We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pangot and Mountain Quail-A surpise package”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pangot
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mountain Quail Lodge - Pangot
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pangot and Mountain Quail-A surpise package”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I have been a silent admirer of tripadvisor reviews, as I find them to be authentic and quiet accurate, for the ratings and detailed analysis they give. This vacation going to Pangot , especially to Mountain Quail, from a 3 night 4 day break, with not much pre planning, was largely influenced by the earlier reviews .Mountain Quail Lodge was a surprise package, so I thought this time , I must pen down my views. Beautifully located property in the middle of the jungle. Easily within drivable distance from Delhi, with good roads. We had booked a cottage, which had an excellent location , within the camp.It was nice cozy cottage with a good sit out area, neat and clean rooms, with spic and span bathrooms. The log huts too appeared to inviting. We enjoyed good clean home cooked food , with some very good service by Ganga Singh and his team. Had a great time walking in and around the camp. In fact one of the trek starts from the camp itself !.One can enjoy numerous short drives/walks to near by locations. Had a great time shooting birds and nature in and around the camp. Thanks to Bhavana and Sid(though I did not meet him personally), for making this trip a memorable one.

Dr. Sanjeev Taneja

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThickChOcOlate2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    4
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
18
6
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Mountain Quail Lodge is a beautiful property - the forests of Pangot that surround the place are the thickest jungle I've seen in these parts. The rooms were cosy and comfortable, and one of our rooms even had a loft bed! The bathrooms were spotless, and the food above par. Really, I couldn't rave about the place enough!

Our hosts, Sid and Bhavna, too, were warm and welcoming. They took us on a few hikes around the area and regaled us with local anecdotes. I found them to be fun and knowledgeable, and I hope to go back there many times.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the loft. It's terribly charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank malavikak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

So the people are lovely, the food is amaaazing, the views are breathtaking and the atmosphere is phenomenal. This place has everything you could be looking for- serenity if you're looking for some peace & quiet, and ample adventure if you're feeling, well, adventurous. I'd been facing some identity crisis for a while, not sure whether I was a "mountains person" or not, and this trip has managed to affirm my mountainous leanings. One thing's for sure, I'm dyyying to go back.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank KokilaMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountainQuailLodge, Owner at Mountain Quail Lodge - Pangot, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Thank you!! Looking forward to seeing you here again, soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Staying at Mountain Quail Lodge brings back childhood memories of unsullied natural beauty, of rosy sunsets and chilly evenings, of cozy rooms and thick blankets, of hot water bottles and delicious home-cooked meals. There is a very personal touch in everything that is done there and the staff are friendly and helpful. They have great suggestions for hiking trails and long walks in the forest, which you must act upon, and they're superbly located for birdwatching with your morning tea, with breakfast and lunch. I've stayed 3 times in all, with friends and family, and also with a 18-month old who clearly relished his walks and meals. I recommend it for quality of service and location, for holidays with kids, and for breaks with friends to chill out, go for long walks, read books in the sun, learn to use your new camera and to rediscover the meaning of the word Quiet.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mynahQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I stayed at Mountain Quail Lodge in April with my boyfriend and we had such a lovely, relaxing stay. We were in the cottage which has a few lovely rooms with great bathrooms and during the day we relaxed in the sunshine on the little patio just outside the cottage.

Everyone was very friendly and attentive, bringing us tea and biscuits and cooking up delicious meals during our stay.

The highlight for me was the walks that you can do in the area which are beautiful, particularly the quiet walk from Pangot to Naini Tal going over Cheena Peak. This gives great views down to the lake in Naini Tal as you come down from the peak. It was a real escape from the hustle and bustle and really pretty, changing scenery as you walk. We rewarded ourselves with a beer at the Naini Tal boat club when we made it there!

Pangot itself is a tiny village which is very sweet but we only briefly popped along to visit the local shop, which is just a few minutes walk away from the lodge.

The sunsets from Pangot were stunning as you are up on a hill with an amazing view, and we were also lucky enough to get a great view of the snow line as we were leaving in the morning.

Thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Pangot is a beautiful place. It is so close to Nainital yet there's no noise or crowd at all. Mount Quail has beautiful rooms, a green vicinity, no commercialisation, a small stream (where we sat with our feet in water) only 1 km walk away, a cute little market (2 shops, selling maggi, tea, snacks and curios). The buffet is modest but delicious and eating it in their wooden dining hall is another pleasant experience. The open area in resort is plenty. Table Tennis area, reading-cum-bonfire area, sky-watching are some attractions. It's so calm, green and beautiful you can sit anywhere and enjoy the sun/silence. Though the area is famous for Bird watching, we weren't really keen for it. The couple that run Mount Quail are quite friendly too.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dividedby_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Serene, very good location, no hustle bustle, staff, hospitality and food is great..stayed there one night with family.. lots of birds around... if you are looking for a nice short break amidst nature then this is a great option..

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PapriGoswami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pangot
2.8 mi away
Monal Inn
Monal Inn
#1 of 1 in Pangot
17 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Manu Maharani Hotel, Nainital
3.2 mi away
Hidden Valley Camps And Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Naini Retreat
The Naini Retreat
#1 of 49 in Nainital
744 reviews
0.0 mi away
Camp Mehi
Camp Mehi
#7 of 12 in Pangot
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Quail Lodge - Pangot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Quail Lodge - Pangot

Property: Mountain Quail Lodge - Pangot
Address: Kilbery Forest Road | 1 Km short of Pangot village, Pangot 263001, India
Region: India > Uttarakhand > Nainital District > Pangot
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Pangot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Naina Devi Himalayan Bird Conservation Reserve, amidst Oak, Rhododendron and Deodar forests Mountain Quail Lodge is situated close to the hamlet of Pangot. Located at 6500 feet amsl and overlooking the snow-clad Himalaya, this area is home to leopards, bears, deer and over 350 species of birds! Our lodge is an ideal getaway for those who wish to explore pristine mountain wilderness. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing