We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury night after day's cycle”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Omakau Bedpost

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Omakau
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Omakau Bedpost
Ranked #1 of 5 Omakau B&B and Inns
Tauranga, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Luxury night after day's cycle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Our family of four (son of 11yrs and daughter of 13 yrs) booked the bedpost for our first nights accomodation after starting the rail trail from Clyde. Amazing place to stay - place has been well renovated in keeping with it's original theme. Plenty of beds and rooms, very comfortable beds - great nights sleep! Kitchen well stocked for breakfast, we used the kitchen to prep lunch for our next days cycle (one of our family is gluten free). The lounge is huge and has a great fire. The bedpost is located next to the Hotel and across the road is a cafe and small supermarket around the corner - everything you could need very handy! It is also very close to the rail trail and easy to find. Thank you Steve and Carol for a memorable stay in Omakau - thoroughly recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ocrew4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
5
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Three of us stayed at the old post office building on our second night of the Otago Central Rail Trail, a short distance off the trail in a quiet little town. The post office has been thoughtfully and beautifully adapted for its new use as accommodation. There is a generous kitchen/living/dining area and the bedrooms are nicely decorated and comfortable. We enjoyed exploring the rooms and discovering such things as where letters would have been posted and where the safe would have been housed. I appreciated a soak in the bath. We highly recommend the Bedpost for both its location and for the two buildings themselves - not only the heritage aspect but the luxury and comfort that they offer to any traveller but especially cyclists wanting a rest.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AudreyvR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morrinsville, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

WOW! This was everyone's reaction when entering the old post office and postmasters house and we were a group of 14! Tasteful decorating, quality linen, warm and comfortable beds, more than a home away from home. Great location close to the pub and other eating establishments. Highly recommend and 10/10.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Treehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Nine of us stayed in both the houses and we loved it! It was cosy and warm with the fire going, yummy chocolate brownies in the fridge, a huge breakfast the next morning....just perfect. We all enjoyed our very comfortable rooms too. Steve and Carol are wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie-WANZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed here our first night of the rail trail trip with our two children. There was ample room and we could have another family with us. It was comfortable and warm with the fire going and heaters in the rooms. Lovely clean and homey.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blammers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

This was the first night's stop for our group of 8 family and friends (mostly North Islanders)after our first day cycling on the Otago Rail Trail. The 4 couples were split between the Bedpost and the Postmasters House. Wow! From the open doors with our names on it, to the brownie in the fridge and generous breakfast included to the fun tasteful decor, it was all great. Our hosts had thought of everything, and where else do you have a reading den in an old vault, a telephone booth in your bedroom... There are 2 eateries closeby. We would have loved to have stayed longer.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Noelene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed at the Omakau Bedpost on a work team building trip and it was just perfect. We stayed in the postmasters house at the back and it was recently beautifully re-decorated. The kitchen had everything we needed and lounge was big enough for us to do our evening brain stormings and activities without getting in each others way. I will definitely choose to stay at the bedpost again when going to do the rail trail with family. (which I plan on doing for sure!)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TansPie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Omakau Bedpost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omakau Bedpost

Property: Omakau Bedpost
Address: 3 and 3a Harvey St, Omakau 9352, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Central Otago > Omakau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Omakau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic accommodation in the heart of Omakau. We provide you with a lovely space for you to relax at the end of your day on the Otago Central Rail Trail or for your Central Otago holiday. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing