We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous, five star family holiday home well...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Orchard House

Large garden to enjoy relaxing in the sun
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Large garden to enjoy relaxing in the sun
Set in it's own private garden with off road parking for 2 cars Lounge with 2 comfortable sofas overlooking pretty garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Large garden to enjoy relaxing in the sun
Set in it's own private garden with off road parking for 2 cars
Lounge with 2 comfortable sofas overlooking pretty garden
Second bedroom can be king size double or twins with en-suite showeroom
Kitchen/dining
Log burner for those cosy nights in.
Enjoying our stay
Gilfach Nature reserve
River Wye through your gateway
Canoe on the River Wye
Enchanting Woodland Walks
Stunning Elan Valley
Elan Valley Dam
River Wye in winter
Pretty enclosed private garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Newbridge-on-Wye, Llandrindod Wells, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sunderland
Reviewed 3 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Helpfulness and friendliness of owners.Thoughtful, practical touches and standard of presentation and cleanliness.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 Aug 2014
Sorry the WiFi is a little slow.
We have been promised superfast broadband by the end of 2014 by the Welsh Assembly so watch this space!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cromer, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the garden, we live in a flat!
Liked least: the sparrows early morning call
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DiggerLea...
Leamington Spa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Luxury on a budget”
Reviewed 16 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Orchard House is a self-contained two-bedroomed property which adjoins the owners' home. it is situated yards from pedestrian access to one of the most beautiful stretches of the River Wye and only a short distance from the route of the Wye Valley Walk, which we and our friends are currently attempting.

The house has two comfortable bedrooms, one with a generous-sized bath, one with an eight jet spa shower cubicle. There are two sofas in the living room with all the entertainment devices you would expect and a log burner, which we didn't need to use, although the evenings were chilly. The kitchen is well-equipped, although the cooker was very hi-tech and took some getting used to! In the utility room, on arrival, was a treat for our dog and even a towel for her. The fact that the property accepts pets was a major factor in our decision to book it.

But most striking of all was the warmth of the welcome we received from Graham and Diane Jackson, the owners. Nothing was too much trouble for them; they even drove us back 9 miles to the start of the walk so that we could retrieve our car.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The welcome and service we received
Liked least: The wi-fi kept having to be reinstalled
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Apr 2014
It was lovely to meet you all especially Bonny, your beautiful Spaniel and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marybeth...
Palos Verdes Estates, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely cottage in a beautiful area”
Reviewed 20 September 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We stayed a week at Orchard House and couldn't have been more pleased with our lodging. The house is beautifully maintained and everything we needed to make our visit more comfortable was provided. The owners even had, among other things, delicious home-made scones, butter, and jam awaiting our arrival. We had the opportunity to rent several other cottages in different parts of Wales during the summer and none compared to Orchard House. This property is a real gem.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage was exceptionally clean and the garden was perfect for sitting outdoors to enjoy the birds and flowers.
Liked least: There was nothing we didn't like.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrumpyOld...
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything you could wish for”
Reviewed 27 August 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We have stayed at Orchard House on more than one occasion and are always made to feel welcome. Diane and Graham are great hosts and go out of their way to ensure you have a wonderful time while you are there. In the Winter months it's so warm and cosy, and if you order in advance and don't feel like cooking, Diane does some great meals. Take some good walking shoes and stroll along the banks of the River Wye, located less than 100 yards away. Or venture out to the Élan Valley, just a few miles away, where you can go hiking or cycling and visit the Red Kite centre in the town of Rhayader.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2013
We are very glad that our guests feel able to return to us many times and recommend us to their friends and family. We have made many new friends this way too!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amanda j
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“PEACE : FANTSASTIC FOR OUR DOGS”
Reviewed 7 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

A beautifully kept, comfortable property, spotlessly clean. This is a
comfortable property with everything you could need. In a lovely spot near to the river for the dogs to run.
Having 3 dogs was not an issue here. Totally enclosed, secure garden where dogs were really welcome. Baby gate to keep the dogs in the kitchen/utility area which suited us, save hovering etc at the end of the stay! Great host who was helpul and very friendly without being intrusive. Just lovely. Gorgeous treats on arrival, too. GREAT.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Secure garden
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2013
Thank You for your kind words. We do our best to make both guests and their pets feel at home.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloria W
RCT
1 review
“Excellent 5-Star Cottage in a Very Good Central Location.”
Reviewed 15 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We decided on this cottage as we were looking for somewhere to revisit this beautiful location. We were not disappointed. Excellent location for walks by the Wye. Visits to Llandrindod Wells, Builth Wells and the not to be missed Elan Valley were all within easy reach.
The cottage was of an exceptionally high standard with unexpected additional 'extras'. On our arrival we found freshly baked bread, welsh cakes, wine, flowers along with milk and butter waiting for us. Diane & Graham (the owners of the property) were very helpful and friendly.
We took our two miniature schnauzers, Saffie and Sophie along and they also received a welcomed 'little treat'. Dogs were not only 'allowed' they were 'welcomed' and they quickly settled in without any difficulty.
The garden was large and safe for the dogs, who loved running around, exploring.
The cottage was very well equipped, with nice touches such as toiletries, quality furnishings and linen etc.
Free WiFi was a bonus as my husband could look at the weather forecast every day to plan walks when it was less likely to rain (the dogs hate going out in the rain).
The holiday could only have been improved if the weather was more clement as we would have enjoyed sitting out in the garden for afternoon tea and a glass of wine in the evening.
We would certainly return to this property should we decide to visit the Elan Valley again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: General quality and cleanliness of cottage.
Liked least: Nothing to dislike.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$108
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing