We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Muddy Creek Cutting Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 5 Omakau B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 February 2014

This place was a fabulous find - my partner and I stayed one night whilst cycling the Otago Rail Trail. Kevin and Ross were great hosts, the house was stylish and comfortable, tucked away amongst a wonderful garden and farm. The real highlight of our stay was the wonderful home cooked meal - all the produce was sourced either on site or locally. The meal was what you would expect to find in any high-end restaurant around the world. Highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
There are newer reviews for Muddy Creek Cutting Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2014

If i lived closer i would not review and wish to keep this place to myself. What a score I made! The dwelling (mud brick is a local vernacular) and stylishly decorated appropriately shabby chic (its is the country) and the hosts talents on display in the interior (hand printed fabrics). The meal home grown (Lamb recommended). Don t be shy to use the sauna with panoramic view.

Room Tip: consider the annex outside (romantic mud walls) but bathroom in the house
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ross N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

If you are planning to stay overnight in Lauder, this is the place. Nicely decorated rooms, shared bathroom and a cozy living room. Dining is a must here. Top notch quality dinners. Wonderful landscapes and a nice garden. Very peaceful and relaxing. They even have a sauna to enjoy. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KingfisherOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

To stay overnight - or for three nights as I did very recently - is to escape the rush and intrusive sounds of metropolitan living and to enjoy nature's finest offerings. The mud-brick farmhouse is reminiscent of the pioneering spirit of New Zealanders and allows visitors to feel as if they're simply visiting their own family's old farmstead. Kevin and Ross have 'the touch,' the right amount of solicitude and respect for privacy that is appreciated by guests.'Mi casa su casa' (my home is your home) definitely applies here.
The gourmet food, most of which comes directly from the garden or has been raised by the hosts, is beautifully prepared and served. It's the perfect complement to a cyclist's or walker's day of rigorous exercise - but if you've done nothing all day, chances are that you'll still savour it as some of the best food you've ever enjoyed.
My recent visit was my third stay there and I'm so happy that I made it my destination. There's access to the Rail Trail, the Café nearby is a short stroll away, and just hanging around, maybe reading in the lovely sunroom or sitting out at the new patio are all my idea of a perfect holiday.
Try it yourself and see!

Room Tip: The bedrooms all have appeal, and there's even one attached to the sun room.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RamblerMJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We stayed 2 nights as our Xmas treat and our high expectations were exceeded. We had the mud brick house to ourselves and read books in front of the log fire. Kevin cooked magnificent dinners on both nights, slow cooked lamb and braised duck with cherries, all from local produce or grown by Kevin himself. The place was cosy and homely and highly recommended after a long day on the gravel rail trail.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rebeccadiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

The accommodation at Muddy Creek is lovely with lots of communal areas to relax and hand printed textiles and local art about the place. But what really took it up a notch was dinner. Not just how well prepared it was but appreciating that the effort hadn't just gone into cooking it, but also into growing the fruit and vegetables and raising the lamb. We had the delicious Mediterranean lamb followed by a berry soufflé that so was intense with wonderful flavours.

A real treat!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stina_on_her_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Our one night stay in April (this is late review) was amazing. Kevin and Ross's B&B is full of character and history, we were just sorry we couldn't stay longer. The rooms were spcaious with comfy beds. It was a pleasure to chat to Kevin on the history of the house (the house he grew up in) and he was so helpful with local knowledge. We felt we were very spoilt with our stay at Muddy Creek Cutting after a days biking on the Rail Trail, experiencing wonderful hospitality, comfort and the homely relaxed ambience was perfect. The evening meal was dining at its best. The slow roast lamb was just the amazing, along with the berry tart!! We definitely recommend a stay here. Thanks Kevin and Ross for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tennis1540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Muddy Creek Cutting Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muddy Creek Cutting Bed and Breakfast

Address: Rapid 3275 State Highway 85 | Lauder, Omakau 9377, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Central Otago > Omakau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Omakau
Price Range: £83 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self-contained in this 1930’s mudbrick farmhouse. Cheerfully modernized, characterful and quirky, paintings by local artists, coal range, open fire-places, equipped kitchen, delightful garden room. Share bathroom. Expect hospitality, comfort, peace, space, quiet, 360° scenery, hot showers, a homely relaxing ambiance. Expect also a quality dining experience. The food is mostly grown and prepared on site by us with passion. Set dinner menus include lamb, duck, chicken, beef, venison, peacock, vegetables, cheese, salamis, pickles and fruit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Muddy Creek Cutting Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing