We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate accommodation avoid the extras (meal price complete ripe off)”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Omakau
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Muddy Creek Cutting Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 5 Omakau B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Okay we we're a party of seven, four adults and three children.
One of the Dads called ahead to ask about a meal and we are advised they were doing duck for the other family and we said we would do as well,to fit in.
Cleverly they did not quite quote prices nor did they post dinner prices on the meal blackboard in the accommodation area.
The meal was a small duck hotpot with mixed grilled vegetables, easy cheap and cheerful.
So six hotpots and one vegetarian which was peanuts and cheese.
When asked about payment "I'll sort it tomorrow"
Went to pay in the morning,$55.00/head x 7 complete advantage take ,.;(/:?'m,!!(:5!
This is an average backpacker situation PLEASE AVOID AND RAIL TRAILS SHOULD BLACKLIST.
(and payment by cash, Internet banking or if you can believe cheque) and we had to virtually stand on the roof and walk around the house to get the Internet to pay three times what the meals were worth.

Room Tip: If you're over 6 foot bring your own bed and bring your own food or organise food to be delivere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Puhoifrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2014

Every so rarely you are rewarded with an experience that feeds your spirit and mind and your body and soul.The Muddy Creek Cutting experience of such a warm and welcoming reception from Ross and Kevin,the simply outstanding food and excellent home comforts, compliments perfectly the Otago Rail Trail experience.You arrive enthused but fatigued from your ride, then leave replenished and revitalised for the next days trail blaze!

Room Tip: Our room had HAND-PAINTED wall paper! But if you can't deny yourself the ambience of the fire bl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ginny251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We loved everything about our stay here. The house itself is great, and the separate sun room perfect for pre-dinner drinks and nibbles.

Kevin and Ross were both super friendly and the dinner was to die for. Go for the very very slowly roasted lamb.

Would 100% stay here again, either as part of the Rail Trail or just because I'm in the neighbourhood.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidFarrar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We liked how Kevin & Ross made us feel at home but didnt intrude on the guests unless needed...Kevin is the best host and made us a devine meal.
Our 1st B & B experience and we enjoyed meeting the other Bike Trail guests before and after dinner.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Fantastic place to stay after the first (hard) day of Otago Rail Trail. Food was excellent & I couldn't suggest any improvements. I didn't try the sauna but my friends highly recommended it. We loved it, favourite place on the trail.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank HCT666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

Fantastic - At the end of a long ride from Clyde, this beautiful cottage setting was refreshing and revitalising for my wife and I and 7 other friends. The catering was the best which left us in good stead for the next days ride.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swewiy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

This place was a fabulous find - my partner and I stayed one night whilst cycling the Otago Rail Trail. Kevin and Ross were great hosts, the house was stylish and comfortable, tucked away amongst a wonderful garden and farm. The real highlight of our stay was the wonderful home cooked meal - all the produce was sourced either on site or locally. The meal was what you would expect to find in any high-end restaurant around the world. Highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Muddy Creek Cutting Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muddy Creek Cutting Bed and Breakfast

Address: Rapid 3275 State Highway 85 | Lauder, Omakau 9377, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Central Otago > Omakau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Omakau
Price Range: £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self-contained in this 1930’s mudbrick farmhouse. Cheerfully modernized, characterful and quirky, paintings by local artists, coal range, open fire-places, equipped kitchen, delightful garden room. Share bathroom. Expect hospitality, comfort, peace, space, quiet, 360° scenery, hot showers, a homely relaxing ambiance. Expect also a quality dining experience. The food is mostly grown and prepared on site by us with passion. Set dinner menus include lamb, duck, chicken, beef, venison, peacock, vegetables, cheese, salamis, pickles and fruit. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing