We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An incredible vacation!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Florence La Paggeria B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Montorsoli B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 June 2014

La Paggeria is beautifully situated with amazing views of Florence, Fiesole and the countryside. We took a taxi from the airport and used the bus to get to Florence and Fiesole. The bus stop in Montorsoli is just a few minutes walk away and the train station in Florence is very convenient for traveling around Italy. We were there for 11 days without a car and easily got everywhere we wanted to go.
Antonella, Paolo, and Edoardo are wonderful hosts who create a very relaxing atmosphere. The delicious breakfasts were freshly made as each guest joined the table - there was fresh fruit, yoghurt, great coffee, juices, warm croissants, toast, eggs and jams ... and more! I follow a gluten free diet and Paolo and Antonella provided me with delicious gluten free versions of the meals they prepared for everyone else. I highly recommend enjoying at least one of Paolo's delicious dinners. They were the best meals I had while in Tuscany and with the best company!
We loved our room, the Yellow Room. It had two alcoves so my friend and I had a wonderful sense of personal space. The rooms were kept spotless and towels were replaced very often. The views from our windows truly took my breath away.
We took advantage of one of the tours that are offered at La Paggeria to Siena, Monteriggioni, and San Gimignano. Edoardo was a very accommodating guide; he showed us the highlights of each place and let us wander about to our hearts content. He also took pictures of us in front of different landmarks which Antonella has emailed to me. We really enjoyed our day with Edoardo.
From the beginning of our planning, Antonella was very gracious about promptly answering all of our questions by email. She continues to do so even now after our journey has ended and has generously shared a couple of favorite recipes with me. I have been home and back to work for one week now and still have the glow of La Paggeria within me. I think it will last a very long time.

Room Tip: There is no wellness center or room service but Tripadvisor wouldn't let me post without filling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 19ced78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed at this B&B for two nights to visit Florence. We have previously stayed at the city center in Florence but this time we wanted to be a bit away from the crowds and have a great view of Tuscan lands.

This B&B is about 20 minutes on bus from Florence, it wasn't a problem for us but as my wife and I like do a lot of walking and then have some time to relax over drinks and some food, we missed the bus every night as the last bus departed a bit early in the evening which did not work with our schedule. The cab ride from Florence to this B&B is about 25 euros so keep that in mind.

The hosts are very kind and attentive, Paolo, Antonella and Edoardo are great hosts and the breakfast every morning while simple it was enough and delicious. The breakfast consisted of fresh fruit such as strawberries, kiwi, oranges, pineapple, etc and bread with various spreads such as jelly and butter. There was also a variety of yogurt and Paolo cooked a different breakfast dish every morning which was shared by anyone who wanted some, we really liked it. The coffee is great!

The place is very quiet at night and the bed and the room in general was comfortable. I read some reviews mentioning it was cold and yes the room was cold when we got there but it has a heater system which we turned on and it warmed the room very quickly. We stayed in one of the bedrooms upstairs in the main house, the bathroom was of good size but the shower wasn't great. The water pressure is just not there and we ran out of hot water after 5 minutes so we tried to shower quickly and this by itself is the only reason I am not giving it 5 stars.

If you are looking for a place away from the crowds, quiet and with an astonishing Tuscan view you won't be disappointed. However, keep in mind that the but to the city is not a problem during the day but if you wish to return after 9ish PM, you will need a 20 euro cab ride.

By the way, the B&B offers free Wi-Fi but it didn't really worked for us upstairs so we ended up using it downstairs in the dining area since we needed to find some hotels and book some trains in our last day. Also, Paolo seems to prefer cash when paying but they do have the ability to charge credit cards - just in case you forget to get some cash before checking out as there are not ATM machines close to the B&B, just in Florence.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ricardodsanchez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We had the best time here... La Paggeria is a beautiful B&B in a beautiful location. We went for some lovely walks here in stunning countryside, but could still get down into Florence very easily by bus from the main road [ 2min walk ], which we did everyday [ our 1st visit to Italy, from Australia & stayed 1week ]. From here you get the best of both worlds...easy access to the city & coming back to this gorgeous villa in the tuscan hills. Our room was always warm & clean & cosy [we stayed downstairs in the garden room with our own entry ] & was such a treat to come back to every evening. Breakfast was fresh & varied & generous each & every morning as were the 2 dinners we had during our stay [ 1 that we cooked with our cooking class - great fun & learnt a couple of things that we brought home with us ]. Antonella, Paola & Edoardo took great care to make us feel welcome & have created a friendly & very relaxing atmosphere... this was definately a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Libby N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed in March and the whole house was very cold and poorly insulated. Where other apartments had central heating, here we were forced to wear two jumpers just to have breakfast. The room heating would have been helpful had it not been for Paulo turning it off during the day, making it seem like you were returning to the arctic! There was no respite in a hot shower either with the water pressure best described as low. A slow torturous experience in the frigid cold bathroom.

The charges were absurd. We were charged 18 euros to do two loads of washing and 25 euros per person for a very simple (but tasty) dinner. We weren't told of the charges until we were checking out...very sneaky Paulo.

Instead of leaving happy, we left disappointed and felt cheated. No holiday accommodation should leave you with that feeling. It's such a shame because the location is beautiful and the house has loads of character. I'd recommend staying if you travel in the warmer months, just be wary of Paulo and his credit card machine!

Room Tip: Stay in the warmer months and ask how much things cost if you are offered anything above the standar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ivo15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Thanks to Paolo, Antonella, Edoardo, they informed us, advice us and help us, in few words they took care of us. We visited Florence with my family and friends (a group from the USA). It is without a doubt one of the best B&B we have stayed. We were greeted with a nice and cozy fire in the fire-place, it was cold outside (end november)this made the atmosphere warm and delicate. The view from the terrace and rooms is beautiful. I am sure also during summer this is a nice hotel to stay near Florence, which is very close, actually there is a local bus that take you in town, or if you go by car there is a parking at the entrance of Florence (Park Parterre). About the hotel very clean, rooms perfect, nicely decorared They fixed for us a super great dinner, you have to make arrangements for this previous your arrival.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gianna Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

My husband, 14 year old daughter and I enjoyed our stay in the main house, upstairs in the triple room. It was comfortable and clean, and the views were beautiful. We loved sitting on the patio in the sunshine with the garden all around, the birds singing and the view to gaze upon from time to time. We stayed 3 nights. We didn't mind the bus ride into town after breakfast with (fresh fruit and home made jam and great coffee). Paolo and Antonella provide bus timetables so you don't have to wait around for ages on the main road. They'll also book taxis if you prefer.
We chose to stay out sightseeing all day and were often intentionally too late for the last bus. One taxi driver refused to take us to Montorsoli but we soon found one who would, using his mobile phone's google maps to find where to go...though it's pretty easy to find. You just mention Via Bolognese - 9 kms out.
We chose to stay at La Paggeria because we wanted the Tuscan Villa experience. We would return because we enjoyed our stay, {wished we'd had time to stay longer} and Paolo and Antonella were gracious hosts.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed upstairs in the main house, and the views of Florence could not have been better. From the lovely patio, Fiesoli beckons in the hills. The B & B is perfect for those who want to see Florence (a short bus ride away) and escape from the crowds. Paolo and Antonella are genuine, caring people (with 2 friendly dogs) who did not hesitate to invite us to share a family meal or to connect us with another B & B when our dates did not quite fit the availability. From the amazing group meals and cooking lessons, to the overall effort the hosts made to please every guest, we came away thinking we had seen the very best of Italy.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Florence La Paggeria B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Florence La Paggeria B&B

Address: Via di Basciano 130, 50030 Montorsoli, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Montorsoli
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Montorsoli
Price Range: £78 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Paggeria Bed and Breakfast is a stone villa in the Florence hill, offering stylish and comfortable rooms and suites, swimming pool and Jacuzzi with panoramic view of Florence and Fiesole. La Paggeria is located 9km from the center of Florence, 20 min by bus or car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Ebookers so you can book your Florence La Paggeria B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florence La Paggeria B&B Province Of Florence, Italy - Montorsoli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing