We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of 16 Beach Music

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beachview
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
16 Beach Music
Ranked #1 of 4 Beachview B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2011

We have just returned from a two week visit to South Africa and missing my room with" the best view" made me write my first Trip Advisor Review ( long time reader , first time writer)

We chose 16 Beach Music for its location - on the beach- near Addo Elephant Park and as the start of our trip to Cape Town. A wise choice !

We loved staying at 16 Beach Music. What made it so special was waking up looking at the ocean and listening to the waves pounding against the rocks. The beach is a easy walk down the steps.

Our room was spacious, clean and nicely decorated. We liked having a fridge in the room , our own entrance, deck and little extra touches like complementary port and the use of binoculars. We had a lovely breakfast every morning and Robbie insisted on giving us breakfast at 6h30 in the morning before going on our safari at Addo Elephant Park . We would highly recommend it as it was one of the high points of our holiday. I never thought that I would get so close to elephants!
We ate at the same restaurant twice , the food was good, but the service very slow. On our last night we had a picnic on our deck and were lucky to see the dolphins everybody writes about.

The owners are really friendly and make you feel at ease, almost like meeting old friends. They were very helpful with information and made our all our reservations. Estelle helped plan our trip to Cape Town and we would have missed out on some wonderfull experiences if it was not for her knowledge - canopy tour, suspension bridges in the Trsitsikamma ,Robberg Nature Reserve and Noetzie beach to mention a few.

This is a an ideal launching point for the Garden Route and is a great place to relax and soak in the scenery.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trip3659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

60 - 66 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2011

We only stayed for the one night but Estelle & Rob made us feel at home and served us a lovely breakfast on the morning of our departure. Its a pity we could only stay for one night but if we are ever in the area again we will be staying there again.
It really felt like home away from home. It was so lovely to fall asleep listening to the waves and to wake up to the fab view.
Thanks

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harveymax13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2011

Thanks Estelle & Robbie. This our second stay was even better than the first one.
The trip we undertook with you guys to Addo Game Park was exciting in more ways than one. It was like a family outing with our best "relatives"

Our rooms at Beach Music were clean, pleasant, spacious and what a view of the Dolfins passing by.

Thanks Robbie for the meal you prepared for us and that you and Estelle joined us in making it a memorable end to our stay.

Estellle & Robbie are probably the best host's in the country!!

Our contact will probably be for life as we will most certainly return for another future visit. God Bless Dennis & Nettie Wagner Pretoria

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dennet021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2011

Our original plan was to stay here during the World Cup for 3 nights. Everything started out well the first day, the place looked clean and the hosts seemed very accommodating. However, as the days went on, we noticed that the place was filled with ants, the breakfast brought to us in the morning had ants crawling all over it and in the tea and cereal. We were constantly told it was our fault but it would be fixed by the time we got home in the evening, which was not the case. Estelle and Rob were extremely rude and condescending. As soon as we complained, Estelle had charged us for two nights extra on top of our initial three night reservation when we did not consent to (she had simply asked if we would like to stay past our reservation date, which had not been finalized). In the end, we ended u paying for the 5 night stay, when we only stayed there for 2 nights. We decided it wasn't worth it, we would rather pay for a hotel then deal with poor customer service and a room filled with bugs. (This place is pretty expensive and not up too par.) We stayed in SA from May 15- July 16, and this was the ONLY place we had a problem with. Please reconsider

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arem1245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estelle16, Owner at 16 Beach Music, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2011

Worst Customer Service

1.The clients comment in our Guest Book
“One of the best places we have stayed in South Africa”

2. In the end, we ended u paying for the 5 night stay, when we only stayed there for 2 nights.

The clients made a booking for 3 nights and extended their stay by another three as they were trying to obtain tickets for the final game of the World Cup .
I presented them with the bill on the fifth day . On their return on the evening of the fifth they informed us that the room was infested with bugs and that they wanted to leave immediately. I refunded them one nights’ accommodation.

3. filled with bugs & ants
I wish to remind the clients that I asked them on arrival not to leave uneaten food in the room. Unfortunately they did which caused a problem with ants.

We appreciate the positive comments made by the clients and are happy to inform them that we have not experienced a problem with ants since their departure.

Kind regards
Robbie and Estelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2011

We had the great privilege of staying at beach music just for one night.
What an experience! Beautiful views of the east coast. Just after our designed to perfection breakfast we had the the great honour of spotting dolphins! What a grand finale!
Estelle is truly an impeccable hostess.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elrita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estelle16, Owner at 16 Beach Music, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2011

We loved having you stay with us. Congratulations for jumping ( bungi) of the highest bridge in Africa and thank you for sending me the photos to prove it!
We hope the rest of your South African holiday was just as exciting.
We wish you all the best for the future.
Kind regards
Estelle & Robbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2010

I've never seen so many dolphins in one place - must have been at least 100. And a whale with two babies. Wow... This is a beautiful b&b, and it's even more special because of the owners, Estelle and Robbie. I've never met anyone with so much energy as Estelle, and she was incredibly helpful with ideas and suggestions for the rest of our trip, a truly wonderful lady. And we loved Robbie's breakfast... those mushrooms...

A special mention as well for the visit to the township in PE with the Calabash Trust. That's an experience we'll never forget, and we hope the charity will keep on supporting the area.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ema_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estelle16, Owner at 16 Beach Music, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2011

Thank you for the kind review and especially for mentioning the Calabash Trust. Only by visiting a Township can you truly experience urban Africa and have a more balanced view of the affluent side most tourists are exposed to and the unprivileged Black African majority.
Your review have encouraged some of our guests to go on one of the tours and all have described it as one of their most memorable South African experiences.
We enjoyed meeting you and hope to see you again in the future.
Kind regards
Robbie & Estelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2010

rely one of the best b&b we ever experienced. the managing couple is absolutely fabulous.
we came there to relax and stress out after a long hard year of work and it was the best decision. fabulous beautiful save and amazing place. 25 k to pe. 3k to the longest sandy beach in the area. perfect. very fantastig infos for places to see and restaurants by the owners. absolutely only the best. we will be back soon

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank german73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beachview73, Owner at 16 Beach Music, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2010

Thank you so much for the kind review . We are so glad that you found your stay to be relaxing and hope that we will see you again soon. ( Robbie will definitely never forget your visit ! ) Kind regards
Estelle& Robbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beachview
18.9 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
495 reviews
19.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
19.2 mi away
No 5 Boutique Art Hotel
No 5 Boutique Art Hotel
#1 of 13 in Summerstrand
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Murphys
Murphys
#2 of 4 in Beachview
27 reviews
16.1 mi away
Treetops Guesthouse
Treetops Guesthouse
#2 of 231 in Port Elizabeth
552 reviews
19.5 mi away
Manor 38
Manor 38
#3 of 43 in Summerstrand
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 16 Beach Music? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 16 Beach Music

Address: 16 Seestrand Ave,, Beachview, Port Elizabeth 6070, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Beachview
Amenities:
Beach Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Beachview
Price Range: £28 - £34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the beachfront road. All rooms have outside entrances& access to the beach. En-suite bathrooms,bathroom amenities,coffee making facilities, secure parking.Self catering apartment available. 25km from PE airport. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing