We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace &Quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jungle Lore Birding Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

This is a beautiful and quiet getaway 7 hours away from Delhi. It is only 15 kms from Nainital but completely secluded. A birder's paradise Jungle Lore is possibly the best place to stay in Pangot among the four or five hotels here. The staff are very friendly and service personalised. The cottages are located just beside the jungle and birds happily venture into the premises.

The only problem is occasional loud music from some of the adjoining hotels. It is amazing that people travel to such a quiet place only to create a din! Wish the management of these adjoining hotels were as responsible as Jungle Lore's.

Highly recommend for nature lovers.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank debadideb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HimalayanLodges, Manager at Jungle Lore Birding Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2015

Your appreciation always encourage us. Thanks a lot for giving an opportunity to serve you. Really looking forward for your visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2013

Set in and above an Oak woodland, this lodge really is the place to get close to some wonderful birds of the Himalayan foothills. The chef here is the mainstay of the lodge being on hand to welcome everybody, move the luggage, feed the birds, light fires and of course cook the excellent lunches and dinners as well as providing tea at unsociable hours. At his bidding, laughing thrushes appear from their hiding places in the woodland to be fed. Otherwise all day long magnificent jays, red billed blue magpies, rufous sibias, babblers and nuthatches come to use the bird bath. Langurs keep a distance as two dogs faithfully guard the flowerbeds, otherwise it would not take the monkeys long to clear the irises, marigolds and chrysanthemums. By mid November it can be quite cold. The spacious lodges are quite hard to heat. A calor gas heater or even the wood burner would have been more effective than the fan heater that we had been provided with. There are other smart lodges springing up nearby that may be more comfortable. The management will need to ensure that the lodges are kept warm enough. However it is doubtful whether any other local hotel could compete with the ambience of Jungle Lore Birding Lodge and its wonderful home for birds and other wildlife. Locally many footpaths lead to other habitats with a great many other birds to find, or else a short car journey may reach pheasants and birds of the open steep-sided grassy hillsides. Several days or even a week or so could be spent here very happily.

Room Tip: smaller lodges may be easier to heat. The top lodge is the biggest but has good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizziesbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HimalayanLodges, Manager at Jungle Lore Birding Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2015

Your appreciation always encourage us. Thanks a lot for giving an opportunity to serve you. Really looking forward for your visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

Hi we stayed their for 1 day.my 3.5yr old boy enjoyed feeding birds.food was awesome..it was like home food & can be customized for you.interior of the rooms & dinning area was stunning.i liked boxes n birds pic tablemats.we met their manager too..mr. rajeev seems to be very good person .i left my red shawl in the room &same day we called him up & requested to send by topay courier, he accepted.after that he is not picking phone quite disappointing incident.guys if you are going to this lodge don't forget anything there..

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richa28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HimalayanLodges, Manager at Jungle Lore Birding Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2015

Your appreciation always encourage us. Thanks a lot for giving an opportunity to serve you. Really looking forward for your visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I rarely do 'vacations'. Even more rarely do i do 'vacations' at hotels and resorts..preferring to stay in the solitude of a forest rest house, or some blessed person's home. Jungle Lore has been an exception.
I come here for the birds ..the naturalists, and the staff (excellent friendly people) here has excellent knowledge about the flora and fauna--particularly birdlife, of the landscape.
I love the peaceful, beautiful environs...and the fact that the cottage where i stayed opened out into the forest -and not into the backyard of another room. I like the fact that they don't have generators..though unfortunately- the place is not nearly as quiet as it used to be with a few, very loud-properties cropping up around it.
At Jungle Lore,the food is excellent, the staff caring, the vistas spectacular..
and of course-it is a must on the map for any birder. And those who want peaceful time, commune with nature, read, write, go for long walks, sit at the village tea-shop....

And the fact that the mobile goes defunct here (no signals) make it even more of a sanctuary.

prerna bindra

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank prerna b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HimalayanLodges, Manager at Jungle Lore Birding Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2015

Your appreciation always encourage us. Thanks a lot for giving an opportunity to serve you. Really looking forward for your visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

we have just returned from an exciting birding trip to Pangot where we were very lucky to find many of the targeted birds in our check-list.

the resort is away from the humdrum of city life but has all the amenities you may want in a nature tour ie
1. attentive staff ( we had someone at our door barely within 1 -2 minutes of ringing the service bell),
2. wholesome and delicious food, we got packed break fast of cutlets and sandwiches or paranthas even as early as 6 am to take on our treks
3. clean and nice rooms with hot water, room heaters and hot water bottle on request
4. great views of the forest and
5. birds coming right up to the front lawn posing for pictures.

the fellow guests we met were also into birding and photography, so dinner table conversation were enriching!!!

we had an absolutely great time as this was exactly what we had aimed at.

Room Tip: if you are planning some serious birding then it may be helpful to ask the resort arrange for a guid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kanibisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HimalayanLodges, Manager at Jungle Lore Birding Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2015

Your appreciation always encourage us. Thanks a lot for giving an opportunity to serve you. Really looking forward for your visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

The one of the best places for any bird lover . The Birds were knocking right on my window ...Was i dreaming ..No i wasn't it was real . The food and the Fire place is just amazing . I stayed in the Hut right in lap of Nature .
Super food and staff ..
EAsy sighting for 3 pheasants Monal- Cheer - kOKLASS

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pankisood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HimalayanLodges, Manager at Jungle Lore Birding Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2015

Your appreciation always encourage us. Thanks a lot for giving an opportunity to serve you. Really looking forward for your visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

Great location with excellent staff behavior. Wonderful place for birding. But during our stay we had power cut with no invertor service. We had to rely on candles for 2 consecutive evenings. But otherwise staff is eversmiling. So many birds around. And mr hari om is a gem of a birder

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debKolkata_India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HimalayanLodges, Owner at Jungle Lore Birding Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2015

Dear Sir,

We have attempted to make our clients feel the true essence of Nature. However, we will take your point into consideration as stay of every client shall be highly comfortable and memorable and this is what matters to us the most.

Hope to welcome you soon and extend better services.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pangot
2.3 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#11 of 51 in Nainital
353 reviews
0.4 mi away
Monal Inn
Monal Inn
#1 of 1 in Pangot
17 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Earl's Court
The Earl's Court
#6 of 51 in Nainital
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hidden Valley Camps And Resorts
0.1 mi away
Camp Mehi
Camp Mehi
#4 of 14 in Pangot
20 reviews
0 mi away
Janardan Resort
Janardan Resort
#11 of 14 in Pangot
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jungle Lore Birding Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jungle Lore Birding Lodge

Address: Via Nanital-Kilbury Pangot | Nainital, Pangot 263139, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Uttarakhand > Nainital District > Pangot
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Pangot
Price Range: £49 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jungle Lore Birding Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very pretty lodge in a remote part of the Himalayas, easily accessible from Nainital. The lodge is located at 2000 meters and surrounded by thick oak forest. A base for trekkers and nature lovers. We organise bird walks, short day treks, also 2 nights or 3 nights treks from Pangot to Corbett NP that are appropriate for families and adventure seekers. All comforts are provided for holiday makers. Friendly staff. Fresh farm produce. Bar-be-cue and special dinners, private sit-outs, cooking classes, guided sightseeing. A complete Himalayan experience where you will have a chance to visit the local village, enjoy photographing their lifestyle and daily routine, share a meal or a cup of tea with them, understand their customs and traditions. Great Nainital tourist excursions with boat, cable car and horse rides, zoo visit, shoping etc. We promise you fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jungle Lore Birding Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing