We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great value for a relaxing stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Tawhiri Apartment

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Waiouru, Manawatu-Wanganui Region, North Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
WhiskyNZ
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value for a relaxing stay”
Reviewed 20 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

It was a pleasure to stay with Ross at his lovely place in Waiouru and his apartment was the perfect location to break up our trip up north. The apartment is located just off the main highway and is really easy to find. It’s really beautifully maintained with lovely decor.

We brought our own breakfast food to cook and, although the apartment didn’t come with a stove in the kitchenette, we found the sauté function on the impressive slow cooker/roaster more than enough to cook up some eggs and halloumi.

Be aware that the apartment is quite close to the train tracks so you do hear the trains go past - this was more of a feature than an annoyance though.

Although temperatures were expected to get to -3 degrees overnight, we found the apartment comfortable and warm. There were plenty of heating and cooling options.

It was a very relaxing stay with Ross, who was a very generous host. Had we more time it would have been a perfect base for exploring the mountains over a couple of days. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Oct 2017
Thanks for the great review and thanks for staying with us. I really enjoyed meeting you and I hope you'll come again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
29chloe
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Warm and friendly,stunning views of mountain and all home comforts”
Reviewed 27 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Our family get-together met at this central point and were readily accommodated at Tawhiri. The beds were very comfortable, the lounge warm and welcoming and the mountain views to die for.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Oct 2017
I can't guarantee that the whole house - cottage and apartment - will be available at the same time, so it's an idea to book well in advance. It's nice to see the whole place being used for a family event like this. And you were great guests!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt K
Tairua, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome accomodation”
Reviewed 23 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Had the pleasure of staying a few nights here. Really impressed with place. Extremely tidy and clean. Brilliant spot. Only 15-20mins from Turoa/Ohakune or go the other way 15-20mins to Tukino ski fields. Best view of the mountain from here too!!

Kids loved the Army museum, and the days spent on the mountain!

Ross was a great host. Very friendly and welcoming. Even took the kids for a ride in his classic T-Bird!

Highly recommend this place for anyone passing through Waiouru or wanting to go skiing. We actually chose to drive through Okakune to get here as it looked a lot nicer and better value. We stayed an extra third night as it was so good!

Thanks Ross.

Bruce, Trilby and the kids!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2017
I really enjoyed having Bruce and Trilby and, of course, Tallulah and Maddox. The place comes to life when it has a family in it. And, just for clarification, I do take adults on the T-Bird tour of Waiouru as well - if they're good. Thanks again for being such great guests, Ross.
p.s. I've got a coffee machine in to try out. Just have to learn how to drive it now!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing