We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Made to feel very welcome”
Review of Down Ende

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Down Ende
Ranked #1 of 2 Widegates B&B and Inns
burton on trent
Level Contributor
255 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Made to feel very welcome”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Booked at last minute and found a great place to stop. Family run hotel very welcoming and breakfast delightful with plenty of choice. Service was excellent nothing to much trouble. Room cramped but comfortable will definitely return

Room Tip: All rooms seem to have a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jabberBurtonOnTrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    8
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
38
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tassie tourers
Level Contributor
121 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Recommend his b and b. Location is well outside Looe, need a car. Lovely old home in traditional style. Parking, wifi but not in our room, in reception area. Theresa could no have been more helpful, lovely breakfast in conservatory. A peaceful little respite. Drinks available in the bar, dinner on request, but we did not. Great local knowledge. All in all recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tassiestourers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We hired the Family room for three nights which gave us more than enough space for ourselves and our 10 year old Daughter. The Child's room slept up to three and is more than big enough for that.
The food, bar(!), house and location were excellent. Theresa & Andy who kindly shared their magnificent house with us and the other guests were very friendly and helpful.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would go again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

Lovely stay hosts food and room was excellent . Family room is great as it had two separate rooms and own entrance door. Kids were well looked after including games in room. Lovely decor and setting and plenty of parking away from road

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bumblespider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

After touring the north coast of Devon and Cornwall we travelled south and stayed for 2 nights. Theresa welcomed us (together with Becky) with a happy smile and friendly attitude. We stayed in room 5 which was roomy with a lovely big bed. Although the temp outside was over 30 during the day the room was reasonably cool and comfortable to sleep in.

We had excellent evening meals as well as breakfasts so can highly recommend the food where much of the salad and veg was grown on site and freshly picked that day.

My only recommendation would be that a large mirror be installed somewhere in the bedroom so that my wife could have checked out what she was wearing.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeresaJG01, Owner at Down Ende, responded to this review, 20 July 2013
Really glad you all had a good time here - we enjoyed your company too!
Constructive feedback always welcome and we will look at where we can hang that mirror!
Hope to see you all again and thanks for taking the time to review us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We have stayed in many b&b around the uk but have not come across such wonderful hosts!! From the moment we arrived we were greeted by Teresa who carried our bags,made us a pot of tea and moved furniture so that we could sit in the sunshine and relax. Our room was lovely with everything we wanted and the en suite was spacious and perfectly clean. I haven't slept as well for years so can recommend the comfy bed in room 4. We didnt eat here as we had already made plans but we intend to next time (and there will be a next time) as the menu looked first class and it certainly smelled delicious! I think that Teresa and Andy are fantastic hosts who go the extra mile for their customers and would strongly recommend tht you give it a go.

Room Tip: Think all rooms are equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeresaJG01, Owner at Down Ende, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Thank you for reviewing Downende- we look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013 via mobile

After a long day of driving around we were greeting by Kris,who welcomed us in. Very nice, clean, quaint little place and each room has their own toilet. On top of that they had a menu on site and cooked us an amazing meal. I wouldn't hesitate to come back. It's also quiet on top of a hill with beautiful scenery.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeresaJG01, Owner at Down Ende, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review- we hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in the UK.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Down Ende? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Down Ende

Property: Down Ende
Address: Widegates | Looe, Widegates PL13 1QN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Widegates
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Widegates
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Down Ende 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quintessential,Family run, B&B Peaceful and relaxing set in the Cornish countryside near Looe. We offer you a warm and friendly welcome to our home, fresh modern en-suite bed rooms good old fashioned hospitality, . We use only local & home-grown produce and fair trade products and offer great value for money. Within easy reach of Cornwall's south east coast,poldark country!,Dartmoor and the Eden project, makes us a great base for touring Cornwall. Approximately 30-40 minutes drive from Eden, Heligan and Padstow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Down Ende reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Down Ende Widegates, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing