We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A trail gem”
Review of Tiger Hill Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Omakau
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tiger Hill Lodge
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A trail gem”
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

Great location. This must rate as one of the most well appointed lodges on the rail trail, with spa pool and bike lockup. Perfect location.

Southern hospitality at its best, Gweynne was a great host and provided us with heaps of local knowledge and advice.

Short walk to Omakau pub for dinner, which provides a free shuttle service if you require.

Breakfast was more than ample to launch us onto the next leg of out journey.

Stay else where at Omakau at your peril !!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Cam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omakau, Owner at Tiger Hill Lodge, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thanks for your great review and we are glad you enjoyed our wonderful lodge. Best views and perfectly set up for groups of friends on the trail or for a weekend.
Safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
32
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Stayed across the street from Tiger Hill Lodge in what they call Tiger Hill Lodge (Wilsons). Good location next to the rail-trail and a short walk into town. We had a large room with vaulted ceiling and sliding glass doors on to a balcony. They have a large lounge and big kitchen. The landlady, Gwenyth, was very kind and delivered some fresh eggs which we used for our breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Philip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omakau, Owner at Tiger Hill Lodge, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Great to hear you enjoyed our alternative to the lodge, Wilsons. Its a great place to stay as well. Good to get some feed back from some international rail trailers.
Safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

A welcome site on our winter rail trail ride that's right next to the trail. Warm, modern, spotless with large open lounge area (the view was fantastic) and separate tv lounge too. The spa was a great. Laundry facilities are available too. Probably 10 minutes walk into town (The commercial hotel picked us up) The home made stewed apricots for breakfast were delicious!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Jmpow2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arrowtown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

The lodge is perfectly situated on the rail trial, warm. welcoming & a perfect end to the day. Gwenyth makes the stay perfect, right down to the awesome shortbreads. Highly recommend for both travellers and rail trail users. Very close to Omakau. The spa is a real added bonus

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 214juliej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Tiger Hill Lodge right on the cycle trail on Tiger Hill at Omakau. Arrived early afternoon to find our name on door welcoming us in. Very modern accommodation with large bedrooms (all with ensuites), nicely laid-out modern lounges, dining room & up to date modern kitchen. Everything spotless. Met Gwenyth a couple of hours later when she popped over with some stewed fruit for our breakfast next morning & to see if we had everything we needed. Lovely & friendly host. In all we thoroughly recommend this lodge. Thank you Gwenyth. We'll be back!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jilly377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Our first night on the trail and Trail Journeys had us booked at Tiger Hill Lodge. The setting could not better, just before you get to Omakau and right on the trail. Honesty box for the washing machine, dryer and beer and wine in the fridge. Rooms were spacious each with their own ensuite. Separate lounge/tv room and great kitchen. Ophir is an easy 2.5kms (5km loop) and well worth the visit. Breakfast was more than adequate as a stop at the Lauder Cafe the next morning (8kms from Omakau) is a must. We booked at the Commercial Hotel for dinner, a 10 min walk from the Lodge, and enjoyed our meal there. Lodge was full when we stayed so probably a good idea to book early. Luggage is delivered to the front door and when we arrived our names were on the door and we were able to let ourselves in and choose our room. Gwenyth, our host arrived shortly after and told us to make ourselves at home.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Oscar5310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night while doing the rail trail. The lodge is in a great position, just on the trail. Not quite in Omakau so you stop early, feels like treat. The house is well laid out and can cater for groups or several couples. We had the place to ourselves but the visitors book suggest it had been a busy week. The kitchen area is fab, and the wine/beer in the fridge with the honesty box was the most amazing thing after the days cycling. After a lovely welcome and helpful instruction from our host we did cycle some more and explore nearby Ophir. The tv wasn't working or we couldn't make it work which didn't matter as we sat on the porch and enjoyed a gorgeous sunset. Comfortable bed and a good shower. Great apricots for breakfast, though the bread was disappointing, kind of let the side down. The peaceful setting is stunning and it didn't matter the spa was out of order. This was a good place to stay if doing the rail trail, it would suit a group really well.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KTandCoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Omakau
1.0 mi away
Pitches Store
Pitches Store
#1 of 2 in Ophir
119 reviews
1.1 mi away
Blacks Hotel
Blacks Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ophir
87 reviews
4.6 mi away
Muddy Creek Cutting Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tiger Hill Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiger Hill Lodge

Property: Tiger Hill Lodge
Address: On the Rail Trail | 20 Alton St., Omakau, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Central Otago > Omakau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Omakau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tiger Hill LodgeGreater level comfort right on the trail. Great for for a weekend or those looking for something a little nicer on the trail.Tiger Hill WilsonsGreat for families and groups in a classic retro style house, straight out of the 70sTiger Hill Kilarney cottage. Rustic and beautiful wee cottage to compliment Tiger Hill. Very quaint! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing