area Paleolithic cave-art viewing, and La Roseraie couldn't be a better place to rest one's post-Neolithic body after a day of cave exploration.

P.S. If you crave a newspaper in the morning (as I do), go out the back door of La Roseraie early in the morning and head for town on foot. A three-minute walk will put you on the doorstep of a tobacconist shop that opens at 7 a.m. And, miraculously enough for that early in the morning, you'll find the New York Times International on sale!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peterportez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montignac
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Lascaux
Hotel Le Lascaux
#1 of 5 in Montignac
180 reviews
3.4 mi away
Chateau de la Fleunie
Chateau de la Fleunie
#1 of 1 in Condat-sur-Vezere
197 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le P'tit Monde
Le P'tit Monde
#4 of 5 in Montignac
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Manoir d'Hautegente
2.6 mi away
Le Moulin de Mitou
Le Moulin de Mitou
#1 of 1 in Auriac-du-Perigord
225 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Archambeau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie La Roseraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie La Roseraie

Property: Hostellerie La Roseraie
Address: Place d'Armes | 11, Place d'Armes, 24290, Montignac, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Montignac
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Montignac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostellerie La Roseraie 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hostellerie La Roseraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostellerie La Roseraie Montignac, France - Dordogne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing