We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B, close to Florence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Florence La Paggeria B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Montorsoli B&B and Inns
Rapallo, Italy
Level Contributor
99 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great B&B, close to Florence”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Thanks to Paolo, Antonella, Edoardo, they informed us, advice us and help us, in few words they took care of us. We visited Florence with my family and friends (a group from the USA). It is without a doubt one of the best B&B we have stayed. We were greeted with a nice and cozy fire in the fire-place, it was cold outside (end november)this made the atmosphere warm and delicate. The view from the terrace and rooms is beautiful. I am sure also during summer this is a nice hotel to stay near Florence, which is very close, actually there is a local bus that take you in town, or if you go by car there is a parking at the entrance of Florence (Park Parterre). About the hotel very clean, rooms perfect, nicely decorared They fixed for us a super great dinner, you have to make arrangements for this previous your arrival.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gianna Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    14
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
32
63
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

My husband, 14 year old daughter and I enjoyed our stay in the main house, upstairs in the triple room. It was comfortable and clean, and the views were beautiful. We loved sitting on the patio in the sunshine with the garden all around, the birds singing and the view to gaze upon from time to time. We stayed 3 nights. We didn't mind the bus ride into town after breakfast with (fresh fruit and home made jam and great coffee). Paolo and Antonella provide bus timetables so you don't have to wait around for ages on the main road. They'll also book taxis if you prefer.
We chose to stay out sightseeing all day and were often intentionally too late for the last bus. One taxi driver refused to take us to Montorsoli but we soon found one who would, using his mobile phone's google maps to find where to go...though it's pretty easy to find. You just mention Via Bolognese - 9 kms out.
We chose to stay at La Paggeria because we wanted the Tuscan Villa experience. We would return because we enjoyed our stay, {wished we'd had time to stay longer} and Paolo and Antonella were gracious hosts.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed upstairs in the main house, and the views of Florence could not have been better. From the lovely patio, Fiesoli beckons in the hills. The B & B is perfect for those who want to see Florence (a short bus ride away) and escape from the crowds. Paolo and Antonella are genuine, caring people (with 2 friendly dogs) who did not hesitate to invite us to share a family meal or to connect us with another B & B when our dates did not quite fit the availability. From the amazing group meals and cooking lessons, to the overall effort the hosts made to please every guest, we came away thinking we had seen the very best of Italy.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsboro Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

I traveled to Italy (with my 2 sisters and a friend) in July 2013 and had researched the area ad nauseum! When the decision was made to stay at La Paggeria for a week, I corresponded with Antonella for months trying to make sure that all of the arrangements were perfect...and they were! Our stay with Antonella and Paolo couldn't have been better! In addition to going to the market to shop for dinner (and our cooking lesson with Paolo),we so appreciated their lovely hospitality and generosity at the rustic and beautiful B and B. They assisted with reservations to museums, helped us maneuver the buses and trains, and took us for the Castle wine tour. Our meals cooked by Paolo were some of the very best I've ever eaten. The breakfasts were delicious and substantial and Paolo even accommodated one of us who needed a gluten free diet. That's a tough thing to do with pasta! We fell in love with Paolo and Antonella, Tuscany and Krug, the big old sweet golden lab, and I am already looking forward to the next visit. The location was conducive to easy traveling to Florence by bus and taking the train to outlying areas such as Cinque Terre and Lucca. Don't hesitate to consider this B and B for your Tuscany vacation! It is a magical place! Randi R.

Room Tip: We had upstairs rooms in the main house and they were perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Randi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

My husband and I stayed for four nights in the private suite of the main house in June. Overall we enjoyed our experience as it gave us a taste of Tuscany as well as allowing us to visit Florence. Our only excursion to a neighbouring town was by private van hire; using this location as a base for touring by train or bus from Florence may be awkward due to the details of bus travel to Montorsoli as indicated below.

Antonella picked us up and took us back to the train station which was a nice way to start and end our stay. She is very pleasant but neither she nor Paolo are fluent in English so addressing some questions and issues is difficult if you do not speak Italian. Our accomodation was adequate but I personally felt the suite had a basement feel to it with a stone floor and concrete walls so I did not enjoy it as much as others who have reviewed on this site, personal taste I guess. The dinner we had was very memorable and we felt worth the $38 per person. The view was lovely, relaxing countryside, rustic with olive and fig trees growing nearby, pool basic but warm enough to enjoy, clean and private.

As other reviewers have noted there are a few things to consider if you stay here:

1. It is at least a 20 minute/9 km ride out of Florence. The ride is pleasant but the direct number 25 "A" (not 25 which ends 3 stops short and the road is narrow and somewhat dangerous to walk on) bus from Florence to Montorsoli runs about every 45 minutes with the last one leaving the city about 7:45 pm. One guest mentioned that a taxi from Florence to the B and B after the bus stopped running cost more than the dinner for four as the driver charged for both the drive out and back again.

2. Restaurant options are limited near the B and B which is in a residential area. There is a restaurant near the bus stop which is less than a five minute walk away but it is not always open. Antonella did offer to drive up the road to another if we advised her in the morning which is great but you need to make your plans in advance. The chalet looked cute and quite new and tidy and did have cooking facilities. It would have been nice to have the ability to make a cup of coffee or tea in the house somewhere as there were no beverage facilities in the rooms other than a small fridge.

I should mention that the town of Fiosole is 7 km from Florence with more frequent (about every 15 mintues) and later bus service via number 7 from San Marco Square. There seemed to be a good number of restaurants and accomodation in Fiesole which has an out of town/Tuscan hills feel to it and I would consider staying there if any of the above issues matter to you.

Room Tip: Private suite in main house has a stone floor and concrete walls, basement feel to it for me but oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We stayed at La Paggeria just a few weeks ago and we loved it. We had a great room at the bottom of the house with a private sitting area overlooking some beautiful views. We found it very easy to take the bus in and out of Florence, once you figure out the bus system. Antonella and Paolo were great hosts, they made our visit very comfortable and welcoming. The breakfasts were delicious. We took other peoples advice and participated in the cooking lesson. That was one of the highlights of our two weeks in Italy. We enjoyed the visit to the market in the morning, the lesson in the kitchen, and the enjoyment of the meal along with the great company. We really enjoyed our stay at La Paggeria. Thanks

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bnyce33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Antonella and Paolo could not have been more welcoming and helpful. The rooms were lovely in this old Casa (although it was unseasonably cold for the end of May) and the five course authentic dinner prepared by Paolo was exquisite! Warm and wonderful people and the view of Tuscany from up on this hillside was simply breathtaking.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randall B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montorsoli
5.6 mi away
Hotel David
Hotel David
#1 of 422 in Florence
3,129 reviews
2.8 mi away
Belmond Villa San Michele
3.0 mi away
Pensione Bencista
Pensione Bencista
#2 of 11 in Fiesole
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Demidoff Country Resort
Demidoff Country Resort
#1 of 1 in Pratolino
432 reviews
2.8 mi away
FH Villa Fiesole Hotel
FH Villa Fiesole Hotel
#3 of 11 in Fiesole
479 reviews
2.1 mi away
Eden Rock Resort
Eden Rock Resort
#37 of 675 in Florence
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Florence La Paggeria B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Florence La Paggeria B&B

Property: Florence La Paggeria B&B
Address: Via di Basciano 130, 50030 Montorsoli, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Montorsoli
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Montorsoli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Paggeria Bed and Breakfast is a stone villa in the Florence hill, offering stylish and comfortable rooms and suites, swimming pool and Jacuzzi with panoramic view of Florence and Fiesole. La Paggeria is located 9km from the center of Florence, 20 min by bus or car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Florence La Paggeria B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florence La Paggeria B&B Province Of Florence, Italy - Montorsoli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing